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History and Overview of Insurance Taxes
Licensed Insurers

e The first tax on insurance companies in Texas was an annual
fee of $50 in 1862.

e Current concept for taxation as a percentage of gross premiums
was adopted in 1893.

e The Robertson Law, enacted in 1907, required all companies
to have 75% of their legal reserves on Texas business in Texas
investments. Companies that achieved this requirement
qualified for a lower tax rate.

History and Overview of Insurance Taxes
Licensed Insurers

o Changes in later years allowed companies to qualify for a
lower tax rate in Texas if the companies met certain investm
requirements in Texas securities.

o Life, Accident and Health companies went to a flat tax rate in
1995.

® Property and Casualty and Title insurers went to a flat tax rate
in 2000.
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McCarran Ferguson Act

In 1944, the Supreme Court ruled in United States vs. South-Eastern
Underwriters Association (322 U.S. 533) that insurance was not
commerce.

As a result, in 1945, Congress passed the McCarran-Ferguson Act.

It allows:
e state law to regulate the business of insurance without federal
government interference

states to establish mandatory licensing requirements

the preservation of certain state laws of insurance.

Texas Franchise Tax

hise Tax

The Texas franchise tax is a privilege tax imposed on each taxable
entity chartered/organized in Texas or doing business in Texas.

The revised franchise tax applies to partnerships (general, limited
limited liability) corporations, limited liability companies (even i
directly owned by one person), business trusts, professional
associations, business associations and other legal entities.

The tax does not apply to sole proprietorships; general partnerships
directly and entirely owned by natural persons, unless they have
limited liability (i.e., LLPs) and passive entities.

In addition, the tax does not apply to insurance organizations and title
agents that are subject to premium receipts taxes under Chapters 221,
222, 223 or 224, Insurance Code.




Taxation of Insurance Business

ce Taxes & Assessments

« Insurance premium taxes and assessments are paid by 2,300 licensed
insurance companies and health maintenance organizations, includ
title insurance agents.

« Taxes are also paid in the non-licensed insurance market by surplus
lines agents, unauthorized insurers, and policyholders that
“independently procure” coverage on Texas risks.

+ In addition to premium taxes, the Comptroller collects various
maintenance taxes from licensed insurance companies, health
maintenance organizations (HMOs), and licensed third party
administrators to cover the costs of regulation incurred by the Texas
Department of Insurance (TDI).

« In fiscal 2007, insurance premium taxes accounted for 92 percent of

total insurance tax revenue; and total insurance tax revenue accounted
for 4.0 percent of general revenue-related tax revenue.
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Major Areas of Taxation

Licensed Insurers and HMOs
a

Non-Licensed Market

Licensed Insurers and HMOs

Premium tax is an occupation tax in lieu of the Franchise tax.

Taxed by broad categories:
Property and Casualty Insurers 1.6%
Life, Accident and Health Insurers 1.75%
HMOs 1.75%
Title Insurers and Agents 1.35%

Retaliatory tax (an equalizer tax on foreign insurers where their state of
domicile taxes Texas domiciled insurers a higher amount than Texas
taxes foreign insurers)




Licensed Insurers and HMOs

Licensed insurers and HMOs are subject to a variety of other
fees and assessments

Guaranty Association Assessments

Examination Ex| es

Windstorm Association Assessments

Regulatory Fees (Maintenance taxes)

Office of Public Insurance Counsel Assessment

Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority Assessment
Volunteer Fire Department Assistance Fund Assessment

Non-Licensed Ma

« Transaction Tax instead of an occupation tax

« Generally through the surplus lines market using licensed
agents placing policies with approved or “eligible” insurers

« Other types of non-licensed market premium tax include
Independently Procured

Unauthorized

Tax rate for all of these categories is 4.85%

Major Areas of Taxation




Retaliatory Tax
NOT intended as a source of State Revenue

Western & Southern Life Insurance Co v. State Board of Equalization of
California, No. 79-1423, U.S. Supreme Court (1981)

Decision: State statute imposing retaliatory tax on foreign insurers doing
business in state, set in response to insurance tax laws of insurer’s
home state, held not violative of Commerce or Equal Protection Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment.

Texas Retaliatory Tax Statute

Chapter 281, Insurance Code

Retaliatory tax involves two issues:

1) A comparison of Texas and other states” aggregate tax and other charges
Involves aggregate taxes, assessments and routine fees — administered by
the Texas Comptroller’s Office
A comparison of Texas and other states’ penalties and other obligations
Regulatory in nature — administered by the Texas Department of Insurance

re intended to level the playing field so that a Texas domestic insurer does
not have a higher tax burden or regulatory burden than an insurer from
another state that is licensed and operates in Texas.

exas Retaliatory Tax

The tax statute is based on what another state would require of a Texas
domiciled insurer that is, or may be authorized to engage in business in that
other state.

It requires a comparison of similar insurers (Life to Life, P&C to P&C, Title to
Title)

Similar insurers have authority to write the same lines of insurance.

