
          
 MULTISTATE TAX COMMISSION 
Maximizing the synergies of multi-state tax cooperation 
 
  

 
To:  MTC Uniformity Committee  
  
From:  Sheldon H. Laskin, Counsel  
 
Date:  March 3, 2017  

 
Subject:  MTC Use Tax Notice and Reporting Project 
  

 

The purpose of this memo is to update the Committee on relevant developments since the 
Committee put the MTC Use Tax Notice and Reporting project on hold, pending a decision in the 
Direct Marketing Association case. That case has now been decided. In Direct Marketing Ass’n. v. 
Brohl, 814 F.3d 1129 (CA 10 2016), the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit ruled 
that Colorado’s use tax notice and reporting statute for noncollecting retailers does not violate the 
Commerce Clause. Subsequently, the State of Colorado and DMA entered into a settlement 
agreement, pursuant to which members of the DMA will begin complying with Colorado’s use tax 
notice and reporting statute, effective July 1, 2017.  
 
1. Status of use tax notice statutes 
 
A number of states have enacted use tax notice statutes, pursuant to which noncollecting retailers or 
vendors are required to notify their customers of the obligation to pay use tax in their state. The 
statutes are attached to this memo. 
 
Oklahoma – As of July 1, 2010, Oklahoma has required out of state retailers who are not required to 
collect Oklahoma use tax to notify their Oklahoma customers that use tax is imposed on the 
Oklahoma use of tangible personal property, unless the property is otherwise exempt. The 
notification must be provided on the retailer’s website or retail catalog and on any invoices provided 
to the customers. 68 Okl.St.Ann §1406.1. By regulation, the Oklahoma Tax Commission has set de 
minimis sales thresholds for exempt noncollecting retailers. Any noncollecting retailer or online 
auction website with less than $100,000 in total gross sales in Oklahoma during the prior year and 
who reasonably expects Oklahoma gross sales of less than $100,000 in the current year is exempt 
from the notice and reporting requirements. Furthermore, the regulation requires the notice to 
contain the same disclosures as does the South Dakota statute, infra. OAC 710:65-21-8(a) and (b) 
(1), copy attached. 
 
South Dakota – Effective in 2011, South Dakota requires a notice be provided by each noncollecting 
retailer to South Dakota purchasers of tangible personal property, services or products transferred 
electronically that use tax is due on nonexempt purchases and that the tax shall be paid by the South 
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Dakota purchaser. The notice must inform the purchaser that; (1) the noncollecting retailer is not 
required, and does not collect South Dakota sales or use tax, (2) the purchase is subject to state use 
tax unless it is specifically exempt, (3) the purchase is not exempt merely because the purchase is 
made over the Internet, by catalog, or by other remote means, (4) the state requires each South 
Dakota purchaser to report any purchase that was not taxed and pay tax on the purchase, as 
reported and paid on the South Dakota use tax form, and (5) the use tax form and instructions are 
available on the South Dakota Department of Revenue website. SDCL §10-63-2.  
 
Vermont – Vermont’s use tax notice law requires each noncollecting vendor making sales into 
Vermont to notify Vermont purchasers at the time of sale that sales or use tax is due on nonexempt 
purchases and that Vermont requires the purchaser to pay the tax due on his or her tax return. 
Failure to provide the notice is subject to a penalty of $5 for each such failure, subject to a 
reasonable cause defense. In addition, on or before January 31 of each year any noncollecting 
vendor is to provide an annual notice of the total amount paid by each Vermont purchaser in the 
previous calendar year. The annual notice is to be provided to all Vermont purchasers who have 
made $500 or more of purchases in the preceding calendar year. The notice is to be sent separately 
to all Vermont purchasers by first-class mail or electronic mail and is not to be included with any 
other shipments. The notice must include the words “Important Tax Document Enclosed” on the 
exterior of the mailing. The notice must advise the purchaser that the State requires that the 
purchaser file a return and pay any tax that is due.  Failure to supply the annual notice is subject to a 
$10 penalty for each such failure, subject to a reasonable cause defense. The Vermont statute takes 
effect July 1, 2017 or on the first day of the first quarter after the Colorado sales and use tax 
reporting requirements at issue in DMA are implemented by Colorado, whichever first occurs. 32 
V.S.A. §9712.  
  
2. Currently pending bills 
 
Copies of all bills described here are attached to this memo. 
 
Pennsylvania – On February 17, 2017, Representatives Thomas and D. Costa introduced House Bill 
542 in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives. HB 542 requires all sellers, whether located in 
Pennsylvania or elsewhere, to provide a specific notice to all purchasers in Pennsylvania upon each 
separate retail sale of tangible personal property or services via a website operated by the seller. The 
notice is to read: “Unless you paid Pennsylvania sales tax on this purchase, you may owe a 
Pennsylvania use tax on this purchase based on the total sales price of the purchase … If you owe a 
Pennsylvania use tax on this purchase, you must report and remit the tax on your Pennsylvania 
income tax form.” Failure to provide the notice is subject to a fine of not less than $5 for each sale 
in which the seller failed to provide notice. 
 
Kansas, Arkansas and Washington – Bills are currently pending in each state that would require 
noncollecting retailers to provide transactional and annual reports to each purchaser in the state that 
are similar to the requirements of the Colorado statute. In addition, these bills also provide for 
annual reports to the state revenue department that are similar to the reports required in Colorado. 
The Kansas bill provides an exclusion for purchases or rentals of VHS tapes, DVDs, Blu-ray disks 
or other video materials to the extent that disclosure of the purchasers of such items would violate 
18 U.S.C. §2710 (Wrongful disclosure of video tape rental or sale records). Kansas Senate Bill no. 
111 (2017); Arkansas House Bill 1388 (2017); Washington Senate Bills 5855, 5856 (2017).  
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3. MTC Model Sales and Use Tax Notice and Reporting Statute 
 
The MTC Model went to public hearing in 2011. A copy of the Hearing Officer Report is attached.  
Although the Hearing Officer recommended that the model be adopted, the model received only 
eight of the nine affirmative responses that would be required for adoption. It was referred back to 
the executive committee for further consideration. At its December 2011 meeting, the executive 
committee considered the proposal and requested that the uniformity committee recommend 
minimum threshold amounts for the exceptions in (d)(1) and (d)(2) of the proposal. On February 
21, 2012, the uniformity committee recommended a revised version of the model that incorporated 
minimum thresholds. At its next meeting, on May 10, 2012, the executive committee suspended 
further consideration of the model pending the resolution of the DMA litigation. As the 10th Circuit 
has now sustained the constitutionality of the Colorado statute, it is appropriate for the committee 
to consider the model at this time.  
 
Staff has reviewed the model and, with one possible addition, has concluded that the model could be 
adopted in its current form. The suggested addition is because, as a model, it is possible that it could 
be adopted in multiple states. It might be appropriate therefore to consider whether some provision 
should be added to clarify where a noncollecting retailer should make the required reports if it is 
unclear where the purchased property will be used.  Noncollecting retailers may not have 
implemented systems to “source” the sale since they aren’t collecting and remitting tax.  One 
example of a potentially unclear transaction is a purchase of a gift item, for delivery into the state of 
the gift recipient rather than to the purchaser’s state. It might be unclear from the seller’s records 
where the transaction is properly reportable because there would be a discrepancy between the 
purchaser’s billing address and the delivery address.  
 
It is perhaps less important to correctly “source” the transaction for reporting purposes than it 
would be if the proper determination of tax liability were the issue. Nevertheless, to the extent the 
model is widely adopted, it would “facilitate taxpayer convenience and compliance” (Compact, 
Article I) to provide some guidance to noncollecting sellers as to where they should file the reports 
in doubtful cases.  
 
In the vast majority of cases, it is likely that the delivery address and billing address for consumer 
purchases is identical. Therefore, staff believes requiring the reports to be filed with the state to 
which the transaction is billed will capture the correct state of use in most cases. The determination 
of whether a particular transaction has been correctly sourced can probably be deferred until and 
unless there is an assessment of tax. 
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CHAPTER 65.  SALES AND USE TAX 
 

SUBCHAPTER 21.  USE TAX 
 
710:65-21-8. Out-of-state retailers or vendors not registered in Oklahoma 
(a)  Definitions.  For the purposes of this Section: 

(1)  "Non-collecting retailer" means a retailer, not currently registered to collect and remit 
Oklahoma sales and use tax, who makes sales of tangible personal property from a place of 
business outside of Oklahoma to be shipped to Oklahoma for use and who is not required to 
collect Oklahoma sales or use taxes. 
(2)  "Oklahoma purchaser" means a purchaser that requests goods be shipped to Oklahoma. 
(3)  "Online auction website" means a collection of web pages on the Internet that allows 
persons to display tangible personal property for sale which is purchased through a 
competitive process where participants place bids with the highest bidder purchasing the item 
when the bidding period ends. 
(4)  "De minimis retailer" means any non-collecting retailer that made total gross sales in 
Oklahoma in the prior year of less than $100,000.00 and reasonably expects Oklahoma sales 
in the current year will be less than $100,000.00. 
(5)  "De minimis online auction website" means any online auction website that facilitates 
total gross sales in Oklahoma in the prior year of less than $100,000.00 and reasonably 
expects Oklahoma sales in the current year will be less than $100,000.00. 

(b)  Requirements for notice.  Effective October 1, 2010, every non-collecting retailer must 
give notice that Oklahoma use tax is due on nonexempt purchases of tangible personal property 
and should be paid by the Oklahoma purchaser. 
 (1)  Notice contents.  The notice must be readily visible and contain the information set forth 

as follows: 
(A)  The non-collecting retailer is not required, and does not collect Oklahoma sales or 
use tax; 
(B)  The purchase is subject to Oklahoma use tax unless it is specifically exempt from 
taxation; 
(C)  The purchase is not exempt merely because it is made over the Internet, by catalog, 
or by other remote means; 
(D)  The State of Oklahoma requires Oklahoma purchasers to report all purchases that 
were not taxed and pay tax on those purchases.  The tax may be reported and paid on the 
Oklahoma individual income tax return [Form 511] or by filing a consumer use tax 
return. [Form 21-1]; and 
(E)  The referenced forms and corresponding instructions are available on the Oklahoma 
Tax Commission website, www.tax.ok.gov. 

(2)  Website and/or catalog notice.  Notice on a website shall occur on a page necessary to 
facilitate the applicable transaction.  It shall be sufficient if the non-collecting retailer 
provides a prominent linking notice that reads as follows:  "See important Oklahoma sales 
tax information regarding the tax you may owe directly to the state of Oklahoma", if such 
linking notice directs the purchaser to the principal notice required by this Section.  Notice in 
a catalog shall be part of the order form.  It shall be sufficient if the non-collecting retailer 
provides a prominent reference to a supplemental page that reads as follows:  "See important 
Oklahoma sales tax information regarding the tax you may owe directly to the state of 
Oklahoma on page __", if such page includes the principal notice required by this Section. 
(3)  Invoice notice.  For internet purchases, the invoice notice must occur on the electronic 
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order confirmation.  It shall be sufficient if the non-collecting retailer provides a prominent 
linking notice that reads as follows:  "See important Oklahoma sales tax information 
regarding the tax you may owe directly to the state of Oklahoma", if such linking notice 
directs the purchaser to the principal notice required by this Section.  If the non-collecting 
retailer does not issue an electronic order confirmation, the complete notice must be placed 
on the purchase order, bill, receipt, sales slip, order form, or packing statement.  For catalog 
purchases, the complete notice must be placed on the purchase order, bill, receipt, sales slip, 
order form, or packing statement.  
(4)  Exceptions.   

(A)  For internet purchases, notice on the check-out page fulfills both the website and 
invoice notice requirements simultaneously. It shall be sufficient if the non-collecting 
retailer provides a prominent linking notice that reads as follows:  "See important 
Oklahoma sales tax information regarding the tax you may owe directly to the state of 
Oklahoma", if such linking notice directs the purchaser to the principal notice required by 
this Section.   
(B)  If a retailer is required to provide a similar notice for another state in addition to 
Oklahoma, the retailer may provide a consolidated notice so long as such notice includes 
the information contained in (b) of this Section, specifically references Oklahoma and 
meets the placement requirements of this Section. 

(c)  Prohibition from advertising no tax due.  A non-collecting retailer may not state or display 
or imply that no tax is due on any Oklahoma purchase unless such display is accompanied by the 
notice required by (b) of this Section each time the display appears. 

(1) For example, a summary of the transaction including a line designated "sales tax" and 
showing the amount of sales tax as "zero" or  "0.00" would constitute a "display" implying 
that no tax is due on the purchase.  Such a display must be accompanied by the notice 
required by (b) of this Section every time it appears. 
(2) Notwithstanding the limitation in this subsection, if a non-collecting retailer knows that a 
purchase is exempt from Oklahoma tax pursuant to Oklahoma law, the non-collecting retailer 
may display or indicate that no sales tax is due even if such display is not accompanied by 
the notice required by (b) of this Section.    

