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CHAPTER

An act to add and repeal Section 15676.2 of the Government
Code, and to amend Sections6041.1, 6041.2, 6041.5, 6203, 6203.1,
and 7262 of, and to add Sections 6363.9, 6363.10, and 6487.07
to, the Revenue and Taxation Code, relating to taxation, and
making an appropriation therefor, to take effect immediately, bill
related to the budget.

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL’S DIGEST

SB 92, Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review. Taxation.

(1) Existing law establishes the Office of Tax Appealsin state
government. The office has the duty to conduct appeals hearings
for the various taxes and fees administered by the California
Department of Tax and Fee Administration and for the
administrative appeals of state personal income taxes and
corporation franchise and income taxes, which are administered
by the Franchise Tax Board. Existing law establishes tax appeals
panels within the office, each consisting of 3 administrative law
judges.

This bill, until January 1, 2030, would require the office to
establish a process under which aperson filing an appeal may opt
to appear before one administrative law judge, rather than a tax
appeal panel, when the total amount in dispute, including penalties
and fees, islessthan $5,000 with respect to personal incometaxes,
fees, or penalties, or the entity filing the appeal has gross receipts
of less than $20,000,000 with respect to taxes, fees, and penalties
administered by the California Department of Tax and Fee
Administration and thetotal amount in dispute, including penalties
and fees, is less than $50,000. The bill would provide that the
decision of one administrative law judge made pursuant to these
provisions does not have precedential effect.

(2) Existing state salesand usetax lawsimpose atax onretailers
measured by the gross receipts from the sale of tangible personal
property sold at retail in this state or on the storage, use, or other
consumption in this state of tangible personal property purchased
from aretailer for storage, use, or other consumption in this state.
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The Sales and Use Tax Law provides various exemptions from
those taxes.

(A) Existing law requires a portion of the sales and use tax law
revenues to be deposited in the State Treasury to the credit of the
Loca Revenue Fund 2011, a continuously appropriated fund, to
be used for public safety purposes. If specified sales and use taxes
arereduced or ceaseto be operative, existing law requiresthe state
to annually provide moneys to the fund in an amount equal to or
greater than the aggregate amount that would have otherwise been
provided by those taxes, as specified.

This bill, on and after January 1, 2020, until January 1, 2022,
would exempt from those taxes the gross receipts from the salein
this state of, and the storage, use, or other consumption in this state
of, diapers for infants, toddlers, and children, and menstrual
hygiene products, defined as tampons, specified sanitary napkins,
menstrual sponges, and menstrual cups. The bill would requirethe
Department of Finance, beginning on May 15, 2020, to estimate
the total dollar amount of revenue that would have been credited
to the Local Revenue Fund 2011 if not otherwise exempted by this
act, and would require the Controller to transfer that amount from
the General Fund to the Local Revenue Fund 2011 no later than
June 30 of each fiscal year. By requiring specified General Fund
moneys to be transferred into a continuously appropriated fund,
the bill would make an appropriation.

(B) The Salesand Use Tax Law requires every person desiring
to engage in or conduct business as a seller within this state to file
with the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration an
application for a permit for each place of business and requires
every retailer selling tangible personal property for storage, use,
or other consumption in this state to register with the department.
Within the Sales and Use Tax Law, the Marketplace Facilitator
Act, on and after October 1, 2019, provides that a marketplace
facilitator, as defined, is considered the seller and retailer for each
sale facilitated through its marketplace, as defined, for purposes
of determining whether that marketplace facilitator is required to
register with the department under the Sales and Use Tax Law.
Existing law provides that any marketplace facilitator that is
registered or required to register with the department under the
Sales and Use Tax law and that facilitates aretail sale of tangible
personal property by amarketplace seller, asdefined, istheretailer

97



SB 92 —4—

selling or making the sale of the tangible personal property sold
through its marketplace for purposes of paying any salestaxesand
collecting any use taxes. Existing law exempts a person that is a
delivery network company, as defined, from the definition of a
marketplace facilitator and excludes certain actions taken by
newspapers, internet websites, and other entities from the act of
facilitating a sale as a marketplace facilitator.

Thisbill would allow adelivery network company to elect to be
deemed a marketplace facilitator, as specified. The bill would
revise those actions taken by newspapers, internet websites, and
other entities that are excluded from the act of facilitating a sale
as a marketplace facilitator.