The statute does not consider size, financial condition or whether insurers are
mutual or stock companies.

The Texas statute compares only the burdens on INSURERS, not the overall
burden that may be placed on other entities.

The comparison does not include special purpose assessments such as
guaranty association assessments, or assessments where insurers may directly
recoup the amount from their policyholders (as opposed to building the cost
into premium rates).




Retaliatory Tax Case Study
Texas Title Premium Tax Statu

Chapter 223, Insurance Code

Section 223.003(a)

An annual tax is imposed on all premiums fr business of title
insurance.

Section 223.005(a)

Premiums received from the business of title insurance are subject to the
tax under this chapter regardless of whether paid to a title insurance
company or retained by the title agent, with the tax being in lieu of the
tax on premium retained by a title insurance agent.

Section 223.005(b)

The state facilitates the collection of the premium tax on the premium
retained by a title insurance agent by establishing the division or
premiums between the title insurance company and the title insurance
agent so that the company receives the premium tax due on the agent’s
portion of the premiums and remits it to the state.
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Lawsuit Case History

One title insurer domiciled in Texas also operates in 48 states and paid
retaliatory tax in 20 states.

For tax planning purposes, Taxability response requested:

If a title agent failed to pay the premium due the insurer, would the
insurer owe the tax on this premium?

Taxability Response

The agent’s portion of the tax is included in the premium paid to the
insurer.

If the insurer does not receive the premium, the agent would be
responsible for paying the premium and maintenance tax due on the
premium received by the agent.

The insurer would not be responsible for paying tax on policies where
no premium was received from the agent.

Enforcement action would be taken to collect the premium tax due the
state.




Results of the Response

Comptroller auditors modified audit procedures.

Tax form and instructions modified to reflect the retaliatory tax impact:
Only the insurer’s portion of the aggregate taxes were
to be used in calculating the Texas retaliatory tax due.

The two title insurers in the lawsuit were assessed substantial Texas
retaliatory taxes.

The Texas domiciled title insurer’s retaliatory tax burden in other
states was significantly reduced.

First American Title Insurance Company
and
Old Republic National Title Ins Co v. Susan Combs,
Comptroller of Public Accounts

Points to consider:

1)  Aggregate tax burden Texas and plaintiff’s states of domicile place
on licensed title INSURERS

2) Do the tax statutes in question apply only to insurers or also to the
title agent that retains 85% of the collected premium?

Does the Texas retaliatory tax statute look at all tax burdens on the
premium or only the burden as it applies to insurers?

Key Findings

« When interpreting a statute, first look to the plain meaning of the
words. As long as the statute is clear and unambiguous, we must rely
on the common meaning in a way that gives effect to every word,
clause, and sentence.

Retaliatory taxes are not penal in nature since the principal purpose is
to promote the interstate business of domestic insurers — not to punish
foreign corporations doing business in the state.

The Comptroller has clear authority to implement the statute in a fair
and reasonable method as may be appropriate.




Key Findings

Since title agents and insurers are both subject to the tax, the decision
to enforce the statute against both is valid.

The retaliatory statute limits the Comptroller to a comparison of the tax
burdens of insurers only.

The retaliatory statutes does not impose a tax on comparative tax rates.
It imposes a tax based on comparative tax burdens.

The Texas tax scheme allows an “apples to apples” comparison since
only the premium received by the insurers is used in the retaliatory
calculation.

Equal Protection Rights: The Comptroller’s interpretation exerts some

downward pressure on foreign tax rates, regardless of how other states
may respond.

Taxation of Insurance Organizations
and State Retaliatory Taxes

Considerations:
Currently 49 states have Retaliatory Tax Statutes.
Statutes are similar but NOT identical.

Example:

Texas measures the overall tax burden on an insurer only
while Minnesota measures the overall tax burden of the
insurers and their agents.

Taxation of Insurance Organizations
and State Retaliatory Taxes

Result:
Different measuring stick used in determining:

1. What is being measured or included in the tax
base (taxes, fees, assessments) and

What entity or entities are included in this
comparison.




Taxation of Insurance Organizations
and State Retaliatory Taxes

Some retaliatory statutes exclude from their
comparison of tax burdens, “special
purpose assessments,” such as state
guaranty association assessments,
assessments for the state fire marshal and
workers’ compensation second injury fund
assessments. The key is each state’s
definition of “special purpose assessment.”

Measuring Tax Burdens

How should overall tax burdens be measured for
states with “tiered rates™ that allow insurers a
lower premium tax rate if they make certain
qualifying investments in that state?

Retaliatory Tax Case Law

Aetna Fire Insurance Co v. State Board of Insurance

By Texas’ use of the lower tiered rate that applied to the
foreign insurer, the application of the retaliatory statute
negated the insurers’ investment in Texas because they
merely paid higher retaliatory taxes.




