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State Legislation

Alabama

The Alabama Legislature enacted SB 86, which became effective July 1, 2017,
amending section 40-2-11(7), Code of Alabama, to authorize the Department of
Revenue to require non-collecting remote retailers to report sales to the Department
and provide notice to consumers of their use tax obligations, within constitutional
limits. SB 86 authorizes publication of list of remote retailers participating in
Simplified Sellers Use Tax Remittance Program—116 registered, collected $39.1
million is first 9 months of fiscal year ending June 30, 2017. Chris Marr, “Amazon,
IDEA on List of Online Sellers Paying Alabama Tax,” Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax
Report (7/11/17).

Arkansas

The Arkansas Senate passed favorably SB 140, which contained anti-Quill provisions
similar to South Dakota’s SB 106, but the bill failed in the House. Lauren Loricchio,
“Arkansas House Rejects Bill to Challenge Quill,” Tax Analysts State Tax Today,

4/4/17).

California

An analysis done for the California Nurses Association, to be presented to the
California Legislature, is considering a gross receipts tax, or alternatively a payroll tax
or sales tax rate increase, to fund single payer insurance in California. Paul Jones,
“Analysis Proposes Sales, Gross Receipts Taxes to Fund California single-Payer Bill,”
State Tax Notes, (6/7/17).

Connecticut
Connecticut Legislature ended its session June 8, 2017 without taking action on
several pending tax bills. Aaron Nicodemus, “Connecticut Lawmakers Defer Action

on Most Tax Policy Bills,” Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report, (6/9/17).
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Georgia

House and Senate disagree on tax plans, Senate passing anti-Quil/ legislation and the
House rejecting it on March 28, 2017. “Georgia Senate Scraps House Flat Income
Tax Plan, Adds Quill Challenge to Bill,” State Tax Notes, (3/29/17).

Hawaii

Hawaii House passed HB 620 on April 11, 2017 providing for notice and reporting
requirements for remote sellers for Hawaii’s general excise tax (GET), and also
including provisions requirement remote sellers with a server present in Hawaii and
using it for economic gain to collect the GET if their sales to Hawaii are above a
certain threshold (not yet specified).

Indiana

Indiana has enacted HB 1129, effective July 1, 2017, similar to South Dakota’s law
challenging Quill, requiring remote retailers with annual sales into the state exceeding
$100,000 or with 200 or more transactions in the state in a year, to collect and remit
Indiana sales/use tax on remote sales. The law does not become enforceable until the
Department of Revenue initiates a declaratory judgment action and obtains an order
that the law is constitutional (i.e., Quill is overturned). A lawsuit challenging the
constitutionality of HB 1129 was filed on June 30, 2017. See Cases.

Kansas

In March 2017, the Kansas House Tax Committee passed out favorably HB 2400,
which included anti-Quill provisions similar to South Dakota’s SB 106, and HB 2235,
which included notice and reporting requirements for remote sellers similar to
Colorado’s, but neither bill advanced further during the regular session.

Louisiana

The Louisiana Legislature introduced a bill (supported by Governor Edwards) (HB
628 on April 17, 2017) providing for a gross receipts tax similar to the Ohio
commercial activities tax (CAT).

Maine

LL.D. 1405 was enacted after override of Governor LePage’s veto, providing for anti-
Quill legislation similar to South Dakota’s, requiring remote retailers with over
$100,000/yt in sales to Maine or over 200 transactions/yr. to commence collecting
and reporting Maine use tax, effective 10/1/17, and authoring the Department of
Revenue to seek a declaratory judgment as to the act’s constitutionality. The
legislation provides for injunction against enforcement during the declaratory
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judgment litigation and if the injunction is lifted, prospective enforcement. Paige
Jones, “Maine Remote Sales Tax Law to Take Effect October,” Tax Analysts State Tax
Today, (6/26/17).

Minnesota

Minnesota has enacted H.F. 1, an omnibus tax bill, which includes provisions
effective January 1, 2019 (or earlier if the Supreme Court or Congress allows states to
collect from remote retailers) requiring a marketplace provider with nexus to collect
sales/use tax on behalf of third-party sellers using the marketplace to facilitate sales,
unless the third-party seller is registered to collect. Third-party sellers are not required
to register if they otherwise do not have nexus and their remote sales to Minnesota do
not exceed $10,000 in the prior year. Affiliate nexus provisions are also included.
Minnesota is the first state to enact marketplace provider collection legislation.
Commentators expect the new law to be challenged. Michael Bologna, Bloomberg
BNA Daily Tax Report, “ Minnesota Marketplace Law Ripe for Legal Challenge,”

6/3/17).