(d)  Invoice notification exception for online auction websites.  With the exception of 
notification on invoices, the provisions of this Section shall apply to online auction websites as 
defined in (a) of this Section. 
(e)  De minimis exception.  A de minimis retailer and a de minimis online auction website, as 
defined in (a) of this Section, shall be exempt from the notice requirements in (b) of this Section. 
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THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE BILL 
No. 542 Session of 

2017 

INTRODUCED BY THOMAS AND D. COSTA, FEBRUARY 17, 2017 

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON FINANCE, FEBRUARY 17, 2017 

AN ACT
Amending the act of March 4, 1971 (P.L.6, No.2), entitled "An 

act relating to tax reform and State taxation by codifying 
and enumerating certain subjects of taxation and imposing 
taxes thereon; providing procedures for the payment, 
collection, administration and enforcement thereof; providing 
for tax credits in certain cases; conferring powers and 
imposing duties upon the Department of Revenue, certain 
employers, fiduciaries, individuals, persons, corporations 
and other entities; prescribing crimes, offenses and 
penalties," in sales and use tax, providing for remote sales 
tax notice.
The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania 

hereby enacts as follows:
Section 1.  The act of March 4, 1971 (P.L.6, No.2), known as 

the Tax Reform Code of 1971, is amended by adding a section to 
read:

Section 279.  Remote Sales Tax Notice.--(a)  A seller in this 
Commonwealth or remote seller shall conspicuously provide the 
following notice to a purchaser in this Commonwealth upon each 
separate sale at retail of tangible personal property or 
services via an Internet website operated by the seller or 
remote seller:

"Unless you paid Pennsylvania sales tax on this purchase, 
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you may owe a Pennsylvania use tax on this purchase based 
on the total sales price of the purchase in accordance 
with the act of March 4, 1971 (P.L.6, No.2), known as the 
Tax Reform Code of 1971.   Visit www.revenue.state.pa.us   
for more information. If you owe a Pennsylvania use tax 
on this purchase, you must report and remit the tax on 
your Pennsylvania income tax form."

(b)  The department shall impose a fine of not less than five 
dollars ($5) on a seller or remote seller for each sale in which 
the seller or remote seller is in violation of this section.

(c)  This section shall apply to sales made on or after the 
effective date of this section.

Section 2.  This act shall take effect in 60 days.
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Session of 2017

SENATE BILL No. 111

By Committee on Assessment and Taxation

1-31

AN ACT concerning sales and use taxation; relating to the administration 
thereof; required notices and reports.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:
Section 1. As used in sections 1 through 6, and amendments thereto:
(a) "Director" means the state director of taxation.
(b) "Kansas purchase" means:
(1) In the case of goods that are shipped, a Kansas purchase is one 

that is shipped into Kansas;
(2) with respect to sales of goods that are downloaded or otherwise 

delivered electronically:
(A) If  the  purchaser  provides  a  "bill  to"  address,  then  a  Kansas 

purchase is one for which the "bill to" address is in Kansas; or
(B) if the  purchaser  does  not  provide a  "bill  to"  address,  then the 

retailer that does not collect Kansas sales tax shall determine whether a 
purchaser  is  in Kansas,  and is  therefore a Kansas  purchaser,  using any 
other  commercially reasonable method based  on the business's  existing 
billing, customer-tracking or other systems.

A "Kansas purchase" shall not include any purchases or rentals of VHS 
tapes,  DVDs,  blu-ray  disks  or  other  video  materials  to  the  extent  that 
disclosure of the purchasers of such items would violate 18 U.S.C. § 2710.

(c) "Kansas purchaser" means:
(1) With  respect  to  sales  of  goods  that  are  shipped,  a  Kansas 

purchaser is a purchaser that requests the goods be shipped into Kansas. If 
a purchase is made by one party, who may be inside or outside of Kansas, 
and shipped to a party in Kansas, the Kansas purchaser is the purchaser of 
the goods, not the recipient of the goods; or

(2) with respect to sales of goods that are downloaded or otherwise 
delivered electronically:

(A) If  the  purchaser  provides  a  "bill  to"  address,  then  a  Kansas 
purchaser is a purchaser whose "bill to" address is in Kansas; or

(B) if the  purchaser  does  not  provide a  "bill  to"  address,  then the 
retailer that does not collect Kansas sales tax shall determine whether a 
purchaser  is  in Kansas,  and is  therefore a Kansas  purchaser,  using any 
other  commercially reasonable method based on the business’s  existing 
billing, customer-tracking or other systems.
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(d)  (1) "Retailer  that  does  not  collect  Kansas  sales  tax"  means  a 
retailer  that  sells  goods to Kansas  purchasers  and that  does  not  collect 
Kansas sales or use tax. A retailer that does not collect Kansas sales tax 
includes a retailer that makes sales in Kansas both by means of download 
of  digital  goods  or  software  and  by  means  of  shipping  or  otherwise 
physically delivering goods to a Kansas purchaser.

(2) A "retailer  that  does  not  collect  Kansas  sales  tax"  does  not 
include:

(A) A  retailer  that  makes  sales  in  Kansas  solely  by  means  of 
download of digital goods or software; or

(B) a retailer  that  makes less than $100,000 in total  gross sales in 
Kansas in the prior calendar year and that reasonably expects total gross 
sales in Kansas in the current calendar year will be less than $100,000.

(e) "Secretary" means the secretary of revenue.
Sec. 2. A retailer that does not collect Kansas sales tax who makes 

sales to a Kansas purchaser shall maintain records and books of such sales 
in  the  same  manner  as  provided  in  K.S.A.  79-3609,  and  amendments 
thereto.  If  any  such  retailer  fails  to  voluntarily  furnish  any  of  the 
information  specified  in  K.S.A.  79-3609(a),  and  amendments  thereto, 
when requested by the director, or the director's duly authorized agents and 
employees, the director may issue subpoenas to compel access to or for the 
production of such books, papers, records, invoices or documents in the 
custody of or to which the retailer has access, or to compel the appearance 
of such retailer, and may issue interrogatories to any such retailer to the 
same extent  and  subject  to  the  same limitations  as  would apply if  the 
subpoena or interrogatories were issued or served in aid of a civil action in 
the district court. The director may administer oaths and take depositions 
to the same extent and subject to the same limitations as would apply if the 
deposition was in aid of a civil action in the district court. In case of the 
refusal of any retailer to comply with any subpoena or interrogatory or to 
testify to any matter which such person may be lawfully questioned, the 
district court of any county may, upon application of the director, order 
such retailer to comply with such subpoena or interrogatory or to testify. 
Failure  to  obey  the  court's  order  may  be  punished  by  the  court  as 
contempt. Subpoenas or interrogatories issued under the provisions of this 
section may be served upon individuals and corporations in the manner 
provided in K.S.A.  60-304, and amendments thereto,  for  the service of 
process by any officer authorized to serve subpoenas in civil actions or by 
the director.

Sec. 3. (a) (1) Each retailer that does not collect Kansas sales tax shall 
notify Kansas purchasers that sales or use tax is due on all purchases made 
from the retailer that are not exempt from sales tax and that the state of 
Kansas requires the purchaser to report use taxes due on their K-40 tax 
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form.  Such  notice  must  be  provided  with  respect  to  each  transaction 
between the retailer that does not collect Kansas sales tax and a Kansas 
purchaser. Such notice must be clearly legible, reasonably prominent and 
located in close proximity to the total price.  

(2) The notice required  by this  section shall  contain the  following 
information:

(A) A statement indicating that the retailer does not collect Kansas 
sales or use tax;

(B) the purchase is not exempt from Kansas sales or use tax merely 
because it is made over the internet or by other remote means; and

(C) the state of Kansas requires a Kansas purchaser to report the use 
tax due on such purchaser's K-40 tax form.

(3) Failure  to  provide  the  notice  required  by  subsection  (a)  shall 
subject the retailer to a penalty of $5 for each such failure. The director 
may waive all or a portion of such penalty for reasonable cause shown.

(b) (1) Each retailer that does not collect Kansas sales tax shall send 
an  annual  notice  to  all  Kansas  purchasers  by January 31 of  each  year 
summarizing  the  Kansas  purchases  of  a  Kansas  purchaser  for  the 
preceding calendar year. Such notice shall be sent separately to all Kansas 
purchasers  by  first-class  mail,  shall  include  the  words  "Important  Tax 
Document  Enclosed"  on  the  exterior  of  the  mailing  and  shall  not  be 
included with any other shipments.  

(2) The notice required by this subsection shall include the following 
information:

(A) The name of the retailer; 
(B) the  total  amount  paid  by  the  Kansas  purchaser  for  Kansas 

purchases  made  from  the  retailer  in  the  previous  calendar  year.  Such 
notification  shall  also  include,  if  available,  the  dates  of  purchase,  the 
amounts of each purchase and the category of the purchase, including, if 
known by the retailer, whether the purchase is exempt or not exempt from 
taxation;

(C) that the state of Kansas requires use taxes due to be reported on 
the K-40 tax form;

(D) that  the  retailer  is  required  by  law  to  provide  the  Kansas 
department of revenue with the total dollar amount of purchases made by 
the Kansas purchaser, however, no information about the purchase other 
than the dollar amount will be provided to the department; and

(E) any other information required by the director.
(3) If  the  retailer  is  required by another  state  to  provide a  similar 

notice, and the retailer provides a single such notice to all purchasers with 
respect to items purchased for delivery in all states, the notice required by 
subsection  (b)  shall  be  sufficient  if  it  contains  substantially  all  the 
information required in a form that is generalized to any state.
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(4) Any retailer that does not collect Kansas sales tax that is required 
to  send  an  annual  notice  to  Kansas  purchasers  as  required  by  this 
subsection  shall  not  be  required  to  send  the  notice  to  any de  minimis 
Kansas  purchaser.   A de  minimis  Kansas  purchaser  shall  be  a  Kansas 
purchaser whose total Kansas purchases for the prior calendar year are less 
than  $500.  Such  retailer  shall  make  commercially  reasonable  business 
efforts, based on the business's existing billing, customer-tracking or other 
systems, to identify multiple purchases made by a single Kansas purchaser.

(5) Failure  to  provide  the  notice  required  by  subsection  (b)  shall 
subject the retailer to a penalty of $10 for each such failure. The director 
may waive all or a portion of such penalty for reasonable cause shown.

Sec. 4. (a) On or before March 1 of each year, each retailer that does 
not  collect  Kansas  sales  tax  who is  required to  file  a  notice  under  the 
provisions of section 3(b), and amendments thereto, shall file an annual 
statement for each purchaser to the department of revenue on such forms 
as approved by the department. Such notice shall contain the following 
information:

(1) The name of each Kansas purchaser;
(2) the billing address of each Kansas purchaser, if the information 

was provided to the retailer;
(3) the shipping address of each Kansas purchaser, if the information 

was provided to the retailer; and
(4) the  total  amount  of  Kansas  purchases  made  by  each  Kansas 

purchaser during the prior calendar year. No other information about the 
purchase shall be provided.

(b) If the retailer has more than one Kansas billing address or more 
than one Kansas shipping address for a Kansas purchaser, then the retailer 
shall provide all such addresses of the Kansas purchaser.

(c) Any retailer who is not required to send any notices pursuant to 
the provisions of section 3(b)(4), and amendments thereto, shall also be 
exempt from the requirements to send the report required by this section.

(d) If  a  retailer  is  required  to  provide  any notices  pursuant  to  the 
provisions  of  section  3(b),  and  amendments  thereto,  then  such  retailer 
must include all the purchases made by all Kansas purchasers in its report, 
including  any  purchases  made  by  de  minimis  Kansas  purchasers  as 
determined under section 3(b)(4), and amendments thereto.

(e) Failure to file the notice required by this section shall subject the 
retailer to a penalty equal to $10 times the number of Kansas purchasers 
that should have been included in the report. The director may waive all or 
a portion of such penalty for reasonable cause shown.

Sec.  5. Any information obtained by the department of  revenue in 
connection  with  the  administration  of  sections  1  through  4,  and 
amendments thereto, shall be subject to the same confidentiality provisions 
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as set forth in K.S.A. 79-3614, and amendments thereto.
Sec. 6. The secretary may adopt any rules and regulations necessary 

to  administer  the  provisions  of  sections  1  through  5,  and  amendments 
thereto.

