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Economic nexus statutes

Threshold >$100,000 in sales/yr or 200 transactions/yr:
Hawaii, Maine, Vermont (SST)– eff. 7/1/18 
Illinois, Indiana (SST), Kentucky (SST), Maryland, Wisconsin 
(SST)—eff. 10/1/18 
New Jersey (SST), North Carolina (SST), South Dakota (SST)—eff. 
11/1/18
DC, Nebraska (SST), Utah (SST), West Virginia (SST)—eff. 1/1/19
Wyoming (SST)—eff. 2/1/19
Arkansas (SST), Virginia, Rhode Island (SST)--eff. 7/1/19
Ohio (SST)—eff. 8/1/19
Minnesota (SST)—eff. 10/1/19
Georgia (SST)—eff. 1/1/20 (>$250,000 sales/200 transactions 
threshold from 4/28/19 thru 12/31/19)
Louisiana HB 547--eff. NLT 7/1/20
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Economic nexus statutes (continued)

Threshold >$500,000 sales/yr:
New York—eff. 6/21/18 (in prior 4 quarters and 100 transactions)

California—eff. 4/1/19

Texas—eff. 10/1/19

Threshold >$200,000 sales/yr.:
Arizona—eff. 10/1/19 ($150,000 for 2020, $100,000 for 2021)

Threshold $100,000 and 200 transactions/yr:
Connecticut—eff. 7/1/19; $250,000 and 200 transactions/yr eff. 12/1/18 thru 6/30/19

Threshold >$100,000 sales/yr:
South Carolina—eff. 11/1/18

North Dakota (SST)—eff. 1/1/19

Washington (SST)—eff. 3/18/19

Colorado, Idaho—eff. 6/1/19

Iowa (SST), New Mexico, Pennsylvania—eff. 7/1/19

Massachusetts—eff. 10/1/19

Oklahoma (SST)—eff. 11/1/19

Economic nexus by regulation/ruling and 
notice

Threshold $500,000 sales/yr:

• Tennessee reg (Assoc. M.-SST); HB 667 enacted, legislative 
approval of reg, eff. 7/1/19; Tennessee DOR Notice 19-04 
requires collection eff. 10/1/19

Threshold >$250,000 sales/yr:

• Alabama reg eff. 10/1/18

• Mississippi reg eff. 9/1/18

Threshold >$100,000 sales or 200 transactions/yr:

• Michigan Bulletin 2018-16 eff. 10/1/18 (SST)

Other

• Kansas eff. 10/1/19 (SST) (no threshold stated in Notice 19-04)



8/2/2019

3

Sales tax 
states not yet 

providing 
Wayfair

guidance

Florida: SB 1112 introduced, economic nexus 
(>$100,000 sales/200 transactions/yr)

Missouri: HB 548 (simplified sales tax 
remittance program), HB 648 (require 
payment processors to collect), HB 724 (join 
SSUTA), SB 50 (simplified sales tax remittance 
program), SB 46 (join SSUTA, implement 
Wayfair) introduced. SB 46, 50 passed S. W & 
M Com. 2/12/19, SB 189  passed S. Com. 
3/13/19 (economic nexus >$100,000 
sales/200 transactions/yr)

Colorado-
style notice 
and reporting 
laws

CO, GA, KY-(notice only), LA, MN, OK, 
PA, RI, TN-(notice only), VT, WA

2019 Legislation to eliminate 
notice/reporting option and require 
remote seller collection:

• Georgia: HB 182 enacted, collect if sales 
>$100,000 sales/200 trans/yr eff. 1/1/20

• Kentucky: HB 354 CCR enacted, collect if 
sales>$100,000 sales/200 trans/yr eff. 11/1/19

• Oklahoma: SB 513 enacted, collect if 
sales>$100,000/yr

• Pennsylvania: HB 262 enacted, collect if 
sales>$100,000/yr

• Rhode Island: S. 251 Sub A, H. 5278 Sub A 
enacted, collect if sales >$100,000/200 trans./yr

• Washington: SB 5581 enacted, collect if 
sales>$100,000/yr
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Home Rule 
Local Sales 
Taxes

Colorado SB 19-006 enacted, providing for 
centralized electronic filing system for local 
sales/use taxes, creating Sales and Use Tax 
Simplification Task Force; HB19-1240 enacted, 
includes destination sourcing with small seller 
exception; only voluntary compliance in “home 
rule” jurisdictions so far

Louisiana SB 57 introduced, proposing 
constitutional amendment authorizing centralized 
collection of local sales taxes; HB 547 enacted, 
authorizing Sales and Use Tax Commission enf. 
date for remote seller collection NLT 7/1/20

Alabama Simplified Sellers Use Tax System—
centralized filing and flat combined 8% rate for 
remote sellers

Texas HB 2153—remote seller can opt to use 
1.75% local rate (adjusted annually)

Streamlined 
Sales Tax

Although no additional states have joined 
the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax 
Agreement since Wayfair, Connecticut, 
Illinois, New Mexico and Pennsylvania have 
recently authorized use of Certified Service 
Providers. 

The SST Governing Board is working to 
adopt policies to encourage non-SST states 
to use its centralized registration and 
simplified electronic return system.
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Click-through 
nexus states

AR CA CO CT GA ID IL KS LA ME MI MN MO NC NV NY 
OH PA RI TN VT WA

Various thresholds (most use $10,000 or more in annual 
sales to customers in the state, $100,000 in CT)

California: AB 147 enacted, implementing economic 
nexus eff. 4/1/19 for sales >$500,000/yr.