Nebraska

LB 44, similar to Colorado’s notice and reporting legislation, was introduced in the
Nebraska Unicameral Legislature but was allowed to die before a final vote on May 4,
2017, when it became clear to the sponsor that there were insufficient votes for
passage. The bill required remote retailers with over $100,000 in sales/200
transactions in prior year to Nebraska to collect use tax, or alternatively, comply with
notice and reporting requirements. Maria Koklanaris, “Sponsor Allows Nebraska
Remote Sales Tax Bill to Die Before Final Vote,” Tax Analysts State Tax Notes,

(5/8/17).

New Jersey

New Jersey Legislature has sent to the governor A. 4587, S.2574 imposing hotel taxes
on bookings by Airbnb, Inc. and other similar platforms, imposing the tax collection
and remittance obligation on the platform. John Herzfeld, “New Jersey Bill taxing
Airbnb Bookings Sent to Governor,” Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report, (6/21/17).

New Mexico

The New Mexico Legislature passed H.B. 2 on May 25, 2017, which required remote
retailers with over $100,000 in retail sales to New Mexico in the prior year to collect
and remit New Mexico gross receipts tax, effective July 1, 2017. The law also would
require marketplace providers, such as Amazon.com, to collect tax on behalf of third-
party sellers using the marketplace. “New Mexico Lawmakers Approve Gross
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Receipts Tax on Large Remote Retailers,” Andrea Muse, Tax Analysts State Tax

Notes, (5/26/17). Governor Susana Martinez vetoed these provisions on June 1,
2017. CCH State Tax Day.

New York
Governor Cuomo’s proposal to require marketplace providers in New York to collect
sales/use tax on behalf of third-party sellers did not advance, prior to the end of the

state legislative session. Jennifer McLoughlin, Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report,
“States Refresh, Reload on Marketplace provider Taxes,” (4/24/17).

North Carolina

The Senate approved 2017 SB 81, requiring remote retailers with North Carolina sales
over $100,000/yt. or over 200 North Carolina transactions/yt. to collect and remit
sales/use tax. The definition of “retailet” was amended to include marketplace
facilitators. Annual reporting requirements are imposed on marketplace facilitators
for short-term residential rentals, requiring the facilitator to disclose property owners’
identity. Marketplace facilitator provisions, similar to Minnesota’s requiring the
marketplace facilitator to collect and remit on behalf of third-party sellers effective
July 1, 2019, were also added. Andrew Ballard, Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report,
“Online Marketplace Tax Bill Advances in North Carolina,” (6/9/17). However,

the bill died in a House committee on June 30, 2017 when the legislative session
ended. Lauren Lorrichio, “North Carolina Online Tax Bill Dies in House
Committee,” Tax Analysts State Tax Today (6/30/17). There is a remote possibility
that the issue could come up during the veto session, which begins August 3. Andrew
Ballard, “Online Sales Tax Effort Crashes in North Carolina,” Bloomberg BNA Daily
Tax Report, (7/5/17).

North Dakota

North Dakota has enacted H 2298, anti-Quwil/ legislation similar to South Dakota’s,
but its effective date is contingent on Quill being overturned. Jennifer McLoughlin,
Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report, “Digital Sales Tax: Hit and Miss in States,”
4/7/17).

Ohio

Ohio enacted its budget legislation, HB 49, containing provisions creating a rebuttable
presumption of “substantial nexus” for purposes of collecting sales/use tax when the
remote seller has sales to Ohio customers exceeding $500,000/yr. and either: (a) uses
in-state computer software to sell or lease tangible personal property or services to
Ohio consumers; or (b) enters into an agreement with an in-state content distribution
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network service provider to accelerate or enhance delivery of the sellet’s website to
Ohio consumers. “Ohio Budget Bill Eliminates Tax Brackets, Expands Nexus
Provisions (H.B. 49)”” Tax Analysts State Tax Today (6/30/17).