Retaliatory Tax Case Law

American Fire & Casualty Co v. New Jersey Division
of Taxation

Involved a New Jersey “tax cap.”

New Jersey Supreme Court ruled that both the premium tax
statute and the retaliatory tax statute must be taken into
consideration in order to reach a reasonable application of
both statutes.

As a result, the tax statutes taken together must allow foreign
insurers that qualify for the premium tax cap to have this

qualification preserved in the calculation of the retaliatory tax.
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Disagreements between States

What happens if states do not agree how to apply
another states’ statutes in the calculation of their
retaliatory tax?

This could result in the possible retaliation by each
state against the other states’ domiciled insurers!

Disagreements between States

Some states have statutory authority to set aside their
retaliatory statute using “reciprocity agreements.”

Two or more states can agree not to retaliate against each
others’ domestic insurers

(8281.008, Texas Insurance Code)

The comptroller by rule may enter into a reciprocity
agreement with another state under which the parties agree
to mutually set aside retaliatory provisions in situations in
which this state and the other state determine that
retaliation is not the preferred approach to protect their
domestic insurers from excessive taxation or other
financial obligations.
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State Tax Planning
Massachusetts Study - Commission on Corporate Taxation

Concerns with current Massachusetts law:

1) Insurance Companies are subject to tax based on
Massachusetts policy premiums only. Other streams of
income (real estate investments, insurance-related
services, financial services and investment income) are
not taxed.

If the subsidiary businesses (partnerships or limited
liability companies) are owned by the insurance
companies, the income from these entities is currently
sheltered from taxation.

State Tax Planning

Massachusetts Proposal:

Massachusetts could pass legislation to tax the
business income of these entities, either on the
parent insurer or directly on each of the limited
liability companies and partnerships that conduct
non-insurance business of the parent insurer.

State Tax Planning

Concern with new proposal:

Would other states retaliate against Massachusetts
domiciled insurers under either scenario?
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State Tax Planning

Insurance Industry Response:

Trigger large retaliatory tax increases outside
Massachusetts for Massachusetts-domiciled
insurers.

If there is an apportionment of the income from the
non-insurance business, states would levy a
retaliatory tax on the basis of the apportionment
and tax the Massachusetts domiciled insurer.

State Tax Planning

Suggestions/Results

Option 1

If a Massachusetts tax statute change is directed at insurers,
other states may retaliate against Massachusetts-domiciled

insurers that are licensed and doing business in those
states.

The underlying question is whether or not other states would
regard this taxation as an additional burden borne by their
domestic insurers that do business in Massachusetts.

State Tax Planning

Option 2:

If the Massachusetts statute change is directed at the non-
insurance entities, some states might consider retaliation
and some might not.

States may argue that an additional financial burden directly
on an insurer or indirectly on an affiliate effectively limits
competition in the insurance marketplace by making it
more difficult for small foreign insurers to compete in
Massachusetts.

Note: Any retaliation on this basis would probably be
limited only to “sourced revenues” that the LLCs and
partnerships have in the other states, if any.
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State Tax Planning

Option 3:
Possible industry responses to retaliation

If Massachusetts-domiciled insurers are subjected to
retaliation as a result of a tax statute change, they could:

1) Redomesticate to another state with an overall lower
insurance tax scheme or

Shift insurance business to other insurers in their group
that are domiciled in lower tax rate states.

New York State Example

CT-33 return for life insurers considers certain
important factors:

* Federal taxable income and subsidiary income
« The floor for tax purposes is 1.5% on the premiums

(this results in retaliatory taxes being paid to Texas)

State Tax Planning

In insurance tax retaliation, states do not care about how a given state
taxes domestic insurers of that state, they care about equal tax
treatment, equal access to the insurance market, and how a state taxes
insurers domiciled in other states.

In retaliation, the retaliating state has an advantage in enforcing their
retaliatory tax statutes in that one state cannot instruct the retaliatory
state on how to interpret its retaliatory tax statue.

States generally cooperate in sharing tax information for retaliatory
purposes.

States do not always agree on how to apply retaliatory statutes.
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PacifiCare Health Systems, et al v.
Oregon Department of Revenue

(Disallowance of Royalty Expense Payments)
PHS July 2008
PacifiCare Health

Systems, Inc
(Parent Corporation) PHPA

PacifiCare Health
Plan Administrators

PacifiCare Life PacifiCare Life and
Assurance Health Assurance
Company

Sham Transaction — No Valid Business Purpose
Tax Avoidance Only

Licensing

of
Intellectual
Property

Licensing
Royalty Fees Royalty Fees of

Intellectual
Property

PacifiCare Life Assurance
&
PacifiCare Life and Health Assurance

Questions for Discussion

« Should “eligible”, non-licensed, surplus
lines insurers be subject to state income
taxes?

» How is nexus established?

» How might the Financial Service
Modernization Act of 1999 (GLB Act)
impact the taxation of insurers and other
financial institutions?
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