Sec. 7. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its 
publication in the statute book.
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MADE TO ARKANSAS PURCHASERS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES. 13 

 14 

 15 

Subtitle 16 

TO REQUIRE OUT-OF-STATE SELLERS AND 17 

FACILITATORS TO PROVIDE NOTICE TO 18 

ARKANSAS PURCHASERS REGARDING TAX DUE ON 19 

CERTAIN PURCHASES AND TO REPORT SALES 20 

MADE TO ARKANSAS PURCHASERS. 21 

 22 

 23 

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS: 24 

 25 

 SECTION 1.  Arkansas Code § 26-52-110(f), concerning referral 26 

agreements between sellers and affiliated persons and the notice required, is 27 

amended to read as follows: 28 

 (f)  A seller that does not have a physical presence in this state and 29 

does not collect Arkansas sales or use tax on sales made to Arkansas 30 

purchasers shall:  31 

  (1)(A)  Notify Arkansas purchasers at the time of purchase that 32 

sales or use tax is due on certain purchases made from the seller and that 33 

the State of Arkansas requires the purchaser to file a sales or use tax 34 

return.  35 

   (B)  A seller that fails to provide the notice required 36 

Doc 2017-31121
Page: 1 of 3



As Engrossed:  H1/31/17 H2/3/17 HB1388 

 

 2 01-24-2017 04:04:03 JLL139 

 

 

under this subdivision (f)(1) is subject to a penalty of five dollars ($5.00) 1 

for each failure to provide notice, unless the seller shows reasonable cause 2 

for the failure to provide notice; 3 

  (2)(A)  If a seller does not collect Arkansas sales or use tax, 4 

send notice to all Arkansas purchasers by January 31 of each year showing the 5 

total amount paid by the purchaser for Arkansas purchases made from the 6 

seller in the previous calendar year.   7 

   (B)  The notice required under this subdivision (f)(2) 8 

shall:  9 

    (i)  Include, if available, the date of each 10 

purchase, the amount of each purchase, and the category of each purchase, 11 

including without limitation whether the purchase is exempt from taxation; 12 

    (ii)  State that the State of Arkansas requires a 13 

sales or use tax return to be filed and sales or use tax paid on certain 14 

Arkansas purchases made by the purchaser from the seller; 15 

    (iii)  Be sent separately to each Arkansas purchaser 16 

through communication by electronic means or first-class mail; 17 

    (iv)  Not be included with any other shipment or 18 

electronic communication; and 19 

    (v)  Include the words important tax document 20 

enclosed” and the name of the seller on the exterior of the mailing or within 21 

the electronic communication. 22 

   (C)  A seller that fails to provide the notice required 23 

under this subdivision (f)(2) is subject to a penalty of ten dollars ($10.00) 24 

for each failure to provide notice, unless the seller shows reasonable cause 25 

for the failure to provide notice; and 26 

  (3)(A)  By March 1 of each year, file an annual report of sales 27 

to each Arkansas purchaser with the Director of the Department of Finance and 28 

Administration. 29 

   (B)  The report required under this subdivision (f)(3) 30 

shall include: 31 

    (i)  The name of the purchaser; 32 

    (ii)  The total amount paid by each purchaser to the 33 

seller during the immediately preceding calendar year; and 34 

    (iii)  Each delivery or shipping address provided by 35 

the purchaser to the seller.    36 
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   (C)  A seller that fails to provide the annual report 1 

required under this subdivision (f)(3) is subject to a penalty of ten dollars 2 

($10.00) for each purchaser that should have been included in the annual 3 

report, unless the seller shows reasonable cause for the failure to provide 4 

the report.  5 

 (g)  A seller is presumed to be engaged in the business of selling 6 

tangible personal property or taxable services for use in this state if the 7 

seller enters into an agreement with a facilitator to directly aid or assist 8 

the seller in making remote sales. 9 

 (h)  A facilitator shall:  10 

  (1)(A)  Notify: 11 

    (i)  Arkansas purchasers at the time of purchase that 12 

sales or use tax is due on certain purchases made from sellers and that the 13 

State of Arkansas requires the purchaser to file a sales or use tax return; 14 

and 15 

    (ii)  Sellers to Arkansas purchasers that sales or 16 

use tax is imposed on sales made to Arkansas purchasers. 17 

   (B)  A facilitator that fails to provide the notices 18 

required under this subdivision (h)(1) is subject to a penalty of five 19 

dollars ($5.00) for each failure to provide notice, unless the facilitator 20 

shows reasonable cause for the failure to provide notice. 21 

  (2)(A)  By March 1 each year, file an annual report of each 22 

seller to the director showing the total amount paid by Arkansas purchasers 23 

to the seller during the preceding calendar year. 24 

   (B)  A facilitator that fails to provide the annual report 25 

required under this subdivision (h)(2) is subject to a penalty of ten dollars 26 

($10.00) for each seller that should have been included in the annual report, 27 

unless the facilitator shows reasonable cause for the failure to provide the 28 

report.  29 

 (k)  The Director of the Department of Finance and Administration shall 30 

promulgate rules to implement this section. 31 

 32 

 SECTION 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  Section 1 of this act is effective on and 33 

after January 1, 2018. 34 

 35 

/s/D. Douglas 36 
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AN ACT Relating to adopting retail sale nexus standards to1
require retail sales tax collection by remote sellers selling into2
Washington; amending RCW 82.04.066, 82.04.067, 82.04.220, 82.08.050,3
82.08.052, 82.12.040, 82.32.762, and 82.32.045; adding new sections4
to chapter 82.08 RCW; adding new sections to chapter 82.32 RCW;5
adding a new chapter to Title 82 RCW; creating new sections;6
repealing RCW 82.04.424; prescribing penalties; providing an7
effective date; and declaring an emergency.8

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:9

Part I10
Findings and Intent11

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 101.  (1) The legislature finds that states12
fail to collect more than twenty-three billion dollars annually in13
sales taxes from remote sales over the internet and through14
catalogues. The legislature further finds that Washington and its15
local governments will lose out on an estimated three hundred fifty-16
three million dollars in sales and use taxes in fiscal year 2018 from17
remote sales, reducing funds that would otherwise be available for18
the public education system, health care services, infrastructure,19
and other vital public services.20

S-1825.1
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State of Washington 65th Legislature 2017 Regular Session
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(2) The legislature recognizes that states may not impose sales1
or use tax collection obligations on an out-of-state business unless2
the business has a substantial nexus with the taxing state. The3
legislature also recognizes that under the United States supreme4
court's decision in National Bellas Hess v. Dep't of Revenue of Ill.,5
386 U.S. 753 (1967), substantial nexus under the commerce clause6
requires a physical presence by the seller in the taxing state.7
Relying on the doctrine of stare decisis, the United States supreme8
court reaffirmed the physical presence nexus standard twenty-five9
years later in Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298 (1992).10

(3) The legislature further finds that the basis of the physical11
presence nexus standard was primarily justified by the complexity and12
burden on mail order sellers and other out-of-state sellers in13
complying with the sales tax laws in numerous jurisdictions at the14
state and local level all across the country. The legislature further15
finds that the supreme court's concerns underlying the Bellas Hess16
decision have been effectively addressed by advances in technology17
and simplified tax laws. For example, Washington and most other18
states with sales taxes allow or require electronic reporting and19
payment of the tax. Also, several states, including Washington, offer20
free online sales tax rate lookup tools. A number of private21
companies offer automated sales tax compliance solutions. In22
addition, sales tax laws have been simplified in many states,23
including Washington, through participation in the streamlined sales24
and use tax project and compliance with the streamlined sales and use25
tax agreement.26

(4) The legislature further finds that Bellas Hess was decided27
one year before the first plans were developed for the computer28
network that became the basis of the internet. The legislature29
further finds that since Quill was decided e-commerce has grown30
substantially, generating retail sales of over three hundred forty-31
one billion dollars in 2015, which have been growing at a rate of32
about fifteen percent for the last five years. The legislature33
further finds that like their brick and mortar competitors, online34
businesses receive benefits and opportunities provided by their35
market states, such as transportation networks, infrastructure, laws36
providing protection of business interests, access to the courts to37
protect valuable rights, and a regulated marketplace. However, the38
legislature finds that under the current physical presence nexus39
standard, online only sellers have an unfair competitive advantage40
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over in state brick and mortar stores to the detriment of main street1
retailers. Online only businesses have no geographical limitations to2
their marketplace; no costs of maintaining local physical retail3
stores, such as infrastructure costs, employee costs, and property4
taxes; and may not have to collect sales tax on sales to customers in5
states in which they do not have a physical presence, all of which6
lead to their ability to price their goods at a lower cost to7
consumers. The legislature further finds that even if the physical8
presence nexus standard was once a wise rule of law, it is no longer9
justifiable.10

(5) The legislature further finds that the supreme court in its11
Quill decision implicitly invited the United States congress to12
resolve whether and to what extent states may impose a sales tax13
collection obligation on remote sellers. The legislature further14
finds that there is overwhelming support among the public, states,15
and municipalities, and many national and local associations16
representing brick and mortar businesses for federal legislation17
requiring remote sellers to collect and remit retail sales tax. The18
legislature further finds that despite such broad-based support,19
congress has failed to enact such legislation.20

(6) The legislature agrees with Justice Kennedy's concurring21
opinion in the Direct Marketing Association v. Brohl decision (135 S.22
Ct. 1124) that the court's Quill holding is "inflicting extreme harm23
and unfairness on the States," and that "[t]here is a powerful case24
to be made that a retailer doing extensive business within a State25
has a sufficiently 'substantial nexus' to justify imposing some minor26
tax-collection duty, even if that business is done through mail or27
the Internet." Justice Kennedy stated that "it is unwise to delay any28
longer a reconsideration of the Court's holding in Quill," and he29
closed his opinion by inviting a direct challenge to Quill and Bellas30
Hess, saying that "[t]he legal system should find an appropriate case31
for this Court to reexamine Quill and Bellas Hess."32

(7) The legislature finds that because Washington is unique in33
that it relies so heavily on sales tax to fund education and other34
vital state services, and because Washington has frequently been at35
the forefront of advancing technology and tax policy, it is incumbent36
upon this state to lead the way to a more fair and equitable modern37
marketplace where online businesses and brick and mortar businesses38
can compete based on quality of products and other nontax factors,39
which benefits all consumers. The legislature recognizes that the40
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fast pace of technological change seen with the rapid growth of1
electronic commerce puts pressure on states to update their tax codes2
just as this state did (a) in 2007 in adopting Senate Bill No. 5089,3
which enacted significant simplifications in sales and use4
administration and brought Washington into full compliance with the5
streamlined sales and use tax agreement, (b) in 2009 in adopting6
Engrossed Substitute House Bill No. 2075 addressing the excise7
taxation of digital products, and (c) in 2010 in adopting economic8
nexus and market-based apportionment for business and occupation tax9
purposes in Second Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill No. 6143. The10
legislature finds that making such changes is not radical or to be11
unexpected, but is a rational means to avoid an ever shrinking tax12
base resulting from an outdated tax code that has not kept up with13
significant changes in technology and the economy.14

(8) The legislature finds that several states, including Alabama,15
South Dakota, and Tennessee have taken measures to adopt an "economic16
nexus" standard with respect to the collection of sales tax. The17
legislature further finds that other states are considering adopting18
similar rules or legislation.19

(9) The legislature also finds that Colorado adopted a law20
requiring out-of-state retailers that do not collect Colorado's sales21
tax to report tax-related information to their Colorado customers and22
the Colorado department of revenue. The legislature further finds23
that in 2016 the United States court of appeals for the tenth circuit24
upheld that law.25

(10) Therefore, the legislature intends by this act to address26
the significant harm and unfairness brought about by the physical27
presence nexus rule by testing the boundaries of the rule. This act28
also sets up a legal challenge to the physical presence nexus rule29
that could potentially lead to the United States supreme court30
reevaluating Bellas Hess and Quill or congress enacting legislation31
authorizing and establishing the requirements for states to impose a32
sales tax collection duty on remote sellers. To achieve these33
objectives, part II of this act establishes clear statutory34
guidelines for determining when sellers are required to collect35
Washington's sales tax. These guidelines clarify the extent of the36
traditional physical presence standard and also adopt an "economic37
nexus" standard under which a remote seller would establish a38
substantial nexus with this state solely by making a meaningful39
amount of sales into this state. Part II of this act also extends the40
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economic nexus standard for the business and occupation tax imposed1
on retail sales taxed under RCW 82.04.250(1) and 82.04.257(1). Part2
III of this act adopts a sales and use tax notice and reporting law3
based on the multistate tax commission's draft model sales and use4
tax notice reporting statute, which is similar to Colorado's sales5
and use tax notice reporting law.6

(11) The legislature recognizes that the enactment of part II of7
this act places remote sellers in a complicated position, precisely8
because existing constitutional doctrine calls certain provisions of9
part II of this act into question. Accordingly, the legislature10
intends to clarify that the obligations created by this law on11
sellers with a substantial nexus with this state under section12
206(1)(b) of this act would be appropriately stayed by the courts13
until the constitutionality of section 206(1)(b) of this act has been14
clearly established by a binding judgment, including, for example, a15
decision from the supreme court of the United States abrogating its16
existing doctrine, or a final judgment applicable to a particular17
taxpayer.18

(12) The legislature finds that the declaratory judgment action19
authorized in section 211 of this act is warranted by existing law,20
by good faith arguments for the extension, modification, or reversal21
of existing law, or the establishment of new law.22

Part II23
Nexus for Excise Tax Purposes24

Sec. 201.  RCW 82.04.066 and 2015 3rd sp.s. c 5 s 203 are each25
amended to read as follows:26

"Engaging within this state" and "engaging within the state,"27
when used in connection with any apportionable activity as defined in28
RCW 82.04.460 or ((wholesale sales)) selling activity taxable under29
RCW 82.04.250(1), 82.04.257(1), or 82.04.270, means that a person30
generates gross income of the business from sources within this31
state, such as customers or intangible property located in this32
state, regardless of whether the person is physically present in this33
state.34