Oklahoma

Oklahoma has enacted the Out-of-State Tax Collections Enforcement Act of 2017,
HB 1427, to establish a new enforcement division and hire private auditors to work
on collecting tax owed by out-of-state taxpayers.

Oklahoma has enacted HB 2252, effective November 1, 2017, modifying its
procedures for voluntary disclosure agreements to allow 50% waiver of interest, along
with waiver of penalties.

Oregon

Oregon has adopted in HB 2275 the MTC model statute definition of “apportionable
income,” replacing its definition of “business income,” effective for tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2018.

The Oregon Legislature enacted on July 3, 2017 SB 28 (amending O.R.S. sections
314.605 through 314.675) to replace the cost of performance standard with a market-
based sourcing standard for purposes of determining the sales factor applicable to
intangible property and service, as used in the corporate excise (income) tax
apportionment calculation. The change would apply to tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 2018. ”Oregon Legislature Changes Apportionment Method of Corporate
Income from Intangibles, Services,” Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report, (7/6/17).

Oregon Democrats have dropped a plan to pursue a gross receipts tax this legislative
session. Paul Shukovsky, “Oregon Democrats Drop Plan to Pass Gross Receipts
Tax,” Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report, 6/26/17.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania House passed HB 542 on May 9, 2017, which would require remote
sellers with $500 or more of sales to the state in prior year to notify their customers
that sales/use tax is due on their purchases. Senate finance committee passed the bill
out favorably on June 26, 2017. Leslie Pappas, “Online Sales Tax Notice Bill Clears
Pennsylvania Committee,” Bloomberg BN A Daily Tax Report, (6/27/17).

Rhode Island
The Rhode Island House passed H.5175A on 6/22/17, imposing a requirement on
remote retailers with over $100,000 in sales to Rhode Island or over 200 transactions
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in prior year to collect use tax, or opt to comply with notice and reporting
requirements. This provision has been included in the budget bill. The Senate has also
approved this provision, but added and amendment dealing with another tax issue to
the budget bill, and the House did not vote on that change before the session ended.
The Legislature is recessed for the summer. Adrianne Appel, “Online Sales Tax
Stalled in Rhode Island Budget Stalemate,” Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report

(7/5/17).

Texas

SB 1713, providing for a sales tax compliance study to be completed by the Texas
comptroller, died in House Committee at the end of the Texas legislative session on
May 29, 2017. It also included notice and reporting requirements and a requirement
for a marketplace provider to collect tax. Originally, the bill contained anti-Qwuil/
provisions. Lauren Loricchio, “Texas Bill Requiring Sales Tax Compliance Study
Dies,” State Tax Notes, (5/31/17); Paul Stinson, Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report,
“Texas Online Sales Tax Study Times Out,” (6/1/17).

Vermont

The Vermont Legislature enacted HB 516 providing that effective July 1, 2017, on or
before January 31 of each year, noncollecting vendors must file with the Department
of Taxes a copy of the notice they will be required to provide to certain purchasers
indicating that sales or use tax is due on nonexempt purchases that the purchasers
made from the vendor and that Vermont requires the purchaser to file a sales or use
tax return. This additional requirement applies only to noncollecting vendors who
made $100,000 or more of sales into Vermont in the previous calendar year. A
noncollecting vendor who fails to file a copy of the notice with the department is
subject to a $10 penalty for each failure, unless the noncollecting vendor shows
reasonable cause.

The 2016 law that imposed the requirement of notifying purchasers is scheduled to
take effect on the earlier of July 1, 2017, or beginning on the first day of the first
quarter after the sales and use tax reporting requirements challenged in Direct
Marketing Assoc. v. Brobl, 814 F.3d 1129 (10th Cir. 2016), are implemented by the state
ot Colorado.

Virginia

Virginia enacted SB 1528 on March 24, 2017 to provide for local government
regulation of Airbnb and other short-term residential rental platforms. Airbnb had
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lobbied for state-wide regulation. The concern with that approach was that the
identities of vendors would be shielded from local governments, making regulation
more difficult. Andrew Ballard, Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report, “Virginia Lets
Localities Regulate Short-term Rentals,” (3/30/17).