Idaho: HB 259 enacted, implementing economic nexus 
eff. 6/1/19 for sales >$100,000/yr.

Washington: SB 5581 enacted, repeals Washington’s 
“click-thru nexus” provision

Ohio: HB 166 enacted, repeals Ohio’s “click-thru nexus” 
provision

Cookie nexus

Massachusetts Reg 830 CMR 64 H.1.7 >$500,000 sales 
and 100 transactions/yr. threshold eff. 10/1/17; challenge 
pending in Virginia Circuit Court (Crutchfield Corp. v. 
Harding, No. CL 1700145-00); H. 4000 replaced with 
statutory economic nexus >$100,000 sales/yr. eff. 
10/1/19

Ohio Rev. Code § 5741.01(I)(2)(i) >$500,000 sales 
threshold; HB 166 repealed eff. 8/1/19

Iowa S. F. 2417 >$100,000/yr. sales or 200 trans./yr. eff. 
1/1/19; >$100,000 sales/yr. eff. 7/1/19

Rhode Island H5175A collect or report if >$100,000 
sales/yr or 200 trans, eff. 8/17/17
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Proposed legislation

Alaska
Hawaii
District of Columbia

Marketplace collection requirement

Marketplace Collection Requirements… So far

Collect-or-report

No Sales Tax

Sales >$10,000/yr

Policy/Lawsuit and Proposed legislation

State policy pending

As of July 23, 2019

Marketplace 
facilitator as 

collector/reporter 
laws

Enacted in 2017:

• Minnesota (HF 1 news release published 
7/25/18--collect eff. 10/1/18 if place of 
business in MN; HF 5 enacted 
mandating collection 
sales>$100,000/200 trans/yr. eff. 
10/1/19)

• Pennsylvania (HB 542 collect or report if 
sales >$10,000/yr; Bulletin 2019-01, 
mandatory collection for sales >$100,000/yr. 
eff. 7/1/19; 2019 HB 262 codified)

• Rhode Island (H5175A collect or report if 
sales/yr >$100,000/200 trans eff. 8/17/17; 
2019 H. 5278 Sub A and S. 251 Sub A 
enacted, removing reporting requirements 
and requiring collection)

• Washington (HB 2163 collect eff. 1/1/18; 
2019 HB 5581 enacted, repealing 
notice/reporting eff. 7/1/19)
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Marketplace 
facilitator as 

collector/reporter 
laws 

Enacted in 2018 pre-Wayfair:

• Alabama (HB 470 collect if sales/yr
>$250,000 or report eff. 1/1/19)

• Connecticut (SB 417 collect/referrer 
report if sales/yr >$250,000 + 200 trans 
eff. 12/1/18; HB 7424 $100,000 + 200 
trans eff. 7/1/19)

• Iowa (SF 2417 collect/referrer report if 
sales/yr >$100,000/200 trans eff.  
1/1/19; >$100,000 eff. 7/1/19)

• Oklahoma (HB 1019XX collect if sales/yr
>$10,000 or report eff. 7/1/18)

Marketplace facilitator as collector laws

Enacted in 2018 post-Wayfair:

South Dakota (SB 2 collect if sales/yr >$100,000/200 trans eff. 3/1/19)

New Jersey (A. 4496 collect if sales/yr >$100,000/200 trans eff. 11/1/18)

DC (B22-1070 collect eff. 4/1/19)

Enacted in 2019:

Nebraska (LB 284) eff. 4/1/19

South Carolina (SB 214) eff. 4/26/19

Idaho (HB 259) New York (S. 1509, part G) Vermont (HB 536) eff. 6/1/19

Arkansas (SB 576, including OTC collection) Indiana (HB 1001) Kentucky (HB 354) New 
Mexico (HB 6) Pennsylvania (HB 262) Rhode Island (H. 5278 Sub A, S. 251 Sub A) Virginia
(HB 1722, SB 1083) West Virginia (HB 2813)  Wyoming (HB 69) eff. 7/1/19

Ohio (HB 166) eff. 8/1/19

Arizona (HB 2757) California (AB 147) Colorado (HB 19-1240) Maine (LD 1452/ HP 1064) 
Maryland (HB 1301) Massachusetts (H 4000) Nevada (AB 445) North Dakota (SB 2338) 
Texas (HB 1525) Utah (SB 168) Wisconsin (AB 251) eff. 10/1/19

Hawaii (SB 396/SD 1) Illinois (SB 689) eff. 1/1/20
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Marketplace facilitator as collector litigation

Louisiana (Normand v. Wal-Mart.com litigation re obligation of 
marketplace facilitator to collect at parrish level as “dealer;” Wal-
Mart’s petition for review to Louisiana S. Ct. granted, oral argument 
9/4/19)

South Carolina (Amazon litigation pending—trial held Feb. 4-8, 2019; 
SC DOR considers marketplace to be the retailer; ruling #18-14 
requiring collection if sales/yr >$100,000 effective 11/1/18; SB 214 
enacted)

State Agency Opinions/Policies:
Tennessee A. G. Op. No. 19-03 (3/12/19): department authorized to 
promulgate regs to require in-state marketplace facilitators to collect 
as “dealers”

2019 pending 
marketplace 
facilitator as 

collector bills

Michigan: HB 4540, 4541, 4542, 4543 referred 
to House W&M comm. 6/19/19

North Carolina: budget compromise HB 966 
vetoed by governor, new compromise pending