(C) The Sales and Use Tax Law requires, for purposes of the
salestax, atax return to be filed by every seller and, for purposes
of the use tax, atax return to befiled by every retailer engaged in
business in this state. Under that law, if any person fails to make
areturn, the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration
isrequired to make adeficiency determination based on an estimate
of the amount of the gross receipts of the person, or, as the case
may be, of the amount of the total sales price of tangible personal
property sold by the person, the storage, use, or other consumption
of which in this state is subject to the use tax. Under that law, if a
retailer fails to file areturn, the department is authorized to issue
a notice of deficiency determination for a period of 8 years, as
specified. The Sales and Use Tax Law aso imposes various
penalties, including a penalty for failure to make areturn and pay
taxes when that failure results in the department’s issuance of a
deficiency determination.

Thishill would limit the issuance of a deficiency determination
to a“qualifying retailer” to only those liabilities arising under the
Sales and Use Tax Law for sales made on and after April 1, 2016.
Thebill would definea“qualifying retailer” to mean, among other
things, aretailer that is or was engaged in business in this state
solely becausetheretailer used amarketplace facilitator to facilitate
sales for delivery in this state and for which the marketplace
facilitator stored theretailer’sinventory inthis state. The bill would
relieve a qualifying retailer of the penalties imposed pursuant to
the Sales and Use Tax Law with respect to sales made from April
1, 2016, to March 31, 2019, inclusive. The bill would make a

97



—5— SB 92

legidlative finding and declaration that the bill serves a public
purpose and does not constitute a prohibited gift of public funds.

(3) Existing laws authorize districts, as specified, to impose
transactions and use taxes by adopting district transactions and
use ordinances in accordance with the Transactions and Use Tax
Law, which generally conforms to the Sales and Use Tax Law.
Existing law requires districts that impose district use taxes in
accordance with the Transactions and Use Tax Law to include a
provision in the district’s use tax ordinance, to be operative on
April 1, 2019, that provides that aretailer engaged in businessin
the district includes any retailer that, in the preceding calendar
year or the current calendar year, has total combined sales of
tangible personal property in the state or for delivery in the state
by the retailer and al persons related to the retailer that exceeds
$500,000, thereby requiring those retailersto collect those district
use taxes.

This bill would instead specify that those added district use tax
ordinance provisions are operative on April 25, 2019.

(4) Thisbill would make other nonsubstantive changes.

(5) The Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law
authorizes counties and cities to impose local sales and use taxes
in conformity with the Sales and Use Tax Law, and existing laws
authorize districts, as specified, to impose transactions and use
taxesin accordance with the Transactions and Use Tax Law, which
generally conforms to the Sales and Use Tax Law. Amendments
to the Sales and Use Tax Law are automatically incorporated into
the local tax laws.

Existing law requires the state to reimburse counties and cities
for revenue losses caused by the enactment of sales and use tax
exemptions.

This bill would provide that, notwithstanding Section 2230 of
the Revenue and Taxation Code, no appropriation is made by this
act for the purposes of Section 2230 of the Revenue and Taxation
Code and the state shall not reimburse any local agenciesfor sales
and use tax revenues lost by them pursuant to this bill.

(6) Thishill would declare that it isto take effect immediately
asahbill providing for appropriations related to the Budget Bill.

Appropriation: yes.
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The people of the State of California do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. Section 15676.2 is added to the Government
Code, to read:

15676.2. (&) Notwithstanding subdivision (c) of Section 15670,
the office shall establish a process under which a person filing an
appeal may opt to appear before one administrative law judge if
either of the following is true:

(1) If the appeal arises from a tax, fee, or penalty imposed
pursuant to the Personal Income Tax Law (Part 10 (commencing
with Section 17001) of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation
Code), and the total amount in dispute, including penalties and
fees, isless than five thousand dollars ($5,000).

(2) If the appeal arises from atax, fee, or penalty administered
by the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, and
both of the following are satisfied:

(A) The entity filing the appeal has gross receipts of less than
twenty million dollars ($20,000,000).

(B) The total amount in dispute, including penalties and fees,
isless than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000).

(b) Thedecision of one administrative law judge made pursuant
to the process established by this section shall not have precedential
effect.

(c) Thissectionshall remainin effect only until January 1, 2030,
and as of that dateis repealed.

SEC. 2. Section 6041.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is
amended to read:

6041.1. Newspapers, internet websites, and other entities that
advertise tangible personal property for sale, refer purchasers to
the seller by telephone, internet link, or other similar means to
complete the sale, and do not participate further in the sale are not
facilitating a sale under this chapter.