Sec. 202.  RCW 82.04.067 and 2016 c 137 s 2 are each amended to35
read as follows:36
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(1) A person engaging in business is deemed to have substantial1
nexus with this state if, in the current or immediately preceding2
calendar year, the person is:3

(a) An individual and is a resident or domiciliary of this state;4
(b) A business entity and is organized or commercially domiciled5

in this state; or6
(c) A nonresident individual or a business entity that is7

organized or commercially domiciled outside this state, and ((in the8
immediately preceding tax year)) the person had:9

(i) More than ((fifty)) fifty-three thousand dollars of property10
in this state;11

(ii) More than ((fifty)) fifty-three thousand dollars of payroll12
in this state;13

(iii) More than two hundred ((fifty)) sixty-seven thousand14
dollars of receipts from this state; or15

(iv) At least twenty-five percent of the person's total property,16
total payroll, or total receipts in this state.17

(2)(a) Property counting toward the thresholds in subsection18
(1)(c)(i) and (iv) of this section is the average value of the19
taxpayer's property, including intangible property, owned or rented20
and used in this state during the current or immediately preceding21
((tax)) calendar year.22

(b)(i) Property owned by the taxpayer, other than loans and23
credit card receivables owned by the taxpayer, is valued at its24
original cost basis. Loans and credit card receivables owned by the25
taxpayer are valued at their outstanding principal balance, without26
regard to any reserve for bad debts. However, if a loan or credit27
card receivable is charged off in whole or in part for federal income28
tax purposes, the portion of the loan or credit card receivable29
charged off is deducted from the outstanding principal balance.30

(ii) Property rented by the taxpayer is valued at eight times the31
net annual rental rate. For purposes of this subsection, "net annual32
rental rate" means the annual rental rate paid by the taxpayer less33
any annual rental rate received by the taxpayer from subrentals.34

(c) The average value of property must be determined by averaging35
the values at the beginning and ending of the ((tax)) applicable36
calendar year; but the department may require the averaging of37
monthly values during the ((tax)) applicable calendar year if38
reasonably required to properly reflect the average value of the39
taxpayer's property.40
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(d)(i) For purposes of this subsection (2), loans and credit card1
receivables are deemed owned and used in this state as follows:2

(A) Loans secured by real property, personal property, or both3
real and personal property are deemed owned and used in the state if4
the real property or personal property securing the loan is located5
within this state. If the property securing the loan is located both6
within this state and one or more other states, the loan is deemed7
owned and used in this state if more than fifty percent of the fair8
market value of the real or personal property is located within this9
state. If more than fifty percent of the fair market value of the10
real or personal property is not located within any one state, then11
the loan is deemed owned and used in this state if the borrower is12
located in this state. The determination of whether the real or13
personal property securing a loan is located within this state must14
be made, as of the time the original agreement was made, and any and15
all subsequent substitutions of collateral must be disregarded.16

(B) Loans not secured by real or personal property are deemed17
owned and used in this state if the borrower is located in this18
state.19

(C) Credit card receivables are deemed owned and used in this20
state if the billing address of the cardholder is in this state.21

(ii)(A) Except as otherwise provided in (d)(ii)(B) of this22
subsection (2), the definitions in the multistate tax commission's23
recommended formula for the apportionment and allocation of net24
income of financial institutions as existing on June 1, 2010, or such25
subsequent date as may be provided by the department by rule,26
consistent with the purposes of this section, apply to this section.27

(B) "Credit card" means a card or device existing for the purpose28
of obtaining money, property, labor, or services on credit.29

(e) Notwithstanding anything else to the contrary in this30
subsection, property counting toward the thresholds in subsection31
(1)(c)(i) and (iv) of this section does not include a person's32
ownership of, or rights in, computer software as defined in RCW33
82.04.215, including computer software used in providing a digital34
automated service; master copies of software; and digital goods and35
digital codes residing on servers located in this state.36

(3)(a) Payroll counting toward the thresholds in subsection37
(1)(c)(ii) and (iv) of this section is the total amount paid by the38
taxpayer for compensation in this state during the immediately39
preceding tax year plus nonemployee compensation paid to40
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representative third parties in this state. Nonemployee compensation1
paid to representative third parties includes the gross amount paid2
to nonemployees who represent the taxpayer in interactions with the3
taxpayer's clients and includes sales commissions.4

(b) Employee compensation is paid in this state if the5
compensation is properly reportable to this state for unemployment6
compensation tax purposes, regardless of whether the compensation was7
actually reported to this state.8

(c) Nonemployee compensation is paid in this state if the service9
performed by the representative third party occurs entirely or10
primarily within this state.11

(d) For purposes of this subsection, "compensation" means wages,12
salaries, commissions, and any other form of remuneration paid to13
employees or nonemployees and defined as gross income under 26 U.S.C.14
Sec. 61 of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, as existing on15
June 1, 2010.16

(4) Receipts counting toward the thresholds in subsection17
(1)(c)(iii) and (iv) of this section are:18

(a) Those amounts included in the numerator of the receipts19
factor under RCW 82.04.462;20

(b) For financial institutions, those amounts included in the21
numerator of the receipts factor under the rule adopted by the22
department as authorized in RCW 82.04.460(2); and23

(c) For persons taxable under RCW 82.04.250(1), 82.04.257(1), or24
82.04.270 ((with respect to wholesale sales)), the gross proceeds of25
sales taxable under those statutory provisions and sourced to this26
state in accordance with RCW 82.32.730.27

(5)(a) Each December, the department must review the cumulative28
percentage change in the consumer price index. The department must29
adjust the thresholds in subsection (1)(c)(i) through (iii) of this30
section if the consumer price index has changed by five percent or31
more since the later of June 1, 2010, or the date that the thresholds32
were last adjusted under this subsection. For purposes of determining33
the cumulative percentage change in the consumer price index, the34
department must compare the consumer price index available as of35
December 1st of the current year with the consumer price index as of36
the later of June 1, 2010, or the date that the thresholds were last37
adjusted under this subsection. The thresholds must be adjusted to38
reflect that cumulative percentage change in the consumer price39
index. The adjusted thresholds must be rounded to the nearest one40

p. 8 SB 5855



thousand dollars. Any adjustment will apply to tax periods that begin1
after the adjustment is made.2

(b) As used in this subsection, "consumer price index" means the3
consumer price index for all urban consumers (CPI-U) available from4
the bureau of labor statistics of the United States department of5
labor.6

(6)(a)(i) Except as provided in (a)(iii) of this subsection (6),7
subsections (1) through (5) of this section only apply with respect8
to the taxes on persons engaged in apportionable activities as9
defined in RCW 82.04.460 or making wholesale sales taxable under RCW10
82.04.257(1) or 82.04.270.11

(ii) Subject to the limitation in RCW 82.32.531, for purposes of12
the taxes imposed under this chapter on ((any)) the business of13
making sales at retail or any other activity not included in the14
definition of apportionable activities in RCW 82.04.460, other than15
the business of making wholesale sales taxed under RCW 82.04.257(1)16
or 82.04.270, ((except as provided in RCW 82.32.531,)) a person is17
deemed to have a substantial nexus with this state if the person has18
a physical presence in this state during the tax year, which need19
only be demonstrably more than a slightest presence.20

(iii) For purposes of the taxes imposed under this chapter on the21
business of making sales at retail taxable under RCW 82.04.250(1) or22
82.04.257(1), a person is also deemed to have a substantial nexus23
with this state if the person's receipts from this state, pursuant to24
subsection (4)(c) of this section, meet either criterion in25
subsection (1)(c)(iii) or (iv) of this section, as adjusted under26
subsection (5) of this section.27

(b) For purposes of this subsection, a person is physically28
present in this state if the person has property or employees in this29
state.30

(c)(i) A person is also physically present in this state for the31
purposes of this subsection if the person, either directly or through32
an agent or other representative, engages in activities in this state33
that are significantly associated with the person's ability to34
establish or maintain a market for its products in this state.35

(ii) A remote seller as defined in RCW 82.08.052 is presumed to36
be engaged in activities in this state that are significantly37
associated with the remote seller's ability to establish or maintain38
a market for its products in this state if the remote seller is39
presumed to have a substantial nexus with this state under RCW40
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82.08.052. The presumption in this subsection (6)(c)(ii) may be1
rebutted as provided in RCW 82.08.052. To the extent that the2
presumption in RCW 82.08.052 is no longer operative pursuant to RCW3
82.32.762, the presumption in this subsection (6)(c)(ii) is no longer4
operative. ((Nothing in this section may be construed to affect in5
any way RCW 82.04.424, 82.08.050(11), or 82.12.040(5) or to narrow6
the scope of the terms "agent" or "other representative" in this7
subsection (6)(c).))8

Sec. 203.  RCW 82.04.220 and 2011 1st sp.s. c 20 s 101 are each9
amended to read as follows:10

(1) There is levied and collected from every person that has a11
substantial nexus with this state a tax for the act or privilege of12
engaging in business activities. The tax is measured by the13
application of rates against value of products, gross proceeds of14
sales, or gross income of the business, as the case may be.15

(2)(a) A person who has a substantial nexus with this state in16
((any tax year under the provisions of RCW 82.04.067 will be deemed17
to have a substantial nexus with this state for the following tax18
year)) the current calendar year under the provisions of RCW19
82.04.067, based solely on the person's property, payroll, or20
receipts in this state during the current calendar year, is subject21
to the tax imposed under this chapter for the current calendar year22
only on business activity occurring on and after the date that the23
person established a substantial nexus with this state in the current24
calendar year.25

(b) This subsection (2) does not apply to any person who also had26
a substantial nexus with this state (i) during the immediately27
preceding calendar year under RCW 82.04.067, or (ii) during the28
current calendar year under RCW 82.04.067 (1) (a) or (b) or (6)29
(a)(ii) or (c).30

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 204.  RCW 82.04.424 (Exemptions—Certain in-31
state activities) and 2015 3rd sp.s. c 5 s 206 & 2003 c 76 s 2 are32
each repealed.33

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 205.  A new section is added to chapter 82.0834
RCW to be codified between RCW 82.08.050 and 82.08.052 to read as35
follows:36
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A seller with a substantial nexus with this state must comply1
with the provisions of this chapter.2

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 206.  A new section is added to chapter 82.083
RCW to be codified between RCW 82.08.052 and 82.08.054 to read as4
follows:5

(1) A seller has a substantial nexus with this state during a6
calendar year for the purposes of collecting the taxes imposed under7
this chapter if, during the current or immediately preceding calendar8
year:9

(a) The seller had its property or employees in this state for10
the seller's business purposes; or11

(b) The seller's receipts from retail sales in this state,12
pursuant to RCW 82.04.067(4), meet either criterion in RCW13
82.04.067(1)(c) (iii) or (iv), as adjusted under RCW 82.04.067(5).14

(2) A seller also has a substantial nexus with this state during15
a calendar year for the purposes of collecting the taxes imposed16
under this chapter if the seller's total gross proceeds of sales at17
retail sourced to this state under RCW 82.32.730 exceed ten thousand18
dollars during the current or immediately preceding calendar year and19
at any time during such current or immediately preceding calendar20
year:21

(a)(i) The seller offers its products for sale through one or22
more marketplaces operated by any marketplace facilitator that has a23
substantial nexus with this state; or24

(ii) The seller or another person, as the case may be, including25
an affiliated person, other than a common carrier acting solely as a26
common carrier, engages in or performs any of the following27
activities in this state, but not including the activities described28
in RCW 82.08.052:29

(A) Sells a similar line of products as the seller and does so30
under the same business name as the seller or a similar business name31
as the seller;32

(B) Uses its employees, agents, representatives, or independent33
contractors in this state to promote or facilitate sales by the34
seller to purchasers in this state;35

(C) Maintains, occupies, or uses an office, distribution36
facility, warehouse, storage place, or similar place of business in37
this state to facilitate the delivery or sale of tangible personal38
property sold by the seller to the seller's purchasers in this state;39
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(D) Uses, with the seller's consent or knowledge, trademarks,1
service marks, or trade names in this state that are the same or2
substantially similar to those used by the seller;3

(E) Delivers, installs, assembles, or performs maintenance or4
repair services for the seller's purchasers in this state;5

(F) Facilitates the sale of tangible personal property to6
purchasers in this state by allowing the seller's purchasers in this7
state to pick up or return tangible personal property sold by the8
seller at an office, distribution facility, warehouse, storage place,9
or any other place of business maintained by that person in this10
state;11

(G) Shares management, business systems, business practices, or12
employees with the seller or, in the case of an affiliated person,13
engages in intercompany transactions related to the activities14
occurring with the seller to establish or maintain the seller's15
market in this state; or16

(H) Conducts any other activities in this state that are17
significantly associated with the seller's ability to establish and18
maintain a market in this state for the seller's sales of products to19
purchasers in this state; or20