Virginia Legislature enacted HB 2058 and SB 962, providing that effective June 1,
2017, a dealer owning inventory located in a Virginia warehouse or fulfilment center
creates nexus and the duty to register as a retailer to collect Virginia sales/use tax.

Washington

Two bills were introduced in the Washington Senate on March 15, 2017, SB 5855 and
5850, providing for notice and reporting requirements similar to Colorado’s, and in
addition, anti-Quil/ provisions similar to South Dakota’s, applicable to Washington
sales/use tax. It also extends factor presence nexus to the B&O tax on retailers
($267,000 of annual Washington sales). On June 30, 2017, the Legislature approved
HB 2163, which is effective January 1, 2018 and requires remote sellers (making sales
sourced to Washington over $10,000/yt.), marketplace facilitators (facilitating sales to
sourced to Washington over $10,000/yr), and referrers (deriving gross receipts from
referred sales sourced to Washington over $267,000/yt.) to either commence
collecting and remitting use tax or comply with notice and reporting obligations.
Remote retailers will also become subject to the Washington’s factor presence nexus
standard for B&O tax. The governor signed this legislation on July 7, 2017.
NetChoice has indicated it intends to challenge HB 2163 as imposing an
unconstitutional burden on e-commerce sellers and violating ITFA by discriminating
against e-commerce sellers. Paul Jones, “Litigation Likely for Washington Law Making
Marketplace to Collect Sales Taxes,” Tax Analysts State Tax Today, (7/10/2017).

Wisconsin

Wisconsin legislature introduced SB 259 on May 17, 2017 requiring remote retailers
with over $50,000 in retail sales to Wisconsin in prior year to provide notices to
customers by January 31 an itemized list of their purchases and that they are required
to pay Wisconsin use tax on their purchases. Alternatively, the remote retailer can
voluntarily collect the tax or provide notice to the department of the name and
address of the purchaser and amount of the purchase.

Wyoming
Wyoming Legislature enacted HB 19, effective July 1, 2017, requiring remote sellers
with Wyoming sales exceeding $100,000 or 200 separate transactions per year to begin
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collecting and remitting use tax. Department can bring declaratory judgment action
to test constitutionality. See “Certain Remote Sellers Must Remit Tax on Sales
Delivered Into Wyoming,” CCH Tracker News (3/3/17).

A Wyoming legislative panel is considered a proposal for a gross receipts tax at the
rate of .26%. Paul Jones, Tax Analysts State Tax Notes, “Wyoming Lawmakers
Considering Gross Receipts Tax,” (6/5/17).

Rulings

Colorado

The Colorado Department of Revenue is in the process of reviewing and revising its
rules for implementing the notice and reporting requirements on remote sellers, which
went effect on July 1, 2017 pursuant to the settlement agreement in the DM.A ». Broh/
litigation. Amy Hamilton, “Colorado DOR Reviews Use Tax Notice and Reporting
Rules Before July 1 Enforcement,” State Tax Notes, (5/15/17). Colorado
Department of Revenue announced June 16 that it would be releasing an emergency
rule effective July 1, 2017 to implement the notice and reporting requirements
imposed on remote sellers. Tripp Baltz, “Colorado Releases Tax Reporting Rule for
Remote Sellers,” Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report 6/19/17. Colorado Department
of Revenue has published Draft Rule 39-21-112(3.5) as the emergency rule. Amy
Hamilton, “Colorado DOR to Adopt Emergency Rule on Use Tax Notice
Requirements,” Tax Analysts State Tax Notes, (6/26/17).

Connecticut

Notice 2017(1), Connecticut Department of Revenue Services, dated April 17, 2017,
provides that effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016,
Connecticut has adopted single sales factor apportionment and market-based sourcing
of services and intangibles income for its corporation business tax.

Connecticut Department of Revenue Services sent demand letters to 233 remote
retailers in June 2017 requesting either sales data for prior 3 years or that the remote
retailer begin registration and collection prospectively. Some remote retailers have
responded with registration or the sales data. Aaron Nicodemus, “Connecticut
Digging for Sales Data from Remote Retailers,” Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report
(7/13/17).