SEC. 3. Section 6041.2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is
amended to read:

6041.2. For purposes of this chapter, a person is related to
another person if both persons are related to each other pursuant
to Section 267(b) of the Internal Revenue Code and the regul ations
thereunder.

SEC. 4. Section 6041.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is
amended to read:
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6041.5. (a) Notwithstanding Section 6041, a person that is a
delivery network company is not a marketplace facilitator for
purposes of this chapter.

(b) For purposes of this section, all of the following definitions
shall apply:

(1) “Delivery network company” means a business entity that
maintains an internet website or mobile application used to
facilitate delivery servicesfor the sale of local products.

(2) “Délivery services’ means the pickup of one or more local
products from alocal merchant and delivery of the local products
to a customer. “Delivery services’ do not include any delivery
requiring over 75 miles of travel from the local merchant to the
customer.

(3) “Loca merchant” means athird-party merchant, including,
but not limited to, akitchen, restaurant, grocery store, retail store,
convenience store, or business of another type, that is not under
common ownership or control with the delivery network company.

(4) “Local product” meansany item, including food, other than
freight, mail, or a package to which postage has been affixed.

(¢) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), adelivery network company
that meets the definition set forth in subdivision (b) of Section
6041 may elect, in a reasonable manner and duration prescribed
by the department, to be deemed a marketplace facilitator pursuant
to this chapter. Consistent with this section, the department shall
adopt regulations that establish the criteria for obtaining and
retaining an election to be a marketplace facilitator pursuant to
this subdivision.

SEC. 5. Section 6203 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, as
amended by Section 3 of Chapter 5 of the Statutes of 2019, is
amended to read:

6203. (a) Exceptasprovided by Sections6292 and 6293, every
retailer engaged in business in this state and making sales of
tangible personal property for storage, use, or other consumption
in this state, not exempted under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with
Section 6271) or Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 6351),
shall, at thetime of making thesalesor, if the storage, use, or other
consumption of the tangible personal property is not then taxable
hereunder, at the time the storage, use, or other consumption
becomes taxable, collect the tax from the purchaser and give to
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the purchaser areceipt therefor in the manner and form prescribed
by the department.

(b) As respects leases constituting sales of tangible personal
property, the tax shall be collected from the lessee at the time
amounts are paid by the lessee under the lease.

(c) “Retailer engaged in business in this state” as used in this
section and Section 6202 means any retailer that has substantial
nexus with this state for purposes of the commerce clause of the
United States Constitution and any retailer upon whom federal
law permitsthis state to impose ausetax collection duty. “ Retailer
engaged in business in this state” specifically includes, but is not
limited to, any of the following:

(1) Any retailer maintaining, occupying, or using, permanently
or temporarily, directly or indirectly, or through a subsidiary, or
agent, by whatever name called, an office, place of distribution,
sales or sampleroom or place, warehouse or storage place, or other
place of business.

(2) Any retailer having any representative, agent, salesperson,
canvasser, independent contractor, or solicitor operating in this
state under the authority of the retailer or its subsidiary for the
purpose of selling, delivering, installing, assembling, or thetaking
of orders for any tangible personal property.

(3) Asrespectsalease, any retailer deriving rentalsfrom alease
of tangible personal property situated in this state.

(4) (A) Any retailer that, in the preceding calendar year or the
current calendar year, hastotal combined sales of tangible personal
property for delivery in this state by the retailer and all persons
related to the retailer that exceed five hundred thousand dollars
($500,000).

(B) For purposes of this section, a person is related to another
person if both persons are related to each other pursuant to Section
267(b) of the Internal Revenue Code and the regulations
thereunder.

(d) Except as provided in this subdivision, a retailer is not a
“retailer engaged in business in this state” under paragraph (2) of
subdivision (c) if that retailer’s sole physical presencein this state
IS to engage in convention and trade show activities as described
in Section 513(d)(3)(A) of the Internal Revenue Code, and if the
retailer, including any of the retailer's representatives, agents,
salespersons, canvassers, independent contractors, or solicitors,
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does not engage in those convention and trade show activities for
more than 15 days, in whole or in part, in this state during any
12-month period and did not derive more than one hundred
thousand dollars ($100,000) of net income from those activities
in this state during the prior calendar year. Notwithstanding the
preceding sentence, a retailer engaging in convention and trade
show activities, asdescribed in Section 513(d)(3)(A) of the Internal
Revenue Code, isa“retailer engaged in businessin thisstate,” and
is liable for collection of the applicable use tax, with respect to
any sale of tangible personal property occurring at the convention
and trade show activities and with respect to any sale of tangible
personal property made pursuant to an order taken at or during
those convention and trade show activities.

