

Multistate Tax Commission (MTC) Nexus Committee Minutes - OPEN SESSION March 13, 2014 Denver, Colorado OPEN SESSION Nexus Committee Minutes - OPEN SESSION March 13, 2014 Denver, Colorado State or Affiliation Name AL Chris Sherlock AR Deanna Munds-Smith Nexus CO Dennis P. Lima GA Anita DeGumbia ID Randy Tilley ID Steve Wynn LA R. Jay Frost MT Lee Baerlocher MT Gene Walborn NC Lennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman) ND Matt Peyerl ND Myles Vosberg NE Troy Hopkins * NM David Fergeson OR Christi Daniken *		d at
GAAnita DeGumbiaIDRandy TilleyIDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *		Multistate Tax Commission (MTC)
GAAnita DeGumbiaIDRandy TilleyIDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *		Nexus Committee Minutes – OPEN SESSION
GAAnita DeGumbiaIDRandy TilleyIDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *		March 13, 2014
GAAnita DeGumbiaIDRandy TilleyIDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *		Denver, Colorado
GAAnita DeGumbiaIDRandy TilleyIDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *		tion 12 Mee ol 4
GAAnita DeGumbiaIDRandy TilleyIDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *	State or Affiliation	Name Motivitee 129120
GAAnita DeGumbiaIDRandy TilleyIDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *	AL	Chris Sherlock RAFT Comment
GAAnita DeGumbiaIDRandy TilleyIDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *		Deanna Munds-Smith * 1919
GAAnita DeGumbiaIDRandy TilleyIDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *		Dennis P. Lima
IDRandy TilleyIDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *		Anita DeGumbia
IDSteve WynnLAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *	ID	Randy Tilley
LAR. Jay FrostMTLee BaerlocherMTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *	ID	
MTGene WalbornNCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *	LA	•
NCLennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *	MT	Lee Baerlocher
NDMatt PeyerlNDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *	MT	Gene Walborn
NDMyles VosbergNETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *	NC	Lennie Collins (Nexus Committee Chairman)
NETroy Hopkins *NMDavid FergesonORChristi Daniken *	ND	Matt Peyerl
NM David Fergeson OR Christi Daniken *	ND	Myles Vosberg
OR Christi Daniken *	NE	
OR Jeff Henderson		
OR Gary Humphrey		
SC Rick Reames		
TX Hermi Nanez * UT Mike Christensen *		
UT Mike Christensen * UT Frank Hales		
UT Shelley Robinson * WA Karolyn Bishop		-
WA Scott Garrison		
WA John Ryser		
WI Rick DeBano		•
WV Andrew Glancy		
MTC Thomas Shimkin (Nexus Director)		
MTC Diane Simon-Queen *		
MTC Ben Abalos		Ben Abalos
Consultant Elizabeth Harchenko		Elizabeth Harchenko

* Participated by telephone

Nexus Committee Chairman Lennie Collins convened the meeting. *The committee approved by voice vote the minutes of the December 10, 2013 and January 8, 2014 meetings.* Mr. Collins invited comments from the public. There were none.

Nexus Director's Report

Mr. Shimkin said that Nexus states' collections for the current, partial fiscal year (July 1, 2013 – February 28, 2014) were \$3,559,556. Nexus executed 182 contracts, with an average value of \$19,558, he reported.

In response to Gene Walborn's (MT) question whether the National Nexus Program accepted voluntary disclosure applications from pass-through entities, Mr. Shimkin advised that Nexus has received many such applications. It also occasionally receives disclosures of failure to withhold wages, he said.

Mr. Shimkin said that he suggests to applicants for disclosures less than \$500 in a state that they begin filing without benefit of voluntary disclosure and address any penalty directly with the state should it arise. Lee Baerlocher (MT) and Randy Tilley (ID) concurred.

Mr. Shimkin asked whether any state finds it unacceptable for taxpayers to include past liabilities on a first-year return. Matt Peyerl (ND) advised that it would not satisfy liability, but would stop penalties and interest. Chris Sherlock (AL) suggested that taxpayers may want to contact his office to settle penalties.

Steve Wynn (ID) asked whether the inclusion of past liabilities on a first-year return was an issue a taxpayer should bring to a states' taxpayer advocate. Chris Sherlock (AL) said that in Alabama, taxpayers must exhaust the appeals process before seeking help from the Department's taxpayer advocate. Lennie Collins (NC) shared that his state has just established an office of taxpayer advocate. Gene Walborn (MT) shared that his state's advocate does not have waiver authority; a taxpayer's payment satisfies liability for principal and interest, but the taxpayer must still file returns.

Strategic Planning

Mr. Shimkin introduced Ms. Elizabeth Harchenko, who will facilitate the Nexus Committee's strategic planning. Turning to that planning, the committee reviewed the Commission's Mission, Vision, Values, and Goals (MVVG); reviewed the Nexus Charter for consistency with the Commission's MVVG; brainstormed a statement of purpose and vision for the Nexus Program; did an environmental scan of Nexus organization and activities; and identified potential goals for the Nexus Program. *Ms. Harchenko said that a sub-group of the Nexus Committee will work from the ideas generated at the meeting to present a draft plan for the committee's consideration at its July meeting in New Mexico. Gene Walborn (MT), Randy Tilley (ID), Shelley Robinson (UT), Anita DeGumbia (GA), and Christy Vandevender (AL) form the working group.*

New Business

There was no new business.

Closed Session

The committee entered closed session, returned to open session, and reported its closed session. There were no members of the public present to hear the report.

Adjournment

The Committee adjourned.