Massachusetts
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Massachusetts Department of Revenue published its Directive 17-1 on April 3, 2017,
providing that effective July 1, 2017, remote retailers with over $500,000 in
Massachusetts sales or over 100 transactions in Massachusetts in prior year are
required to register and collect Massachusetts sales/use tax, based on nexus through
cookies or other software placed on Massachusetts’ customers’ computers or
smartphones, and use of content distribution networks or marketplace providers
located in the state. The Directive takes the position that this amounts to “physical
presence nexus’ consistent with Qwi/l. On June 7, 2017, NetChoice initiated litigation
challenging the constitutionality of Directive 17-1 and arguing that it violates the
Internet Tax Freedom Act. See Paige Jones, “NetChoice to Challenge Massachusetts
Remote Sales Tax Collection Directive in court,” State Tax Notes, (6/6/17).
Massachusetts district court determined that Massachusetts Department of Revenue
did not comply with the APA in promulgating Directive 17-1, so the Directive has
been withdrawn, and the Massachusetts Department of Revenue is proceeding with
the formal rule-making process to re-promulgate Directive 17-1 as a regulation.
Projected revenue from Directive 17-1 was included in the Massachusetts FY 18
budget. Addrianne Appel, Bloomberg BNA, “Massachusetts Lawmakers Approve
Online Seller Tax in Budget,” (7/11/17).

Michigan

Michigan Treasury and Airbnb have entered into an agreement for Airbnb to
commence collecting hotel taxes on Airbnb bookings effective July 1, 2017. Alex
Ebert, “Airbnb Closes Tax Deal with Michigan, Now Collects in 30 States,”
Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report, 6/12/17.

New Mexico

In the matter of Aventis Pharmacenticals. Inc., New Mexico Taxation and Revenue
Department No. 17-23, May 19, 2017 (reprinted from CCH)

Corporate members of an out-of-state limited liability company (LLC) that solicited
sales in New Mexico were liable for New Mexico corporate income tax on income
earned by the LLC because the New Mexico activities were not limited to sales
solicitation, and the corporate members had sufficient nexus with Mexico due to
those other New Mexico activities and to the activities of a related corporate entity.
The LLC’s income was attributed to its two corporate members because the members
served as flow-through entities in a corporate organization owned by a foreign
pharmaceutical company. Federal law prohibits state taxation when a taxpayer is
engaged in the mere solicitation of sales and de minimis activities in the state.
Taxation is permissible when nexus exists between the taxpayer’s activities and the
state. In New Mexico, nexus exists when the activities performed in New Mexico by
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or on behalf of the taxpayer are significantly associated with the taxpayer’s ability to
establish and maintain a market in New Mexico. In addition to soliciting orders from
doctors, hospitals, and pharmacies, the LLC provided ongoing educational
opportunities, textbooks, and training to doctor’s offices and collaborated with
hospitals in treatment protocols. These activities were more than de minimis because
they were not merely ancillary to pharmaceutical product sales. The pharmaceutical
company’s North American headquarters had intercompany agreements with the
LLC, under which the headquarters provided management and back office services.
The headquarters also entered into a clinical research agreement with a New Mexico
hospital and doctor that required any legal notice be sent to the LLC. The doctor did
not distinguish between the headquarters and the LLC, thinking he worked for one
company, the pharmaceutical company. Like the LL.C’s additional activities, the
headquarters’ activities in New Mexico also were not ancillary to product sales. Thus,
state taxation was not prohibited. Furthermore, the activities of the LLC and the
headquarters established nexus between the LLLC’s members and New Mexico
because those activities increased the LLLC’s market in New Mexico.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Department of Revenue has entered into an agreement with Wayfair,
Inc., a larger internet retailer, for Wayfair to commence collecting Pennsylvania
sales/use taxes on its remote sales to Pennsylvania commencing May 1, 2017.

Tennessee

In Revenue Ruling # 17-08 (6/21/17), the Tennessee Department of Revenue
determined that an interstate motor carrier making trips originating in Tennessee and
ending in other states, originating in other states and ending in Tennessee, and
originating and ending in Tennessee, but with no offices, property or personnel
permanently in the state, nonetheless had “substantial nexus” with the state for
purposes of it’s franchise excise tax. Trips traveling through Tennessee would not
establish nexus. Tennessee has adopted “factor presence nexus” standard ($500,000 in
receipts, $25,000 in property or salaries, 25% property, receipts or salaries)and also
extends nexus to the fullest reach of the U.S. Constitution. Tennessee has a special
apportionment formula for trucking companies, based on mileage in the state.

