

## Minutes of the Multistate Tax Commission Strategic Planning Steering Committee Meeting July 26, 2016 Kansas City, Missouri

## I. Welcome and Introductions

The Chair called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m. central. The following persons attended the meeting either in person or via telephone:

Name	Organization	Name	Organization
Julie Magee, Chair	Alabama	Sara Archer	PWC
Rich Jackson	Idaho		
Wood Miller	Missouri	Richard Cram	MTC
Demesia Padilla	New Mexico	Lila Disque	MTC
Matt Peyerl	North Dakota	Elliott Dubin	MTC
Gary Humphrey	Oregon	Helen Hecht	MTC
Nancy Prosser	Texas	Greg Matson	MTC
		Nick Polimeros	MTC
Jennifer McLoughlin	Bloomberg BNA	Tom Shimkin	MTC
Niki Dobay	COST	Marshall Stranburg	MTC
Virgil Helton	FAST Enterprises	Elizabeth Harchenko	MTC Consultant
		(phone)	
Shirley Sicilain	KPMG		

## II. Initial Public Comment Period

No public comments were received.

## III. Reports on Completed and Ongoing Strategic Planning Projects

Oral presentations summarizing the written reports prepared for the committee were received from the Taxpayer and Practitioner Outreach Project Team (Ms. Sicilian) and the Nexus Committee Workgroup (Mr. Cram).

#### IV. Review Performance Measures and Data for Completed Projects

Performance measures and data for the Engagement Goal Project contained in a written report to the committee were presented by Mr. Matson. Committee members suggested that for measures in outcome 1, attendance at meetings be tracked by both in-person attendance and on-phone participation. Mr. Matson also suggested that measures 2A. and 2B. be merged with measures 1A. and 1B. because they are nearly identical. With respect to outreach efforts, Ms. Padilla requested a contact person for Nevada. Mr. Jackson noted that he found an approximate 75% success rate in either reaching or hearing back from states when making outreach efforts. Ms. Harchenko suggested revised measures for the outreach program to reflect the number of states contacted and who made the outreach effort.

## V. Discuss Steering Committee Membership and Leadership for 2016-2017

Mr. Humphrey noted that he will no longer be able to serve on the committee due to new responsibilities he has assumed with Oregon. Members of the committee thanked him for his service.

Ms. Magee will again serve as Chair for FY 2016-2017. Other members of the committee for FY 2016-2017 will include Ms. Padilla, Mr. Jackson, Tax Commissioner Ryan Rauschenberger (North Dakota), Director Nia Ray (Missouri), Ms. Prosser, Director Mike Kadas (Montana), and Commission Chair John Valentine (Utah). Mr. Matson will be contacting additional potential members to be a part of the committee.

## VI. Steering Committee Report to the Commission

Ms. Magee discussed the written report that will be submitted to the Commission.

# VII. Next Steps and Other Strategic Planning Business

Mr. Stranburg updated the committee on projects and initiatives that will be worked on during FY 2016-2017 which include: updating Commission Bylaws; training; and audit satisfaction survey for taxpayers.

Ms. Magee, Ms. Prosser, and other committee members recognized and thanked Ms. Harchenko for her years of service to the Commission and committee as strategic planning consultant.

## VIII. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 5:30 PM central.