(e) Any limitations created by this section upon the definition
of “retailer engaged in businessin this state” shall only apply for
purposes of tax liability under this code. Nothing in this section is
intended to affect or limit, in any way, civil liability or jurisdiction
under Section 410.10 of the Code of Civil Procedure.

() (1) The amendments made to this section by Chapter 5 of
the Statutes of 2019 shall become operative on April 1, 2019.

(2) If the amendments made to this section by Chapter 5 of the
Statutes of 2019 are held in afinal decision of acourt of competent
jurisdiction to violate the substantial nexus standard of the
commerce clause of the United States Constitution, this section
shall become inoperative and shall be repealed on the date of that
final decision.

SEC. 6. Section 6203.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is
amended to read:

6203.1. (a) The department, in its discretion, may relieve a
retailer engaged in businessin this state that meetsthe requirements
of subdivision (b) of the following:

(1) The penalties provided by Sections 6484, 6511, and 6591.

(2) All or any part of theinterest imposed on the person by this
part.

(b) Thissection shall apply to any retailer engaged in business
in this state that meets all of the following conditions:

(1) The retailer registered under Article 2 (commencing with
Section 6225) on or after April 1, 2019, as a retailer engaged in
business pursuant to paragraph (4) of subdivision (c) of Section
6203.
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(2) The total combined sales from the retailer and al persons
related to the retailer, within the preceding 12 months, of tangible
personal property in this state or for delivery in this state does not
exceed one million dollars ($1,000,000).

(3) Theretailer was not previously registered, or required to be
registered, with the department under Chapter 2 (commencing
with Section 6051) or Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 6201).

(4) Theretailer'sfailureto collect and remit use tax was due to
a good faith error and occurred notwithstanding the exercise of
ordinary care and the absence of willful neglect.

(5) The retailer is not a marketplace facilitator as defined in
Section 6041.

(6) Any other factors as deemed necessary by the department.

(c) For purposes of this section, a person is related to another
person if both persons arerelated to each other pursuant to Section
267(b) of the Internal Revenue Code and the regulations
thereunder.

(d) Thedepartment may grant relief only for interest or penalties
imposed on use tax liabilities due and payable for tax reporting
periods beginning April 1, 2019, and ending December 31, 2022.

SEC. 7. Section 6363.9 is added to the Revenue and Taxation
Code, to read:

6363.9. (a) On and after January 1, 2020, there are exempted
from the taxesimposed by this part the grossreceiptsfromthe sale
in this state of, and the storage, use, or other consumption in this
state of, diapers designed, manufactured, processed, fabricated, or
packaged for use by infants, toddlers, and children.

(b) This section shall become inoperative on January 1, 2022.

SEC. 8. Section 6363.10 is added to the Revenue and Taxation
Code, to read:

6363.10. (a) Onand after January 1, 2020, there are exempted
from the taxesimposed by this part the grossreceiptsfrom the sale
in this state of, and the storage, use, or other consumption in this
state of, menstrual hygiene products.

(b) For purposes of this section, “menstrual hygiene products’
shall only include the following:

(1) Tampons.

(2) Sanitary napkins primarily designed and labeled for
menstrual hygiene use.

(3) Menstrual sponges.
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(4) Menstrual cups.

(c) Thissection shall become inoperative on January 1, 2022.

SEC. 9. Section 6487.07 isadded to the Revenue and Taxation
Code, to read:

6487.07. (a) Notwithstanding Section 6487, a deficiency
determination may beissued to aqualifying retailer only for those
liabilities arising under this part for sales made on and after April
1, 2016.

(b) For purposes of this section, a “qualifying retailer” is a
retailer that meets all of the following conditions:

(1) Theretailer is not registered or has not registered with the
department under this part prior to December 1, 2018.

(2) The retailer had not filed sales or use tax returns or made
sales or use tax payments prior to being contacted by the
department.

(3) The retailer voluntarily registers under Chapter 2
(commencing with Section 6051) or Chapter 3 (commencing with
Section 6201), as applicable, filescompleted tax returnsfor all tax
reporting periods for which a determination may be issued under
this section, within 90 days after the effective date of this act, and
paysin full the taxes due or appliesfor an installment agreement,
but only if final payment under the terms of that installment
payment agreement is paid no later than December 31, 2021.

