

# Minutes of Executive Committee Teleconference

# Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Eastern Time

# I. Welcome and Introductions

Chair John Valentine, Utah, convened the meeting at 2:00 p.m. eastern time. Marshall Stranburg, MTC Deputy Executive Director, welcomed those in attendance and confirmed the presence of a quorum via roll call. The following people attended the meeting:

| Holly Coon         | Alabama Department of Revenue                     |
|--------------------|---|
| Brandon Spanos     | Alaska Department of Revenue                      |
| Tom Atchley        | Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration |
| Brendon Reese      | Colorado Department of Revenue                    |
| Randy Tilly        | Idaho State Tax Commission                        |
| Phil Skinner       | Idaho State Tax Commission                        |
| Sharonne Bonardi   | Maryland Comptroller's Office                     |
| Jennifer Starr     | Minnesota Department of Revenue                   |
| Joel Walters       | Missouri Department of Revenue                    |
| Helen Hecht        | Multistate Tax Commission                         |
| Gregory Matson     | Multistate Tax Commission                         |
| Marshall Stranburg | Multistate Tax Commission                         |
| Bruce Fort         | Multistate Tax Commission                         |
| Brian Hamer        | Multistate Tax Commission                         |
| Lila Disque        | Multistate Tax Commission                         |
| Chris Barber       | Multistate Tax Commission                         |
| John Ficara        | New Jersey Division of Taxation                   |
| Janice Shannon     | New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department        |
| Dan Armor          | New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department        |

| Dee Wald       | North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner |
|----------------|---|
| Jeff Henderson | Oregon Department of Revenue                  |
| Katie Lolley   | Oregon Department of Revenue                  |
| Nancy Prosser  | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts          |
| Tommy Hoyt     | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts          |
| John Valentine | Utah State Tax Commission                     |
| Dale Steager   | West Virginia State Tax Department            |
| Johnathan Horn | American Institute of CPAs                    |
| Dan Dejong     | American Bar Association                      |
| Bruce Ely      | American Bar Association                      |
| Tripp Baltz    | Bloomberg BNA                                 |
| Fred Nicely    | Council on State Taxation                     |
| Nikki Dobay    | Council on State Taxation                     |
| Paul Rafelson  | Online Merchants Guild                        |
| Pilar Mata     | Tax Executives Institute                      |

#### II. Initial Public Comment Period

There were no public comments at this time.

# III. Approval of Minutes of Executive Committee Meeting on July 26, 2018

The Chair asked that the minutes be amended to reflect that that the approval for the Commission to file a brief in the United States Supreme Court was in relation to the *Congar Den* case from Washington state. Randy Tilley, Idaho, asked that the date of the uniformity committee be changed to July 24, 2018. Nancy Prosser, Texas, moved for approval of the minutes as amended. The motion was approved by unanimous consent.

# IV. Uniformity Item Before the Executive Committee for Action

Model Uniform Statute and Regulation for Reporting Adjustments to Federal Taxable Income and Federal Partnership Audit Adjustments

MTC General Counsel Helen Hecht provided a report on the model under consideration. Chair Valentine then opened the floor for comments. No comments were received. Katie Lolley, Oregon, moved to submit the proposed model for public hearing. There was no debate on the motion. The motion passed by roll call vote with 11 in favor, no objections, and no abstentions.

# V. Adjournment

There was no further business. The meeting adjourned by unanimous consent at 2:18 p.m.