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>$100,000 sales

Alaska local gov
Hawaii, DC
>$100,000 & 200 trans
Note: MO eff 1/1/23

>$100,000 sales/200 transactions

Sales/Use Tax Economic Nexus Thresholds

>$500,000 sales

No Sales Tax

>$250,000 sales

As of July 1, 2021



Sales/use tax economic nexus legislation 
2021

Florida

Florida SB 50 signed by governor 4/19/2021, $100,000 threshold, also marketplace facilitator 
collection, 911 tax collection, eff. 7/1/2021

Kansas

Governor’s veto of SB 50 overridden 5/3/21 of Kansas SB 50, $100,000 threshold eff. 7/1/2021, also 
marketplace facilitator tax collection, transient guest tax collection 1/1/2022; 911 fees collection 
eff. 4/1/2022

Maine

2021 H891, effective 7/1/2022, eliminated 200 transactions economic nexus threshold

Missouri

Missouri SB 153/97 $100,000 threshold, also marketplace facilitator collection, both eff. 1/1/2023

Wisconsin

AB 2, section 115 enacted, repealing 200 transactions threshold.



Local Sales Tax Simplification
Alabama Simplified Sellers Use Tax—flat rate for remote sellers

Texas Comptroller—flat rate for remote sellers

Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission--centralized 
administration of  some “home rule” local taxes; eff. 2/1/21, 
Municipality of Anchorage adopted ARSSTC code for alcohol 
beverage sales tax. Checkpoint, State Tax Update 2/8/21

Colorado Department of Revenue--Sales and Use Tax System 
(SUTS), “one-stop” portal for remote sellers to file returns for state 
and participating “home rule” local jurisdictions. Two-thirds of 
home-rule munis have joined as 2/22/21. Destination sourcing is in 
effect 7/1/21 (exception for small businesses extended to 2/1/22).

Louisiana Sales and Use Tax Commission for Remote Sellers—
centralized administration of “home rule” local taxes; HB 199 
enacted: vote on 10/9/21 for constitutional amendment to 
centralize administration of local sales/use taxes.
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Effective 1/1/23

Alaska
Hawaii
District of Columbia

Marketplace collection requirement

Marketplace Collection Requirements

Collect-or-report

No Sales Tax

Sales >$10,000/yr

As of July 1, 2021



Enacted bills in 2021 broadening marketplace 
facilitator tax collection

• Arizona SB 1720 imposing TPT on peer-to-peer car sharing programs

• Connecticut H6629 E911 fee eff. 7/1/2022

• Florida SB 50  $100,000 threshold eff. 7/1/2021, E911 fee, waste tire fee, lead-acid battery 
fee eff. 4/1/2022

• Georgia HB 317 includes “marketplace facilitators” in definition of “innkeepers,” imposing 
obligation to collect $5 hotel and motel fee eff. 7/1/2021

• Kansas SB 50  $100,000 threshold eff. 7/1/2021, collect transient guest tax eff. 1/1/2022, 
collect E911 fees 4/1/2022, veto overridden 5/3/2021

• Missouri SB 153/97 $100,000 threshold, collection eff. 1/1/2023

• Montana SB 52 imposing collection obligation on short-term rental markets for lodging 
facility use tax and sales tax on lodging and rental cars eff. 10/1/2021

• Nevada AB 363 lodging tax eff. 7/1/2022; SB 389 imposing fee collection duties on peer-to-
peer car sharing programs eff. 10/1/2021

• Oklahoma SB 355 imposing vehicle rental tax on peer-to-peer car sharing platforms eff. 
11/1/2021

• Texas SB 477 wireless 911 fee and lead-acid battery fee eff. 7/1/2022

• West Virginia SB 270 hotel occupancy tax eff. 1/1/2022

• Wisconsin Act 55 local room taxes eff. 7/1/2021



Bills enacted in 2021 amending marketplace 
laws

• Arkansas Act 144—removes reference to facilitating the sale of 
“digital magazines” from definition of “marketplace facilitator”

• Illinois SB 2066--excludes licensed auctioneers from the 
definition of “marketplace facilitator”