(4) Theretailer isor wasengaged in businessin this state solely
because the retailer used a marketplace facilitator, as defined in
Section 6041, to facilitate sales for delivery in this state and the
marketplace facilitator stored the retailer’sinventory in this state.

(c) A quadlifying retailer shall be relieved of the penalties
imposed pursuant to this part with respect to sales made from April
1, 2016, to March 31, 2019, inclusive.

SEC. 10. Section 7262 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is
amended to read:

7262. The use tax portion of any transactions and use tax
ordinance adopted under this part shall impose a complementary
tax upon the storage, use, or other consumption in the district of
tangible personal property purchased from any retailer for storage,
use, or other consumption in the district. The tax shall be at arate
of one-eighth of 1 percent, or amultiple thereof, of the sales price
of the property whose storage, use, or other consumption is subject
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to the tax, and the ordinance shall include provisionsin substance
asfollows:

(@) Provisons identica to those contained in Pat 1
(commencing with Section 6001), insofar as they relate to use
taxes and are not inconsistent with this part, except that the name
of the district as the taxing agency shall be substituted for that of
the state. The name of the district shall be substituted for the word
“state” in the phrase “retailer engaged in businessin this state” in
Section 6203 and in the definition of that phrase.

The following additional provisions shall be included:

(1) “A retailer engaged in business in the district” shall also
include any retailer that, in the preceding calendar year or the
current calendar year, hastotal combined sales of tangible personal
property in this state or for delivery in the state by the retailer and
all personsrelated to theretailer that exceedsfive hundred thousand
dollars ($500,000). For purposes of thissection, apersonisrelated
to another person if both personsarerelated to each other pursuant
to Section 267(b) of the Internal Revenue Code and the regulations
thereunder.

(2) Except as provided in paragraph (3), aretailer engaged in
businessin the district shall not be required to collect use tax from
the purchaser of tangible personal property, unless the retailer
shipsor deliversthe property into the district or participates within
the district in making the sale of the property, including, but not
limited to, soliciting or receiving the order, either directly or
indirectly, at a place of business of the retailer in the district or
through any representative, agent, canvasser, solicitor, subsidiary,
or person in the district under the authority of the retailer.

(3) “A retailer engaged in business in the district” shall also
include any retailer of any of the following: vehicles subject to
registration pursuant to Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 4000)
of Division 3 of the Vehicle Code, aircraft licensed in compliance
with Section 21411 of the Public Utilities Code, or undocumented
vessels registered under Division 3.5 (commencing with Section
9840) of theVehicle Code. That retailer shall be required to collect
use tax from any purchaser who registers or licenses the vehicle,
vessel, or aircraft at an address in the district.

(b) A provision that all amendments to the provisions of Part 1
(commencing with Section 6001) relating to the use tax and not
inconsistent with this part shall automatically become apart of the

97



—13— SB 92

ordinance. However, no amendment shall operate so as to affect
the rate of tax imposed by the district’s board.

(c) A provision that the amount subject to tax shall not include
the amount of any sales tax or use tax imposed by the State of
California or by any city, city and county, or county pursuant to
the Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law (Part
1.5 (commencing with Section 7200)) or the amount of any
state-administered transactions or use tax.

(d) A provision that any person subject to a use tax under an
ordinance adopted pursuant to this part shall be entitled to credit
against that tax or any transactions tax, or to reimbursement for a
transactions tax, paid to adistrict or retailer in adistrict imposing
atransactions and use tax pursuant to this part.

(e) A provision that, in addition to the exemptions provided in
Sections 6366 and 6366.1, the storage, use, or other consumption
of tangible personal property, other than fuel or petroleum products,
purchased by operators of aircraft, and used or consumed by the
operators directly and exclusively in the use of the aircraft as
common carriers of persons or property for hire or compensation
under a certificate of public convenience and necessity issued
pursuant to the laws of this state, the United States, or any foreign
government, is exempt from the use tax.