(b)(i) The seller is under contract with a payment processor or21
merchant bank, or accepts credit cards issued either by a financial22
institution under a license from a credit card association or by an23
entity that also authorizes purchases and settles with consumers and24
merchants, if the payment processor, merchant bank, credit card25
association, or credit card issuer has a substantial nexus with this26
state for purposes of collecting the taxes imposed under this27
chapter.28

(ii) Pursuant to RCW 82.32.330(3)(u), the department may disclose29
the identity of payment processors, credit card associations, credit30
card issuers described in (b)(i) of this subsection (2), and merchant31
banks that have a substantial nexus with this state for purposes of32
collecting the taxes imposed under this chapter.33

(3)(a) For purposes of subsection (2)(a)(i) of this section, a34
marketplace facilitator is deemed to have a substantial nexus with35
this state during a calendar year if:36

(i) The marketplace facilitator or any affiliated person37
maintained a physical presence in this state during any portion of38
the current or immediately preceding calendar year to engage in any39
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of the activities described in subsection (5)(a)(i) or (ii) of this1
section; or2

(ii) The marketplace facilitator generated more than ten thousand3
dollars of gross proceeds of sales in the current or immediately4
preceding calendar year from retail sales made through its physical5
or electronic marketplace by sellers that are physically located in6
this state. For purposes of this subsection (3)(a)(ii), a seller is7
presumed to be physically located in this state if the address for8
the seller maintained in the business records of the marketplace9
facilitator is in this state.10

(b) Pursuant to RCW 82.32.330(3)(u), the department may disclose11
the identity of marketplace facilitators that have a substantial12
nexus with this state for purposes of collecting the taxes imposed13
under this chapter.14

(4) For purposes of this section, persons are "affiliated15
persons" with respect to each other where one of the persons has an16
ownership interest of more than five percent, whether direct or17
indirect, in the other, or where an ownership interest of more than18
five percent, whether direct or indirect, is held in each of the19
persons by another person or by a group of other persons who are20
affiliated with respect to each other.21

(5) The definitions in this subsection apply throughout this22
section unless the context clearly requires otherwise.23

(a) "Marketplace facilitator" means a person that contracts with24
sellers to facilitate, for consideration, the sale of the seller's25
products through a physical or electronic marketplace operated by the26
person, and engages, either directly or indirectly, through one or27
more affiliated persons, in:28

(i) Any of the following:29
(A) Transmitting or otherwise communicating the offer or30

acceptance between the buyer and seller;31
(B) Owning or operating the infrastructure, electronic or32

physical, or technology that brings buyers and sellers together;33
(C) Providing a virtual currency that buyers are allowed or34

required to use to purchase products from the seller; or35
(D) Software development or research and development activities36

related to any of the activities described in (a)(i)(A) through (C)37
or (ii)(A) through (H) of this subsection (5), if such activities are38
directly related to a physical or electronic marketplace operated by39
the person or an affiliated person; and40
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(ii) Any of the following activities with respect to the seller's1
products:2

(A) Payment processing services;3
(B) Fulfillment or storage services;4
(C) Listing products for sale;5
(D) Setting prices;6
(E) Branding sales as those of the marketplace facilitator;7
(F) Order taking;8
(G) Advertising or promotion; or9
(H) Providing customer service or accepting or assisting with10

returns or exchanges.11
(b) "Merchant bank" means a financial institution or any other12

member of a credit card network that allows the seller to accept13
credit card payments and is responsible for depositing transaction14
proceeds into the seller's designated account.15

(c) "Payment processor" means a person that contracts directly16
with a seller to provide settlement for the seller's credit card,17
debit card, or other payment transactions.18

(d) "Product" means any property or service that is sold in a19
sale at retail as defined in RCW 82.04.050.20

(6) This section is subject to RCW 82.32.762.21

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 207.  A new section is added to chapter 82.0822
RCW to be codified between section 206 of this act and RCW 82.08.05423
to read as follows:24

(1) For purposes of this chapter, a marketplace facilitator is25
deemed to be an agent of any marketplace seller making retail sales26
through the marketplace facilitator's physical or electronic27
marketplace. A marketplace facilitator with a substantial nexus with28
this state must collect and remit to the department the taxes imposed29
under this chapter on all taxable retail sales made through the30
marketplace facilitator's marketplace and sourced to this state under31
RCW 82.32.730, whether as principal or as the agent of a marketplace32
seller.33

(2) A marketplace facilitator is relieved of liability under this34
chapter for failure to collect the correct amount of tax to the35
extent that the marketplace facilitator can show to the department's36
satisfaction that the error was due to incorrect information given to37
the marketplace facilitator by the marketplace seller, unless the38
marketplace facilitator and marketplace seller are affiliated39
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persons. Where the marketplace facilitator is relieved of liability1
under this subsection (2), the marketplace seller is solely liable2
for the amount of uncollected tax due.3

(3)(a) A marketplace facilitator is relieved of liability under4
this chapter for the failure to collect tax on taxable retail sales5
to the extent that the marketplace facilitator can show to the6
department's satisfaction that:7

(i) The taxable retail sale was made through the marketplace8
facilitator's marketplace;9

(ii) The taxable retail sale was made solely as the agent of a10
marketplace seller, and the marketplace facilitator and marketplace11
seller are not affiliated persons; and12

(iii) The failure to collect sales tax was not due to an error in13
sourcing the sale under RCW 82.32.730.14

(b) Where the marketplace facilitator is relieved of liability15
under this subsection (3), the marketplace seller is also relieved of16
liability for the amount of uncollected tax due, subject to the17
limitations in subsection (4) of this section.18

(4) A marketplace seller with a substantial nexus with this state19
is relieved of its obligation to collect the taxes imposed under this20
chapter on all taxable retail sales through a marketplace operated by21
a marketplace facilitator if the marketplace seller has obtained22
documentation from the marketplace facilitator indicating that the23
marketplace facilitator is registered with the department and will24
collect all applicable taxes due under this chapter on all taxable25
retail sales made on behalf of the marketplace seller through the26
marketplace operated by the marketplace facilitator. The27
documentation required by this subsection (4) must be provided in a28
form and manner prescribed by or acceptable to the department. This29
subsection (4) does not relieve a marketplace seller from liability30
for uncollected taxes due under this chapter resulting from a31
marketplace facilitator's failure to collect the proper amount of tax32
due when the error was due to incorrect information given to the33
marketplace facilitator by the marketplace seller.34

(5) Nothing in this section affects the obligation of any35
purchaser to remit sales or use tax as to any applicable taxable36
transaction in which the seller or the seller's agent does not37
collect and remit sales tax.38

(6) For purposes of this section, the following definitions39
apply:40
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(a) "Affiliated person" has the same meaning as in section 206 of1
this act.2

(b) "Marketplace facilitator" has the same meaning as in section3
206 of this act.4

(c) "Marketplace seller" means a seller that makes retail sales5
through any physical or electronic marketplace operated by a6
marketplace facilitator, regardless of whether the seller is required7
to be registered with the department as provided in RCW 82.32.030.8

(7) This section is subject to RCW 82.32.762.9

Sec. 208.  RCW 82.08.050 and 2010 c 112 s 8 are each amended to10
read as follows:11

(1)(a) The tax imposed in this chapter must be paid by the buyer12
to the seller. Each seller must collect from the buyer the full13
amount of the tax payable in respect to each taxable sale in14
accordance with the schedule of collections adopted by the department15
under the provisions of RCW 82.08.060.16

(b) Sellers, including marketplace facilitators as defined in17
section 206 of this act, establishing a substantial nexus with this18
state during the current calendar year based solely on the provisions19
of section 206 (1)(b), (2), or (3)(a)(ii) of this act, and who did20
not have a substantial nexus with this state during the immediately21
preceding calendar year for purposes of collecting the taxes imposed22
under this chapter, must begin collecting state and local sales taxes23
on taxable retail sales sourced to this state beginning on the first24
day of the calendar month that is at least thirty days from the date25
that the person established a substantial nexus with this state.26

(2) The tax required by this chapter, to be collected by the27
seller, is deemed to be held in trust by the seller until paid to the28
department. Any seller who appropriates or converts the tax collected29
to the seller's own use or to any use other than the payment of the30
tax to the extent that the money required to be collected is not31
available for payment on the due date as prescribed in this chapter32
is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.33

(3) Except as otherwise provided in this section, if any seller34
fails to collect the tax imposed in this chapter or, having collected35
the tax, fails to pay it to the department in the manner prescribed36
by this chapter, whether such failure is the result of the seller's37
own acts or the result of acts or conditions beyond the seller's38
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control, the seller is, nevertheless, personally liable to the state1
for the amount of the tax.2

(4) Sellers are not relieved from personal liability for the3
amount of the tax unless they maintain proper records of exempt or4
nontaxable transactions and provide them to the department when5
requested.6

(5) Sellers are not relieved from personal liability for the7
amount of tax if they fraudulently fail to collect the tax or if they8
solicit purchasers to participate in an unlawful claim of exemption.9

(6) Sellers are not relieved from personal liability for the10
amount of tax if they accept an exemption certificate from a11
purchaser claiming an entity-based exemption if:12

(a) The subject of the transaction sought to be covered by the13
exemption certificate is actually received by the purchaser at a14
location operated by the seller in Washington; and15

(b) Washington provides an exemption certificate that clearly and16
affirmatively indicates that the claimed exemption is not available17
in Washington. Graying out exemption reason types on a uniform form18
and posting it on the department's web site is a clear and19
affirmative indication that the grayed out exemptions are not20
available.21

(7)(a) Sellers are relieved from personal liability for the22
amount of tax if they obtain a fully completed exemption certificate23
or capture the relevant data elements required under the streamlined24
sales and use tax agreement within ninety days, or a longer period as25
may be provided by rule by the department, subsequent to the date of26
sale.27

(b) If the seller has not obtained an exemption certificate or28
all relevant data elements required under the streamlined sales and29
use tax agreement within the period allowed subsequent to the date of30
sale, the seller may, within one hundred twenty days, or a longer31
period as may be provided by rule by the department, subsequent to a32
request for substantiation by the department, either prove that the33
transaction was not subject to tax by other means or obtain a fully34
completed exemption certificate from the purchaser, taken in good35
faith.36

(c) Sellers are relieved from personal liability for the amount37
of tax if they obtain a blanket exemption certificate for a purchaser38
with which the seller has a recurring business relationship. The39
department may not request from a seller renewal of blanket exemption40
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certificates or updates of exemption certificate information or data1
elements if there is a recurring business relationship between the2
buyer and seller. For purposes of this subsection (7)(c), a3
"recurring business relationship" means at least one sale transaction4
within a period of twelve consecutive months.5

(d) Sellers are relieved from personal liability for the amount6
of tax if they obtain a copy of a direct pay permit issued under RCW7
82.32.087.8

(8) The amount of tax, until paid by the buyer to the seller or9
to the department, constitutes a debt from the buyer to the seller.10
Any seller who fails or refuses to collect the tax as required with11
intent to violate the provisions of this chapter or to gain some12
advantage or benefit, either direct or indirect, and any buyer who13
refuses to pay any tax due under this chapter is guilty of a14
misdemeanor.15

(9) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the tax16
required by this chapter to be collected by the seller must be stated17
separately from the selling price in any sales invoice or other18
instrument of sale. On all retail sales through vending machines, the19
tax need not be stated separately from the selling price or collected20
separately from the buyer. Except as otherwise provided in this21
subsection, for purposes of determining the tax due from the buyer to22
the seller and from the seller to the department it must be23
conclusively presumed that the selling price quoted in any price24
list, sales document, contract or other agreement between the parties25
does not include the tax imposed by this chapter. But if the seller26
advertises the price as including the tax or that the seller is27
paying the tax, the advertised price may not be considered the28
selling price.29

(10) Where a buyer has failed to pay to the seller the tax30
imposed by this chapter and the seller has not paid the amount of the31
tax to the department, the department may, in its discretion, proceed32
directly against the buyer for collection of the tax. If the33
department proceeds directly against the buyer for collection of the34
tax as authorized in this subsection, the department may add a35
penalty of ten percent of the unpaid tax to the amount of the tax due36
for failure of the buyer to pay the tax to the seller, regardless of37
when the tax may be collected by the department. In addition to the38
penalty authorized in this subsection, all of the provisions of39
chapter 82.32 RCW, including those relative to interest and40
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penalties, apply. For the sole purpose of applying the various1
provisions of chapter 82.32 RCW, the twenty-fifth day of the month2
following the tax period in which the purchase was made will be3
considered as the due date of the tax.4

(11) ((Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (10) of this5
section, any person making sales is not obligated to collect the tax6
imposed by this chapter if:7

(a) The person's activities in this state, whether conducted8
directly or through another person, are limited to:9

(i) The storage, dissemination, or display of advertising;10
(ii) The taking of orders; or11
(iii) The processing of payments; and12
(b) The activities are conducted electronically via a web site on13

a server or other computer equipment located in Washington that is14
not owned or operated by the person making sales into this state nor15
owned or operated by an affiliated person. "Affiliated persons" has16
the same meaning as provided in RCW 82.04.424.17