Utah

Private letter ruling 16-003, Utah Tax Commission (3/31/17). Internet marketplace
provider did not fit within statutory definition of “seller” or “retailer” so was not
required to register and collect sales tax on online sales taking place on marketplace
platform between third party sellers and customers.
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Washington

Determination No. 16-0296, Washington Dept. of Revenue (4/28/17). An out-of-
state sporting product distributor was held subject to B&O wholesale tax on sales to
Washington retailers, based on out-of-state sales representatives making customer
visits to Washington 3 times per year, each visit lasting 2 to 6 days.

Determination No. 16-0342, Washington Dept. of Revenue (6/7/17). Out of state
manufacturer of natural ingredients and botanical extracts was subject to Washington
wholesaler’s B&O tax on gross receipts, due to economic factor presence nexus
threshold of over $250,000 in Washington sales, effective 9/1/15. Had substantial
nexus prior to that, due to sales representative making annual visits in the state to
solicit sales.

Determination No. 15-0321, Washington Dept. of Revenue (11/19/15 decision
published 6/30/17). An out-of-state online retailer of brand name apparel and
accessories (and its successor) appealed assessments of retailing business and
occupation (B&O) and retail sales tax, asserting that the Washington activities of its
wholesaling affiliate are insufficient to establish taxable nexus. Held: A wholesaling
affiliate’s promotion to third-party retailers of the same brand name products sold by
an online retailer affiliate, wholesale product packaging containing the online retailer
affiliate’s website, and the existence of a retail “store locatet” on the online retailer
affiliate’s website, are insufficient activities to create taxable nexus for the online
retailer.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin has entered into a collection agreement with Airbnb effective July 1, 2017.
Paul Jones, “Airbnb Agrees to Collect Taxes in Michigan, Wisconsin,” Tax Analysts
State Tax Notes, (6/12/17).

Cases

Alabama

Scholastic Books Inc. v. Alabama, No. 14-374, (March 25, 2017).

The Alabama Tax Tribunal upheld the Department’s use tax assessment, determining
that Scholastic Books had representational nexus in Alabama through the school
teachers that accepted orders and payments on behalf of Scholastic Books.
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Newegg, et al v. Alabama Department of Revenue, Alabama Tax Tribunal, challenge to
assessment under anti-Quill regulation requiring remote sellers with over $250,000 in
sales/yr. to Alabama to collect use tax, pending in discovery.

Connecticut

The U.S. Supreme Court denied certiorari in A/en v. Conm'r of Revenue Services, in
which the Connecticut Supreme Court held that nonqualified stock options granted
for services performed in Connecticut were subject to Connecticut’s income tax when
the options were exercised, even if the taxpayer no longer resided in the state. Andrea
Muse, Tax Analysts State Tax Notes,”U.S. Supreme Court Won’t Hear Connecticut
Stock Options Case,” (6/6/17).

Indiana

NetChoice and American Catalog Mailers Association have filed suit on June 30, 2017
in Indiana seeking a declaratory judgement that Indiana Act No. 1129 (which was to
go into effect on July 1, 2017), anti-Qwil/ legislation similar to South Dakota’s, be
declared unconstitutional, and that it be enjoined from enforcement.

Minnesota

In Fielding v. Commissioner of Revenne, Minnesota Tax Court, Nos. 8911-R, 8912-R,
8913-R, and 8914-R (5/31/2017), the Tax Court held that the Commissioner
erroneously denied income tax refund claims of resident trusts, in that Minnesota
lacked sufficient connection to the gain income from sales of intangibles not located
in Minnesota, in violation of due process, even though personal jurisdiction over the
trusts existed. The fact that the grantor’s domicile was in Minnesota at the time the
trusts became irrevocable was insufficient connection when the domicile of the trusts
was outside of Minnesota. The state may only tax income from in-state sources.
Minnesota statute defined residency of a trust based on the domicile of the grantor of
an intervivos trust at the time the trust became irrevocable (which was Minnesota).
The trustee, beneficiaries (except for one), and trust intangibles assets were located
outside of Minnesota for tax years of the refund claims. The Tax Court acknowledged
personal jurisdiction as to the trusts, but found lack of subject matter jurisdiction as to
the income, in violation of due process. The trusts held shares of an S corp that did
business in and generated income in Minnesota. When the trusts sold their interests in
the S corp, generating gain income, the court found a lack of nexus as to that income.

