## AUDIT COMMITTEE MEETING PUBLIC SESSION-Minutes

## Long Beach, California

April 26, 2023

# I. CALL TO ORDER:

Frank Hales, Audit Committee Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:32 P.M. Pacific Time and welcomed members and guests participating in the meeting.

## II. ROLL CALL:

Present were the following members and guests:

| NAME               | STATE OR<br>AFFLIATION | NAME                | STATE OR<br>AFFLIATION |
|--------------------|------------------------|---------------------|------------------------|
| Michael Williams   | AK                     | *Manisha (ADOR)     | AZ                     |
| Christine Hall     | AL                     | *Bill Esmond        | GA                     |
| Matt Tidwell       | AL                     | *Ronda Detlefsen    | IA                     |
| Vicki Gardino      | AL                     | *Karl Patton - ISTC | ID                     |
| Kathy Mui          | СО                     | *Charla Wagner      | KS                     |
| Sarah Roberts      | СО                     | *Michael Hale       | KS                     |
| Robert Kindred     | DC                     | *Debra Guillory     | LA                     |
| Rondenet Mwangi    | GA                     | *Krystal Bolton     | LA                     |
| Steve Alvarez      | GA                     | *Sal Tomaselli      | MO                     |
| Ben Clough         | IA                     | *Mark Schoenfeld    | MT                     |
| Aaron Yost         | ID                     | *Megan Martin       | ND                     |
| Amber Kauffman     | ID                     | *Shannon Fleischer  | ND                     |
| Elisa Magnuson     | ID                     | *Cynthia Carpenter  | NE                     |
| Phil Skinner       | ID                     | *Emily Staehr       | NE                     |
| Tom Shaner         | ID                     | *Joyce Carhart      | NE                     |
| Jordan Raye        | KS                     | *Katherine Rich     | NE                     |
| Latonia Dooley     | KY                     | *Nicholas Doucet    | NE                     |
| Victoria Nichols   | KY                     | *Patricia Schmidt   | NE                     |
| Cynthia LaBarge    | MN                     | *Scott Spilinek     | NE                     |
| James Douglas      | MN                     | *Stacie Odom        | NE                     |
| Charles Dendy      | ND                     | *Fred Coolbroth     | NH                     |
| Matt Peyerl        | ND                     | *Colleen Chipman    | NJ                     |
| Veronica Galewaler | NM                     | *Dawn Hornung       | NJ                     |
| Joe Royston        | OR                     | *Claudette Chavez   | NM                     |

| Katie Lolley       | OR                         | *Sherre Franklin    | NM                  |
|--------------------|----------------------------|---------------------|---------------------|
| Mikey Lucas        | OR                         | *Leo Lebeuf         | RI                  |
| Debra Houck        | PA                         | *Kelsey Gallacher   | UT                  |
| Jonathan May       | PA                         | *Valerie Newson     | UT                  |
| Hal Jones          | TN                         | *John Demeter       | VT                  |
| Hugh McKinnon      | TN                         | *Kelly Bain         | VT                  |
| Angie Hillas       | UT                         | *Ruth Eaton         | VT                  |
| Frank Hales        | UT                         | *Jennifer Martin    | WA                  |
| Shelley Robinson   | UT                         | *Karolyn Bishop     | WA                  |
| Brian Kelly        | WA                         | *Carlos Anguiano    | AT&T                |
| Emily Cramer       | WV                         | *Shirley Wei        | Deloitte Tax LLC    |
| Jen Galbreath      | Amazon                     | *Catalina Baron     | Evershed Sutherland |
| Jessie Eisenmenger | Amazon                     | *Andrea Potter      | Geffenmeser         |
| Jacob Shin         | Deloitte Tax LLC           | *Argi O'Leary       | Ryan                |
| Virgil Helton      | Fast Enterprises           | *Ali Pazand         | MTC                 |
| Will Rice          | Fast Enterprises           | *Bartt Stucki       | MTC                 |
| Nikki Dobay        | Greenberg Traurig LLP      | *Bill LoCascio      | MTC                 |
| Michael Hilkin     | McDermott Will & Emery LLP | *Brian Staley       | MTC                 |
| Brian Hamer        | MTC                        | *Kay Mick           | MTC                 |
| Bruce Fort         | MTC                        | *Lila Disque        | MTC                 |
| Cathy Felix        | MTC                        | *Lindsay Buerkle    | MTC                 |
| Chris Barber       | MTC                        | *Melody Moncrief    | MTC                 |
| Helen Hecht        | MTC                        | *Nicholas Polimeros | MTC                 |
| Holly Coon         | MTC                        | *Paul Mond          | MTC                 |
| Jeff Silver        | MTC                        | *Spencer Clarke     | MTC                 |
| Jenn Stosberg      | MTC                        | *Susan Carlson      | MTC                 |
| Jonathan White     | MTC                        |                     |                     |
| Larry Shinder      | MTC                        |                     |                     |
| Nancy Prosser      | MTC                        |                     |                     |
| Richard Cram       | MTC                        |                     |                     |
| Scott Pattison     | MTC                        |                     |                     |
| Steve Yang         | MTC                        |                     |                     |

<sup>\*</sup>Joined the meeting virtually.

#### III. PUBLIC COMMENTS:

There were no Public Comments.

## IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES PUBLIC SESSION

The minutes of the public session of the Audit Committee meeting on November 16, 2022, in Little Rock, Arkansas, were approved unanimously with a motion by Michael Williams, AK.

#### V. <u>AUDIT DIRECTOR'S REPORT</u>

Holly Coon, Audit Program Director, referred the committee and guests to her written report. She noted that for the first three quarters of the 2023 fiscal year, the income tax program proposed net assessments of \$135,400,514 for completed and partially completed income tax audits. The income tax program staff also proposed tax credit, NOL, and refund reductions of \$2,820,358.

The sales tax program proposed net assessments of \$3,029,491 for completed and partially completed sales tax audits. Sales tax program staff also proposed reductions in tax refunds of \$85,936.

Holly also highlighted upcoming MTC training and informational sessions.

#### VI. <u>UPCOMING MEETINGS</u>

Frank Hales shared the dates and locations of upcoming summer and fall MTC Committee meetings.

#### VII. NEW BUSINESS AND ADJOURNMENT

There were no new business items, and the public session was recessed at 1:44 P.M. Pacific Time with a motion from Katie Lolley, OR.

The public session was reopened at 5:08 P.M. Pacific Time with no public members joining the meeting and no items to report. The public session was closed with a motion from Katie Lolley, OR.