(12) Subsection (11) of this section expires when: (a) The United18
States congress grants individual states the authority to impose19
sales and use tax collection duties on remote sellers; or (b) it is20
determined by a court of competent jurisdiction, in a judgment not21
subject to review, that a state can impose sales and use tax22
collection duties on remote sellers.23

(13) For purposes of this section:)) The definitions in this24
subsection apply throughout this section unless the context clearly25
requires otherwise.26

(a) "Exemption certificate" means documentation furnished by a27
buyer to a seller to claim an exemption from sales tax. An exemption28
certificate includes a reseller permit or other documentation29
authorized in RCW 82.04.470 furnished by a buyer to a seller to30
substantiate a wholesale sale; and31

(b) "Seller" includes a certified service provider, as defined in32
RCW 82.32.020, acting as agent for the seller.33

Sec. 209.  RCW 82.08.052 and 2015 3rd sp.s. c 5 s 202 are each34
amended to read as follows:35

(1) For purposes of this chapter, a remote seller is presumed to36
have a substantial nexus with this state and is obligated to collect37
retail sales tax during the current calendar year if the remote38
seller enters into an agreement with a resident of this state under39
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which the resident, for a commission or other consideration, directly1
or indirectly refers potential customers, whether by a link on an2
internet web site or otherwise, to the remote seller, if the3
cumulative gross receipts from sales by the remote seller to4
Washington customers ((in this state)) who are referred to the remote5
seller by all residents with this type of an agreement with the6
remote seller exceed ten thousand dollars during the current or7
immediately preceding calendar year. This presumption may be rebutted8
by proof that the resident with whom the remote seller has an9
agreement did not engage in any solicitation in this state on behalf10
of the remote seller that would satisfy the nexus requirement of the11
United States Constitution during the calendar year in question.12
Proof may be shown by (a) establishing, in a manner acceptable to the13
department, that (i) each in-state person with whom the remote seller14
has an agreement is prohibited from engaging in any solicitation15
activities in this state that refer potential customers to the remote16
seller, and (ii) such in-state person or persons have complied with17
that prohibition; or (b) any other means as may be approved by the18
department.19

(2) The definitions in this subsection apply throughout this20
section unless the context clearly requires otherwise.21

(a) "Remote seller" means a seller that makes retail sales in22
this state through one or more agreements described in subsection (1)23
of this section, and the seller's other physical presence in this24
state, if any, is not sufficient to establish a retail sales or use25
tax collection obligation under the commerce clause of the United26
States Constitution.27

(b) "Washington customer" means a purchaser of goods or services28
that are received in this state by the purchaser or the purchaser's29
donee. "Washington customer" also means a purchaser that provides a30
seller with an address in this state during the consummation of the31
sale, if the location where the goods or services are received by the32
purchaser or the purchaser's donee is not known.33

(3) ((Nothing in this section may be construed to affect in any34
way RCW 82.04.424, 82.08.050(11), or 82.12.040(5).35

(4))) This section is subject to RCW 82.32.762.36

Sec. 210.  RCW 82.12.040 and 2015 c 169 s 9 are each amended to37
read as follows:38
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(1) Every person who ((maintains in this state a place of1
business or a stock of goods, or engages in business activities2
within this state,)) has a substantial nexus with this state based on3
RCW 82.08.052 or section 206 of this act must obtain from the4
department a certificate of registration, and must, at the time of5
making sales of tangible personal property, digital goods, digital6
codes, digital automated services, extended warranties, or sales of7
any service defined as a retail sale in RCW 82.04.050 (2) (a) or (g)8
or (6)(((b))) (c), or making transfers of either possession or title,9
or both, of tangible personal property for use in this state, collect10
from the purchasers or transferees the tax imposed under this11
chapter. The tax to be collected under this section must be in an12
amount equal to the purchase price multiplied by the rate in effect13
for the retail sales tax under RCW 82.08.020. ((For the purposes of14
this chapter, the phrase "maintains in this state a place of15
business" includes the solicitation of sales and/or taking of orders16
by sales agents or traveling representatives. For the purposes of17
this chapter, "engages in business activity within this state"18
includes every activity which is sufficient under the Constitution of19
the United States for this state to require collection of tax under20
this chapter. The department must in rules specify activities which21
constitute engaging in business activity within this state, and must22
keep the rules current with future court interpretations of the23
Constitution of the United States.))24

(2) Every person who engages in this state in the business of25
acting as an independent selling agent for persons who do not hold a26
valid certificate of registration, and who receives compensation by27
reason of sales of tangible personal property, digital goods, digital28
codes, digital automated services, extended warranties, or sales of29
any service defined as a retail sale in RCW 82.04.050 (2) (a) or (g)30
or (6)(((b))) (c), of his or her principals for use in this state,31
must, at the time such sales are made, collect from the purchasers32
the tax imposed on the purchase price under this chapter, and for33
that purpose is deemed a retailer as defined in this chapter.34

(3) The tax required to be collected by this chapter is deemed to35
be held in trust by the retailer until paid to the department, and36
any retailer who appropriates or converts the tax collected to the37
retailer's own use or to any use other than the payment of the tax38
provided herein to the extent that the money required to be collected39
is not available for payment on the due date as prescribed is guilty40

p. 21 SB 5855



of a misdemeanor. In case any seller fails to collect the tax herein1
imposed or having collected the tax, fails to pay the same to the2
department in the manner prescribed, whether such failure is the3
result of the seller's own acts or the result of acts or conditions4
beyond the seller's control, the seller is nevertheless personally5
liable to the state for the amount of such tax, unless the seller has6
taken from the buyer a copy of a direct pay permit issued under RCW7
82.32.087.8

(4) Any retailer who refunds, remits, or rebates to a purchaser,9
or transferee, either directly or indirectly, and by whatever means,10
all or any part of the tax levied by this chapter is guilty of a11
misdemeanor.12

(5) ((Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (4) of this13
section, any person making sales is not obligated to collect the tax14
imposed by this chapter if:15

(a) The person's activities in this state, whether conducted16
directly or through another person, are limited to:17

(i) The storage, dissemination, or display of advertising;18
(ii) The taking of orders; or19
(iii) The processing of payments; and20
(b) The activities are conducted electronically via a web site on21

a server or other computer equipment located in Washington that is22
not owned or operated by the person making sales into this state nor23
owned or operated by an affiliated person. "Affiliated persons" has24
the same meaning as provided in RCW 82.04.424.25

(6) Subsection (5) of this section expires when: (a) The United26
States congress grants individual states the authority to impose27
sales and use tax collection duties on remote sellers; or (b) it is28
determined by a court of competent jurisdiction, in a judgment not29
subject to review, that a state can impose sales and use tax30
collection duties on remote sellers.31

(7))) Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (4) of this32
section, any person making sales is not obligated to collect the tax33
imposed by this chapter if the person would have been obligated to34
collect retail sales tax on the sale absent a specific exemption35
provided in chapter 82.08 RCW, and there is no corresponding use tax36
exemption in this chapter. Nothing in this subsection (((7))) (5) may37
be construed as relieving purchasers from liability for reporting and38
remitting the tax due under this chapter directly to the department.39
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(((8))) (6) Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (4) of this1
section, any person making sales is not obligated to collect the tax2
imposed by this chapter if the state is prohibited under the3
Constitution or laws of the United States from requiring the person4
to collect the tax imposed by this chapter.5

(((9))) (7) Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (4) of this6
section, any licensed dealer facilitating a firearm sale or transfer7
between two unlicensed persons by conducting background checks under8
chapter 9.41 RCW is not obligated to collect the tax imposed by this9
chapter.10

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 211.  A new section is added to chapter 82.3211
RCW to read as follows:12

(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, and whether or13
not the department initiates an audit or other tax collection14
procedure, the department may bring a declaratory judgment action15
under chapter 7.24 RCW, regardless of any other remedy available to16
the department, against any person the department believes has a17
substantial nexus with this state under section 206(1)(b) of this act18
to establish that the obligation to remit sales tax is applicable and19
valid under state and federal law.20

(2) The filing of the declaratory judgment action by the21
department as authorized in this section prohibits the department,22
during the pendency of the action and any subsequent appeal, from23
enforcing the tax collection obligations of chapter 82.08 RCW against24
any remote seller who does not affirmatively consent or otherwise25
remit sales tax to the department on a voluntary basis. The26
prohibition in this subsection does not apply if there is a previous27
judgment from a court establishing the validity of the tax collection28
obligations of chapter 82.08 RCW with respect to the particular29
taxpayer.30

(3) Notwithstanding any other provisions of state law, attorneys'31
fees may not be awarded to any party in any action brought pursuant32
to this section or any appeal from any action brought pursuant to33
this section.34

(4) For purposes of this section, "remote seller" means any35
seller that makes retail sales in this state but does not have a36
physical presence in this state.37
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NEW SECTION.  Sec. 212.  A new section is added to chapter 82.321
RCW to read as follows:2

(1) A taxpayer that, for the purposes of the tax collection3
obligations in chapter 82.08 RCW, has a substantial nexus with this4
state solely under the provisions of section 206(1)(b) of this act5
and is complying with the requirements of chapter 82.08 RCW,6
voluntarily or otherwise, may only seek a recovery of sales taxes,7
penalties, or interest from the department by following the recovery8
procedures established under RCW 82.32.060. However, no claim may be9
granted on the basis that the taxpayer lacked a physical presence in10
the state and complied with the tax collection provisions of chapter11
82.08 RCW voluntarily while covered by the prohibition on enforcement12
provided in section 211 of this act.13

(2) Neither the state nor any seller who remits sales tax14
voluntarily or otherwise under this act is liable to a purchaser who15
claims that the sales tax has been over collected because a provision16
of this act is later deemed unlawful.17

(3) Nothing in this act affects the obligation of any purchaser18
from this state to remit sales or use tax as to any applicable19
taxable transaction in which the seller does not collect and remit20
sales tax.21

Sec. 213.  RCW 82.32.762 and 2015 3rd sp.s. c 5 s 205 are each22
amended to read as follows:23

(1) If the department determines that a change, taking effect24
after ((September 1, 2015)) the effective date of this section, in25
the streamlined sales and use tax agreement or federal law creates a26
conflict with any provision of RCW 82.08.052, section 206 of this27
act, or section 207 of this act, such conflicting provision or28
provisions of RCW 82.08.052, section 206 of this act, or section 20729
of this act, including any related provisions that would not function30
as originally intended, have no further force and effect as of the31
date the change in the streamlined sales and use tax agreement or32
federal law becomes effective.33

(2) For purposes of this section:34
(a) A change in federal law conflicts with RCW 82.08.052, section35

206 of this act, or section 207 of this act if the change clearly36
allows states to impose greater sales and use tax collection37
obligations on remote sellers than provided for, or clearly prevents38
states from imposing sales and use tax collection obligations on39
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remote sellers to the extent provided for, under RCW 82.08.052,1
section 206 of this act, or section 207 of this act.2

(b) A change in the streamlined sales and use tax agreement3
conflicts with RCW 82.08.052, section 206 of this act, or section 2074
of this act if one or more provisions of RCW 82.08.052, section 2065
of this act, or section 207 of this act causes this state to be found6
out of compliance with the streamlined sales and use tax agreement by7
its governing board.8

(3) If the department makes a determination under this section9
that a change in federal law or the streamlined sales and use tax10
agreement conflicts with one or more provisions of RCW 82.08.052,11
section 206 of this act, or section 207 of this act, the department:12

(a) May adopt rules in accordance with chapter 34.05 RCW that are13
consistent with the streamlined sales and use tax agreement and that14
impose sales and use tax collection obligations on remote sellers to15
the fullest extent allowed under state and federal law; and16

(b) Must include information on its web site informing taxpayers17
and the public (i) of the provision or provisions of RCW 82.08.052,18
section 206 of this act, or section 207 of this act that will have no19
further force and effect, (ii) when such change will become20
effective, and (iii) about how to participate in any rule making21
conducted by the department in accordance with (a) of this subsection22
(3).23

(4) For purposes of this section, "remote seller" has the same24
meaning as in RCW 82.08.052.25

Part III26
Sales and Use Tax Notice and Reporting Requirements27

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 301.  The definitions in this section apply28
throughout this chapter unless the context clearly requires29
otherwise.30

(1) "Consumer" has the same meaning as in chapters 82.04, 82.08,31
and 82.12 RCW.32

(2) "Department" has the same meaning as in RCW 82.02.010.33
(3) "Product" has the same meaning as in RCW 82.32.023.34
(4) "Purchaser" means any consumer who purchases or leases a35

product sourced to this state under RCW 82.32.730.36
(5) "Retail sale" has the same meaning as in RCW 82.04.050.37
(6) "Sale" has the same meaning as in RCW 82.04.040.38
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(7) "Seller" has the same meaning as in RCW 82.08.010, and1
includes a marketplace facilitator as defined in section 206 of this2
act.3

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 302.  (1) Except as otherwise provided in4
subsection (5) of this section, a seller who does not collect the tax5
imposed under chapter 82.08 or 82.12 RCW on a taxable retail sale6
must comply with the notice and reporting requirements of this7
section. For taxable retail sales made through a marketplace8
facilitator or other agent, the marketplace facilitator or other9
agent must comply with the notice and reporting requirements of this10
section, and the principal is not subject to the notice and reporting11
requirements of this section with respect to those sales.12