New Jersey
By order dated April 10, 2017, the New Jersey Tax Court affirmed the Division of

Taxation’s income tax assessment against Xylem Dewatering Solutions, Inc.,



Nexus Director’s Update 13
July 31, 2017

determining that the gain income $308 million from a New Jersey S Corporation
deemed asset sale under IRC Section 338(h)(10) of non-resident shareholders was
sourced to New Jersey. The income was considered “non-operational” and therefore
sourced 100% to New Jersey. David Silverman, Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report,
“New Jersey Tax Court Rules Against S Corp Shareholder,” (4/12/17).

In Elan Pharmaceutical Inc. v. New Jersey Dip. of Tax, No. 010589-2010 (N.]J. Tax Ct
2017), the court held that because New Jersey has an economic nexus standard for its
corporate income tax, New Jersey could not use its “throwout rule” unless the
taxpayer was not taxable in the other state, due to P.L. 86-272 or it would be
unconstitutional. Just because the other state chooses not to tax that income is
insufficient to apply the throwout rule. Some practitioners point out that this presents
a significant planning opportunity for in-state companies to reduce their corporate
income tax liabilities in states that apply an economic nexus standard, because that
same standard must be applied in determining the other states where the taxpayer is
not subject to tax, for purposes of a throwout rule. Alan V. Lindquist, Tax Analysts
State Tax Notes, “The Elan Case: Economic Nexus as a Tax Planning Opportunity,

(6/5/17).

b

Ohio

The parties have settled in Crutchfield Corp. v. Testa, so no petition for certiorari was
filed with the U.S. Supreme Court. Jennifer McLoughlin, Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax
Report, “U.S. Supreme Court Won’t Get Look at Ohio Receipts Tax,” (4/17/17).

Oregon

Cheng Shin Rubber USA, Inc. v. Dept of Revenue, TC-MD 156268D Oregon Tax Court
(3/31/17) Out of state tire seller with no physical presence in Oregon sold tires to its
authorized tire dealer/distributor, Les Schwab in Oregon. Cheng Shin Rubber
provided a limited warranty on its tires, replacing defective tires if the original
purchaser bought the tire from its authorized dealer/distributor and returned it to the
authorized dealer/distributor. Les Schwab also provided a more extensive tire
warranty, including free tire rotation, balancing, tire checks. If a customer returned a
defective tire to Les Schwab, the dealer would issue a refund or credit and in turn
submit a warranty claim to Cheng Shin, which would either send a replacement tire or
provide a credit. Oregon audited Cheng Shin and assessed them for corporate excise
tax. Cheng Shin claimed immunity under P.L. 86-272. The court upheld the
assessment, determined that Cheng Shin engaged in non-solicitation activities in
Oregon through it independent contractor/warranty service provider, Les Schwab,
relying on Ann Sacks as precedent. Some commentators view the decision as an
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overly aggressive attempt by Oregon to limit the protections of P.L.. 86-272. See Che
Odom, Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report, “States are Looking to Avoid Federal
Limits on Income Taxes,” (5/1/17).

South Dakota

In Wayfair, Inc. v. South Dakota, the state circuit court’s March 6, 2017 ruling that SB
106 (South Dakota’s anti-Quill legislation) is unconstitutional is now on appeal to the
South Dakota Supreme Court. The court is also expected to rule that the law is
unconstitutional, so that a petition for certiorari may be filed with the U.S. Supreme
Court, possibly by the end of this year, raising the possibility for Qwuil/ to be
overturned. The parties have completed briefing before the South Dakota Supreme
Court and are awaiting a ruling.

Tennessee

On March 30, 2017, NetChoice and American Catalog Mailers Association challenged
in Tennessee chancery court the constitutionality of Tennessee’s Rule 129, which
would require remote retailers with Tennessee sales exceeding $500,000 to commence
collection of Tennessee sales/use tax starting July 1, 2017. The parties have agreed
that Rule 129 will not be enforceable during the pending of the litigation. The
Tennessee Assembly has passed legislation, HB 261 on 5/9/17, requiring that the
legislature must review and approve of the court determination before Rule 129 can
become enforceable.