(f) A provision that the storage, use, or other consumption in
the district of tangible personal property is exempt from the tax if
the purchaser isobligated to purchase the property for afixed price
pursuant to a contract entered into prior to the operative date of
the ordinance. The possession of, or the exercise of any right or
power over, tangible personal property under a lease which is a
continuing purchase of the property is exempt from tax for any
period of timefor which the lesseeis obligated to |ease the property
for an amount fixed by a lease entered into prior to the operative
date of the ordinance. For purposes of this subdivision, the storage,
use, or other consumption of, or possession of, or exercise of any
right or power over, tangible personal property shall be deemed
not to be obligated pursuant to a contract or lease for any period
of time for which any party to the contract or lease has the
unconditional right to terminate the contract or lease upon notice,
whether or not the right is exercised.
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(g9) Any provisioninanordinancethat isrequired to beincluded
pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) shall become operative
on April 25, 2019.

SEC. 11. (@) No later than May 15 of each fiscal year,
beginning on May 15, 2020, the Department of Finance shall
estimate the total dollar amount of revenue for the current fiscal
year exempted under Sections 6363.9 and 6363.10 of the Revenue
and Taxation Code from any tax levied pursuant to Section 6051
or 6201 of the Revenue and Taxation Code that would have
otherwise been deposited in the State Treasury to the credit of the
Loca Revenue Fund 2011 pursuant to Section 6051.15 or 6201.15
of the Revenue and Taxation Code.

(b) For the purposes of complying with subdivision (d) of
Section 36 of Article X111 of the California Constitution, no later
than June 30 of each fiscal year, beginning on June 30, 2020, the
Controller shal transfer the total dollar amount estimated in
subdivision (a) from the General Fund to the Local Revenue Fund
2011.

SEC. 12. (a) It isthe intent of the Legislature to apply the
reguirements of Section 41 of the Revenue and Taxation Code to
this act.

(b) With respect to Section 6363.9 of the Revenue and Taxation
Code, as added by this act, the Legidature finds and declares the
following:

(1) The specific goals, purposes, and objectives of this act are
to promote public health by increasing the affordability of, and
expanding access to, diapers.

(2) (A) To measure the goals set forth in paragraph (1), the
Legidative Analyst’s Office shall review the effectiveness of the
tax exemption and may request information from the California
Department of Tax and Fee Administration and any other relevant
state government entity.

(B) On or before January 1, 2021, the Legidlative Analyst’s
Office shall submit areport, in compliance with Section 9795 of
the Government Code, of the review completed pursuant to
subparagraph (A) to the Assembly Committee on Revenue and
Taxation and to the Senate Governance and Finance Committee.
Thereport shall include, but isnot limited to, both of thefollowing:

(i) A recommendation on whether the exemption should be
modified, extended, or allowed to become inoperative.
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(i) An assessment on whether more targeted approaches to
providing families in need with adequate access to diapers are
available.

(c) With respect to Section 6363.10 of the Revenue and Taxation
Code, as added by this act, the Legidature finds and declares the
following:

(1) The specific goals, purposes, and objectives of this act are
to promote public health by increasing the affordability of, and
expanding access to, menstrua hygiene products.

(2) (A) To measure the goals set forth in paragraph (1), the
Legidative Analyst’s Office shall review the effectiveness of the
tax exemption and may request information from the California
Department of Tax and Fee Administration and any other relevant
state government entity.

(B) On or before January 1, 2021, the Legidative Analyst’s
Office shall submit areport, in compliance with Section 9795 of
the Government Code, of the review completed pursuant to
subparagraph (A) to the Assembly Committee on Revenue and
Taxation and to the Senate Governance and Finance Committee.
Thereport shall include, but isnot limited to, both of thefollowing:

(i) A recommendation on whether the exemption should be
modified, extended, or allowed to become inoperative.

(i) An assessment on whether more targeted approaches to
providing individuals in need with adequate access to menstrual
hygiene products are available.

SEC. 13. TheLegidature hereby findsand declaresthat limiting
thetime period for which adeficiency determination may beissued
to aqualified retailer and eliminating related penalties, by adding
Section 6487.07 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, promotes
compliance and accel erates revenue from businesses that may not
have been aware of their tax collection duties and thus serves a
public purpose and does not constitute agift of public fundswithin
the meaning of Section 6 of Article XVI of the California
Constitution.

SEC. 14. Notwithstanding Section 2230 of the Revenue and
Taxation Code, no appropriation is made by this act for the
purposes of Section 2230 of the Revenue and Taxation Code and
the state shall not reimburse any local agency for any sales and
use tax revenues lost by it under Sections 7 and 8 of this act.
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SEC. 15. Thisactisabill providing for appropriations related
to the Budget Bill within the meaning of subdivision (e) of Section
12 of Article1V of the California Constitution, has been identified
as related to the budget in the Budget Bill, and shall take effect
immediately.
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