(2) A seller subject to the notice and reporting requirements of13
this section must provide a notice to each consumer at the time of14
each taxable retail sale.15

(a) The notice under this subsection (2) must include the16
following information:17

(i) A statement that neither sales nor use tax is being collected18
or remitted upon the sale;19

(ii) A statement that the consumer may be required to remit sales20
or use tax directly to the department; and21

(iii) Instructions for obtaining additional information from the22
department regarding whether and how to remit the sales or use tax to23
the department.24

(b) The notice under this subsection (2) must be prominently25
displayed on all invoices and order forms, including, where26
applicable, electronic and catalogue invoices and order forms, and27
upon each sales receipt or similar document provided to the28
purchaser, whether in paper or electronic form. No indication may be29
made that sales or use tax is not imposed upon the transaction,30
unless:31

(i) Such indication is followed immediately with the notice32
required by this subsection (2); or33

(ii) The transaction with respect to which the indication is34
given is exempt from sales and use tax pursuant to law.35

(3) A seller subject to the notice and reporting requirements of36
this section must, no later than January 31st of each year, provide a37
report to each consumer for whom the seller was required to provide a38
notice under subsection (2) of this section.39
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(a) The report under this subsection (3) must include:1
(i) A statement that the seller did not collect sales or use tax2

on the consumer's transactions with the seller and that the consumer3
may be required to remit such tax directly to the department;4

(ii) A list, by date, generally indicating the type of product5
purchased or leased during the immediately preceding calendar year by6
the consumer from the seller sourced to this state under RCW7
82.32.730 and the price of each product;8

(iii) Instructions for obtaining additional information from the9
department regarding whether and how to remit the sales or use tax to10
the department;11

(iv) A statement that the seller is required to submit a report12
to the department pursuant to subsection (4) of this section stating13
the total dollar amount of the consumer's purchases from the seller;14
and15

(v) Any information as the department may reasonably require.16
(b) The report required under this subsection (3) must be sent to17

the consumer's billing address, or if unknown, the consumer's18
shipping address, in an envelope marked prominently with words19
indicating important tax information is enclosed. If no billing or20
shipping address is known, the report must be sent electronically to21
the consumer's last known email address with a subject heading22
indicating important tax information is enclosed.23

(4) A seller subject to the notice and reporting requirements of24
this section must, no later than January 31st of each year, file a25
report with the department.26

(a) The report under this subsection (4) must include, with27
respect to each consumer to whom the seller is required to provide a28
report under subsection (3) of this section by January 31st of the29
current calendar year:30

(i) The consumer's name;31
(ii) The billing address and, if different, the last known32

mailing address;33
(iii) The shipping address for each product sold or leased to34

such consumer for delivery to a location in this state during the35
immediately preceding calendar year; and36

(iv) The total dollar amount of all such purchases by such37
consumer.38

(b) The report under this subsection (4) must be filed39
electronically in a form and manner required by the department.40
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(5) The following exemptions to the notice and reporting1
requirements of this section apply:2

(a) A seller who made less than two hundred thousand dollars in3
total worldwide gross retail sales during the immediately preceding4
calendar year is not required to file reports under subsections (3)5
and (4) of this section in the current calendar year.6

(b) A seller who made less than one hundred thousand dollars in7
total worldwide gross retail sales during the immediately preceding8
calendar year is not required to provide notice under subsection (2)9
of this section with respect to retail sales made in the current10
calendar year.11

(c) A seller who made less than one hundred thousand dollars in12
total gross retail sales sourced to this state under RCW 82.32.73013
during the immediately preceding calendar year is not required to14
file reports under subsections (3) and (4) of this section in the15
current calendar year.16

(d) A seller who made less than fifty thousand dollars in total17
gross retail sales sourced to this state under RCW 82.32.730 during18
the immediately preceding calendar year is not required to provide19
notice under subsection (2) of this section with respect to retail20
sales made in the current calendar year.21

(e) A seller who is registered with the department to collect and22
remit sales and use tax, and who makes a reasonable effort to comply23
with the requirements of RCW 82.08.050 and 82.12.040, is not required24
to provide notice or file reports under this section.25

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 303.  (1) The following penalties apply to any26
seller who fails to provide notices and reports as required by27
section 302 of this act:28

(a) The department must assess a penalty against any seller who29
fails to provide notice as required by section 302(2) of this act, in30
addition to any other applicable penalties, in the amount of five31
dollars for each such failure.32

(b) The department must assess a penalty against any seller who33
fails to provide a report as required by section 302(3) of this act,34
in addition to any other applicable penalty, in the amount of ten35
dollars for each such failure.36

(c) The department must assess a penalty against any seller who37
fails to file a report as required by section 302(4) of this act, in38
addition to any other applicable penalty, equal to ten dollars times39
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the number of such consumers that should have been included on such1
report.2

(2) When assessing a penalty under this section, the department3
may use any reasonable sampling or estimation technique where4
necessary or appropriate to determine the number of failures in any5
calendar year.6

(3) Interest accrues on the amount of the total penalty that has7
been assessed under this section until the total penalty amount is8
paid in full. Interest imposed under this section must be computed9
and assessed as provided in RCW 82.32.050 as if the penalty imposed10
under this subsection were a tax liability.11

(4) The department must notify a seller by mail, or12
electronically as provided in RCW 82.32.135, of the amount of any13
penalty and interest due under this section. Amounts due under this14
section must be paid in full within thirty days from the date of the15
notice, or within such further time as the department may provide in16
its sole discretion.17

(5)(a)(i) A seller is entitled to a conditional waiver of18
penalties and interest imposed under this section if the seller19
enters into a written agreement with the department committing to20
fully comply with all notice and reporting requirements of this21
chapter beginning by a date acceptable to the department.22

(ii) The department may grant a waiver of penalties and interest23
under this subsection (5)(a) for penalties and interest assessed for24
a seller's failure to comply with the notice and reporting25
requirements for one or more violations.26

(iii) The department may not grant more than one request by a27
seller for a waiver of penalties and interest under this subsection28
(5)(a).29

(iv) The department must reassess penalties and interest30
conditionally waived under this subsection (5)(a) if the department31
finds that, after the date that the seller agreed to fully comply32
with the notice and reporting requirements of this chapter, the33
seller failed to:34

(A) Provide notice under section 302(2) of this act to at least35
ninety-five percent of the consumers entitled to such notice in any36
given calendar year or portion of the initial calendar year in which37
the agreement required under this subsection was in effect if the38
agreement was in effect for less than the entire calendar year;39
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(B) Timely provide the reports required under section 302(3) of1
this act to all consumers who received notice from the seller under2
section 302(2) of this act during any calendar year, unless the3
department finds that any such failure was due to circumstances4
beyond the seller's control; or5

(C) Timely provide the reports required under section 302(4) of6
this act during any calendar year, unless the department finds that7
any such failure was due to circumstances beyond the seller's8
control.9

(v) The department may not reassess penalties and interest10
conditionally waived under this subsection (5)(a) more than four11
calendar years following the calendar year in which the department12
granted the conditional waiver under this subsection (5)(a).13

(vi) The provisions of subsection (4) of this section apply to14
penalties and interest reassessed under this subsection (5)(a). The15
department may add additional interest on penalties reassessed under16
this subsection (5)(a) only if the total amount of penalties17
reassessed under this subsection (5)(a) is not paid in full by the18
date due. Additional interest authorized under this subsection19
(5)(a)(vi) applies beginning on the day immediately following the day20
that the reassessed penalties were due and accrues until the total21
amount of reassessed penalties are paid in full.22

(b) The department must waive penalties and interest imposed23
under this section if the department determines that the failure of24
the seller to fully comply with the notice or reporting requirements25
was due to circumstances beyond the seller's control.26

(c) A request for a waiver of penalties and interest under this27
subsection must be received by the department in writing and before28
the penalties and interest for which a waiver is requested are due29
pursuant to subsection (4) of this section. The department must deny30
any request for a waiver of penalties and interest that does not31
fully comply with the provisions of this subsection (5)(c).32

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 304.  Chapter 82.32 RCW applies to the33
administration of this chapter.34

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 305.  (1) Except as otherwise provided in this35
section, taxes imposed under chapter 82.08 or 82.12 RCW on a taxable36
retail sale and payable by a consumer directly to the department are37
due, on returns prescribed by the department, by March 1st of the38
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calendar year immediately following the calendar year in which the1
taxable retail sale occurred.2

(2) This section does not apply to the reporting and payment of3
taxes imposed under chapters 82.08 and 82.12 RCW:4

(a) On the retail sale or use of motor vehicles, vessels, or5
aircraft; or6

(b) By consumers who are engaged in business, unless the7
department has relieved the consumer of the requirement to file8
returns pursuant to RCW 82.32.045(4).9

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 306.  Nothing in this chapter relieves sellers10
or consumers who are subject to chapter 82.08 or 82.12 RCW from any11
responsibilities imposed under those chapters. Nor does anything in12
this chapter prevent the department from administering and enforcing13
the taxes imposed under chapter 82.08 or 82.12 RCW with respect to14
any seller or consumer who is subject to such taxes.15

Sec. 307.  RCW 82.32.045 and 2010 1st sp.s. c 23 s 1103 are each16
amended to read as follows:17

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter or chapter18
82.--- RCW (the new chapter created in section 404 of this act),19
payments of the taxes imposed under chapters 82.04, 82.08, 82.12,20
82.14, and 82.16 RCW, along with reports and returns on forms21
prescribed by the department, are due monthly within twenty-five days22
after the end of the month in which the taxable activities occur.23

(2) The department of revenue may relieve any taxpayer or class24
of taxpayers from the obligation of remitting monthly and may require25
the return to cover other longer reporting periods, but in no event26
may returns be filed for a period greater than one year. For these27
taxpayers, tax payments are due on or before the last day of the28
month next succeeding the end of the period covered by the return.29

(3) The department of revenue may also require verified annual30
returns from any taxpayer, setting forth such additional information31
as it may deem necessary to correctly determine tax liability.32

(4) Notwithstanding subsections (1) and (2) of this section, the33
department may relieve any person of the requirement to file returns34
if the following conditions are met:35

(a) The person's value of products, gross proceeds of sales, or36
gross income of the business, from all business activities taxable37
under chapter 82.04 RCW, is less than:38

p. 31 SB 5855



(i) Twenty-eight thousand dollars per year; or1
(ii) Forty-six thousand six hundred sixty-seven dollars per year2

for persons generating at least fifty percent of their taxable amount3
from activities taxable under RCW 82.04.255, 82.04.290(2)(a), and4
82.04.285;5

(b) The person's gross income of the business from all activities6
taxable under chapter 82.16 RCW is less than twenty-four thousand7
dollars per year; and8

(c) The person is not required to collect or pay to the9
department of revenue any other tax or fee which the department is10
authorized to collect.11

Part IV12
Miscellaneous13

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 401.  If any provision of this act or its14
application to any person or circumstance is held invalid:15

(1) The remainder of this act or the application of the provision16
to other persons or circumstances is not affected; and17

(2) If the department of revenue is prevented from enforcing18
chapters 82.04, 82.08, and 82.12 RCW against persons without a19
physical presence in this state, the department of revenue must20
impose such provisions to the fullest extent allowed under the21
Constitution and laws of the United States.22

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 402.  The tax collection, reporting, and23
payment obligations imposed by this act apply prospectively only.24

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 403.  For purposes of determining whether a25
person engaged in the business of making sales at retail has a26
substantial nexus with this state under the provisions of RCW27
82.04.067(6)(a)(iii) or section 206 (1)(b), (2), or (3)(a)(ii) of28
this act for taxable periods beginning on the effective date of this29
section through December 31, 2017, the person's gross proceeds of30
sales are based on the entire 2017 calendar year.31

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 404.  Sections 301 through 306 of this act32
constitute a new chapter in Title 82 RCW.33
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NEW SECTION.  Sec. 405.  This act is necessary for the immediate1
preservation of the public peace, health, or safety, or support of2
the state government and its existing public institutions, and takes3
effect July 1, 2017.4

--- END ---
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AN ACT Relating to adopting retail sale nexus standards to1
require sales tax collection by remote sellers in order to fund2
safety net programs; amending RCW 82.04.066, 82.04.067, 82.04.220,3
82.08.050, 82.08.052, 82.12.040, 82.32.762, and 82.32.045; adding new4
sections to chapter 82.08 RCW; adding new sections to chapter 82.325
RCW; adding a new section to chapter 74.04 RCW; adding a new chapter6
to Title 82 RCW; creating new sections; repealing RCW 82.04.424;7
prescribing penalties; providing an effective date; and declaring an8
emergency.9

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:10

Part I11
Findings and Intent12

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 101.  (1) The legislature finds that states13
fail to collect more than twenty-three billion dollars annually in14
sales taxes from remote sales over the internet and through15
catalogues. The legislature further finds that Washington and its16
local governments will lose out on an estimated three hundred fifty-17
three million dollars in sales and use taxes in fiscal year 2018 from18
remote sales, reducing funds that would otherwise be available for19
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the public education system, health care services, infrastructure,1
and other vital public services.2