Virginia

Ruling of Commissioner, P.D. 17-71, Virginia Department of Taxation, May 23, 2017
(reprinted from CCH). The Virginia Tax Commissioner ruled that an on-line business
located outside Virginia has sufficient nexus with Virginia to require it to register for
the collection and remittance of the Virginia retail sales and use tax. The taxpayer
represents that it maintains no employees, offices, business locations, or warehouses
in Virginia. The only presence the taxpayer has in Virginia is the storage of resale
inventory in a fulfillment center located in Virginia. During its 2017 session, the
Virginia General Assembly passed legislation (Ch. 51 (H.B. 2058) and Ch. 808 (S.B.
962)) to amend Va. Code §58.1-612(C), which sets forth those activities that a dealer
may be engaged in that establish nexus with Virginia and require the dealer to register
for the collection of the Virginia retail sales and use tax. Subsection 9 of that statute
was amended to provide a dealer will have sufficient activity to require registration if
such dealer: "Owns tangible personal property that is for sale located in this
Commonwealth, or that is rented or leased to a consumer in this Commonwealth, or
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offers tangible personal property, on approval, to consumers in this Commonwealth."
The amendment was effective June 1, 2017.

Wyoming

Two lawsuits are pending in state district court concerning HB 19, Wyoming’s anti-
Quill legislation: Wyoming v. Newegg, Inc., No. 34238 (7/7/17) (filed by AG seeking
declaratory judgment that HB 19 is constitutional) and Awm. Catalog Mailers Ass’n v.
Noble, No. 188-137 (6/28/17) (seeking determination that HB 19 is unconstitutional).
Michael Bologna, “Wyoming Boots Up Online Sales Tax Lawsuit, Joins Four
Others,” Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report (7/11/17).

Amnesty
Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania’s tax amnesty program closed as of June 19, 2017.

Streamlined Sales Tax

Atits May 11, 2017 meeting in Bismarck, North Dakota, the Governing Board of the
Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement approved a new “disclosed practice”
concerning the states’ policies regarding voluntary disclosure agreements and how the
timing of a seller’s registration through the SST centralized registration system with
the member state (which would be considered a contact with the state) will affect a
voluntary disclosure agreement (VDA). States will indicate whether registration would
make the seller ineligible for voluntary disclosure relief if it occurs before either the
state or the seller, or both, have signed the VDA. States are encouraged to allow
sellers to register early in the voluntary disclosure process, prior to signature by all
patties, so that sellers can commence collecting and remitting sales/use tax soonet
and minimize their back tax liabilities. The disclosed practice will become part of the
state’s published taxability matrix.

Multistate Tax Commission Uniformity Committee

Following denial of the petition for certiorari in DNM.A ». Broh/, MTC Uniformity
Committee Model Sales and Use Tax Reporting Statute Project is back underway,
updating a prior proposal based on the Colorado notice and reporting statute.

The workgroup on this project is addressing the issue of whether the party obligated
to provide notice to the remote sellet’s customers and file an annual report with the
state revenue department should be broadened to include a marketplace provider.
Tripp Baltz, Bloomberg BNA, “Multistate Group Mulls Marketplace Obligations,”
(5/26/17).
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Congress

S. 276, the Marketplace Fairness Act of 2017, and H.R. 2193, the Remote
Transactions Parity Act of 2017, have been introduced April 27, 2017 in the 115"
Congress. These are similar to the bills introduced in prior years, providing
Congressional authorization for states to require certain remote sellers to collect use
tax on remote sales, when certain conditions are met.

Representative Sensenbrenner has re-introduced the No Regulation Without
Representation Act (2017 H.R. 2887) on June 12, 2017, codifying physical presence
nexus. Representative Goodlatte is a co-sponsor. The Subcommittee on Regulatory
Reform, Commercial and Antitrust Law Committee, has scheduled a hearing on H.R.
2887 for July 25, 2017. Neither of the other two pending bills have hearings
scheduled. Ryan Prete, “Digital Sales Tax Bill Set For House Subcommittee Hearing,”
Bloomberg BNA Daily Tax Report (7/19/2017).



