

To: Commission

From: Greg Matson, Executive Director

Date: July 29, 2020

Subject: FY 2020 Executive Committee Annual Report

The Executive Committee met five times during the period July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020:

• August 8, 2019, in Boise, Idaho;

- November 7, 2019, in San Antonio;
- January 15, 2020 via teleconference;
- April 23, 2020, via teleconference
- June 24, 2020, via teleconference;

The committee provided oversight and direction to the activities of the Commission throughout the fiscal year.

The following members of the Commission were elected to serve as Commission officers and members of the Executive Committee for fiscal year 2020:

- Chair: Keith Richardson, Deputy CFO for Tax and Revenue, District of Columbia Office of Tax and Revenue
- Vice Chair Nia Ray, Director, Oregon Department of Revenue
- Treasurer: Glenn Hegar, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts
- At-large members:

Walter Anger, Deputy Director and Commissioner of Revenues, Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration;

Vernon Barnett, Alabama Commissioner of Revenue;

Vikki Smith, Director, Washington Department of Revenue; and

Gene Walborn, Director, Montana Department of Revenue.

When Walter Anger retired from the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration in September, the chair appointed Stephanie Schardin Clarke, Secretary of Taxation and Revenue, New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department to serve as an at-large member for the unexpired term. The Executive Committee approved this appointment at its meeting in November.

Nia Ray left the Oregon Department of Revenue in May; the chair elected to leave the position vacant for the short period of time until new officers would be elected in July. The Executive Committee took the following actions during fiscal year 2020:

- Engaged in a discussion with the direct marketing industry on use tax collection issues.
- Approved the audited financial statements as reported in an independent auditor report for the years ended June 30, 2018, and 2019.
- Approved updates to the MTC's mission, vision, values, and goals
- Approved the following recommended bylaw changes:
 - Bylaw 5 (Amending voting requirements and voting procedures, clarifying quorum requirements, and making technical and conforming changes)
 - o Bylaws 3, 4, 6, 7, and 13 (Technical and conforming changes related to the Bylaw 5 amendments)
- Approved a proposed fiscal year 2020-2021 budget for the Commission.
- Approved a resolution changing the recordkeeper for the Commission's defined contribution and deferred compensation plans.
- Approved that the draft amendments to the Commission's Model Statute for Combined Reporting, *Finnigan* Method Option, proceed to public hearing.
- Approved that draft revisions to the Statement of Information Concerning Practices of Multistate Tax Commission and Signatory States Under Public Law 86–272 proceed to public hearing.
- Approved a recommended change to Bylaw 5 (Clarifies quorum requirements for Commission meetings; permits the annual meeting of the Commission to be exclusively held by telephone, videoconference, or similar technological means; and when determining a quorum, physical presence is not required when the annual meeting is held in such manner).
- Directed that the Commission's 2020 annual meeting be held by telephone, videoconference, or similar technological means on Wednesday, July 29.
- Reviewed and approved the Treasurer's financial reports during regular meetings of the committee.
- Reviewed the efforts and work of the Commission's standing committees during regular meetings of the committee.

The Executive Committee undertook additional actions during fiscal year 2020 that are recorded in the minutes of its meetings.