(2) The legislature recognizes that states may not impose sales3
or use tax collection obligations on an out-of-state business unless4
the business has a substantial nexus with the taxing state. The5
legislature also recognizes that under the United States supreme6
court's decision in National Bellas Hess v. Dep't of Revenue of Ill.,7
386 U.S. 753 (1967), substantial nexus under the commerce clause8
requires a physical presence by the seller in the taxing state.9
Relying on the doctrine of stare decisis, the United States supreme10
court reaffirmed the physical presence nexus standard twenty-five11
years later in Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, 504 U.S. 298 (1992).12

(3) The legislature further finds that the basis of the physical13
presence nexus standard was primarily justified by the complexity and14
burden on mail order sellers and other out-of-state sellers in15
complying with the sales tax laws in numerous jurisdictions at the16
state and local level all across the country. The legislature further17
finds that the supreme court's concerns underlying the Bellas Hess18
decision have been effectively addressed by advances in technology19
and simplified tax laws. For example, Washington and most other20
states with sales taxes allow or require electronic reporting and21
payment of the tax. Also, several states, including Washington, offer22
free online sales tax rate lookup tools. A number of private23
companies offer automated sales tax compliance solutions. In24
addition, sales tax laws have been simplified in many states,25
including Washington, through participation in the streamlined sales26
and use tax project and compliance with the streamlined sales and use27
tax agreement.28

(4) The legislature further finds that Bellas Hess was decided29
one year before the first plans were developed for the computer30
network that became the basis of the internet. The legislature31
further finds that since Quill was decided e-commerce has grown32
substantially, generating retail sales of over three hundred forty-33
one billion dollars in 2015, which have been growing at a rate of34
about fifteen percent for the last five years. The legislature35
further finds that like their brick and mortar competitors, online36
businesses receive benefits and opportunities provided by their37
market states, such as transportation networks, infrastructure, laws38
providing protection of business interests, access to the courts to39
protect valuable rights, and a regulated marketplace. However, the40
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legislature finds that under the current physical presence nexus1
standard, online only sellers have an unfair competitive advantage2
over in state brick and mortar stores to the detriment of main street3
retailers. Online only businesses have no geographical limitations to4
their marketplace; no costs of maintaining local physical retail5
stores, such as infrastructure costs, employee costs, and property6
taxes; and may not have to collect sales tax on sales to customers in7
states in which they do not have a physical presence, all of which8
lead to their ability to price their goods at a lower cost to9
consumers. The legislature further finds that even if the physical10
presence nexus standard was once a wise rule of law, it is no longer11
justifiable.12

(5) The legislature further finds that the supreme court in its13
Quill decision implicitly invited the United States congress to14
resolve whether and to what extent states may impose a sales tax15
collection obligation on remote sellers. The legislature further16
finds that there is overwhelming support among the public, states,17
and municipalities, and many national and local associations18
representing brick and mortar businesses for federal legislation19
requiring remote sellers to collect and remit retail sales tax. The20
legislature further finds that despite such broad-based support,21
congress has failed to enact such legislation.22

(6) The legislature agrees with Justice Kennedy's concurring23
opinion in the Direct Marketing Association v. Brohl decision (135 S.24
Ct. 1124) that the court's Quill holding is "inflicting extreme harm25
and unfairness on the States," and that "[t]here is a powerful case26
to be made that a retailer doing extensive business within a State27
has a sufficiently 'substantial nexus' to justify imposing some minor28
tax-collection duty, even if that business is done through mail or29
the Internet." Justice Kennedy stated that "it is unwise to delay any30
longer a reconsideration of the Court's holding in Quill," and he31
closed his opinion by inviting a direct challenge to Quill and Bellas32
Hess, saying that "[t]he legal system should find an appropriate case33
for this Court to reexamine Quill and Bellas Hess."34

(7) The legislature finds that because Washington is unique in35
that it relies so heavily on sales tax to fund education and other36
vital state services, and because Washington has frequently been at37
the forefront of advancing technology and tax policy, it is incumbent38
upon this state to lead the way to a more fair and equitable modern39
marketplace where online businesses and brick and mortar businesses40
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can compete based on quality of products and other nontax factors,1
which benefits all consumers. The legislature recognizes that the2
fast pace of technological change seen with the rapid growth of3
electronic commerce puts pressure on states to update their tax codes4
just as this state did (a) in 2007 in adopting Senate Bill No. 5089,5
which enacted significant simplifications in sales and use6
administration and brought Washington into full compliance with the7
streamlined sales and use tax agreement, (b) in 2009 in adopting8
Engrossed Substitute House Bill No. 2075 addressing the excise9
taxation of digital products, and (c) in 2010 in adopting economic10
nexus and market-based apportionment for business and occupation tax11
purposes in Second Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill No. 6143. The12
legislature finds that making such changes is not radical or to be13
unexpected, but is a rational means to avoid an ever shrinking tax14
base resulting from an outdated tax code that has not kept up with15
significant changes in technology and the economy.16

(8) The legislature finds that several states, including Alabama,17
South Dakota, and Tennessee have taken measures to adopt an "economic18
nexus" standard with respect to the collection of sales tax. The19
legislature further finds that other states are considering adopting20
similar rules or legislation.21

(9) The legislature also finds that Colorado adopted a law22
requiring out-of-state retailers that do not collect Colorado's sales23
tax to report tax-related information to their Colorado customers and24
the Colorado department of revenue. The legislature further finds25
that in 2016 the United States court of appeals for the tenth circuit26
upheld that law.27

(10) Therefore, the legislature intends by this act to address28
the significant harm and unfairness brought about by the physical29
presence nexus rule by testing the boundaries of the rule. This act30
also sets up a legal challenge to the physical presence nexus rule31
that could potentially lead to the United States supreme court32
reevaluating Bellas Hess and Quill or congress enacting legislation33
authorizing and establishing the requirements for states to impose a34
sales tax collection duty on remote sellers. To achieve these35
objectives, part II of this act establishes clear statutory36
guidelines for determining when sellers are required to collect37
Washington's sales tax. These guidelines clarify the extent of the38
traditional physical presence standard and also adopt an "economic39
nexus" standard under which a remote seller would establish a40
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substantial nexus with this state solely by making a meaningful1
amount of sales into this state. Part II of this act also extends the2
economic nexus standard for the business and occupation tax imposed3
on retail sales taxed under RCW 82.04.250(1) and 82.04.257(1). Part4
III of this act adopts a sales and use tax notice and reporting law5
based on the multistate tax commission's draft model sales and use6
tax notice reporting statute, which is similar to Colorado's sales7
and use tax notice reporting law.8

(11) The legislature recognizes that the enactment of part II of9
this act places remote sellers in a complicated position, precisely10
because existing constitutional doctrine calls certain provisions of11
part II of this act into question. Accordingly, the legislature12
intends to clarify that the obligations created by this law on13
sellers with a substantial nexus with this state under section14
206(1)(b) of this act would be appropriately stayed by the courts15
until the constitutionality of section 206(1)(b) of this act has been16
clearly established by a binding judgment, including, for example, a17
decision from the supreme court of the United States abrogating its18
existing doctrine, or a final judgment applicable to a particular19
taxpayer.20

(12) The legislature finds that the declaratory judgment action21
authorized in section 211 of this act is warranted by existing law,22
by good faith arguments for the extension, modification, or reversal23
of existing law, or the establishment of new law.24

Part II25
Nexus for Excise Tax Purposes26

Sec. 201.  RCW 82.04.066 and 2015 3rd sp.s. c 5 s 203 are each27
amended to read as follows:28

"Engaging within this state" and "engaging within the state,"29
when used in connection with any apportionable activity as defined in30
RCW 82.04.460 or ((wholesale sales)) selling activity taxable under31
RCW 82.04.250(1), 82.04.257(1), or 82.04.270, means that a person32
generates gross income of the business from sources within this33
state, such as customers or intangible property located in this34
state, regardless of whether the person is physically present in this35
state.36
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Sec. 202.  RCW 82.04.067 and 2016 c 137 s 2 are each amended to1
read as follows:2

(1) A person engaging in business is deemed to have substantial3
nexus with this state if, in the current or immediately preceding4
calendar year, the person is:5

(a) An individual and is a resident or domiciliary of this state;6
(b) A business entity and is organized or commercially domiciled7

in this state; or8
(c) A nonresident individual or a business entity that is9

organized or commercially domiciled outside this state, and ((in the10
immediately preceding tax year)) the person had:11

(i) More than ((fifty)) fifty-three thousand dollars of property12
in this state;13

(ii) More than ((fifty)) fifty-three thousand dollars of payroll14
in this state;15

(iii) More than two hundred ((fifty)) sixty-seven thousand16
dollars of receipts from this state; or17

(iv) At least twenty-five percent of the person's total property,18
total payroll, or total receipts in this state.19

(2)(a) Property counting toward the thresholds in subsection20
(1)(c)(i) and (iv) of this section is the average value of the21
taxpayer's property, including intangible property, owned or rented22
and used in this state during the current or immediately preceding23
((tax)) calendar year.24

(b)(i) Property owned by the taxpayer, other than loans and25
credit card receivables owned by the taxpayer, is valued at its26
original cost basis. Loans and credit card receivables owned by the27
taxpayer are valued at their outstanding principal balance, without28
regard to any reserve for bad debts. However, if a loan or credit29
card receivable is charged off in whole or in part for federal income30
tax purposes, the portion of the loan or credit card receivable31
charged off is deducted from the outstanding principal balance.32

(ii) Property rented by the taxpayer is valued at eight times the33
net annual rental rate. For purposes of this subsection, "net annual34
rental rate" means the annual rental rate paid by the taxpayer less35
any annual rental rate received by the taxpayer from subrentals.36

(c) The average value of property must be determined by averaging37
the values at the beginning and ending of the ((tax)) applicable38
calendar year; but the department may require the averaging of39
monthly values during the ((tax)) applicable calendar year if40
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reasonably required to properly reflect the average value of the1
taxpayer's property.2

(d)(i) For purposes of this subsection (2), loans and credit card3
receivables are deemed owned and used in this state as follows:4

(A) Loans secured by real property, personal property, or both5
real and personal property are deemed owned and used in the state if6
the real property or personal property securing the loan is located7
within this state. If the property securing the loan is located both8
within this state and one or more other states, the loan is deemed9
owned and used in this state if more than fifty percent of the fair10
market value of the real or personal property is located within this11
state. If more than fifty percent of the fair market value of the12
real or personal property is not located within any one state, then13
the loan is deemed owned and used in this state if the borrower is14
located in this state. The determination of whether the real or15
personal property securing a loan is located within this state must16
be made, as of the time the original agreement was made, and any and17
all subsequent substitutions of collateral must be disregarded.18

(B) Loans not secured by real or personal property are deemed19
owned and used in this state if the borrower is located in this20
state.21

(C) Credit card receivables are deemed owned and used in this22
state if the billing address of the cardholder is in this state.23

(ii)(A) Except as otherwise provided in (d)(ii)(B) of this24
subsection (2), the definitions in the multistate tax commission's25
recommended formula for the apportionment and allocation of net26
income of financial institutions as existing on June 1, 2010, or such27
subsequent date as may be provided by the department by rule,28
consistent with the purposes of this section, apply to this section.29

(B) "Credit card" means a card or device existing for the purpose30
of obtaining money, property, labor, or services on credit.31

(e) Notwithstanding anything else to the contrary in this32
subsection, property counting toward the thresholds in subsection33
(1)(c)(i) and (iv) of this section does not include a person's34
ownership of, or rights in, computer software as defined in RCW35
82.04.215, including computer software used in providing a digital36
automated service; master copies of software; and digital goods and37
digital codes residing on servers located in this state.38

(3)(a) Payroll counting toward the thresholds in subsection39
(1)(c)(ii) and (iv) of this section is the total amount paid by the40

p. 7 SB 5856



taxpayer for compensation in this state during the immediately1
preceding tax year plus nonemployee compensation paid to2
representative third parties in this state. Nonemployee compensation3
paid to representative third parties includes the gross amount paid4
to nonemployees who represent the taxpayer in interactions with the5
taxpayer's clients and includes sales commissions.6

(b) Employee compensation is paid in this state if the7
compensation is properly reportable to this state for unemployment8
compensation tax purposes, regardless of whether the compensation was9
actually reported to this state.10

(c) Nonemployee compensation is paid in this state if the service11
performed by the representative third party occurs entirely or12
primarily within this state.13

(d) For purposes of this subsection, "compensation" means wages,14
salaries, commissions, and any other form of remuneration paid to15
employees or nonemployees and defined as gross income under 26 U.S.C.16
Sec. 61 of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, as existing on17
June 1, 2010.18

(4) Receipts counting toward the thresholds in subsection19
(1)(c)(iii) and (iv) of this section are:20

(a) Those amounts included in the numerator of the receipts21
factor under RCW 82.04.462;22

(b) For financial institutions, those amounts included in the23
numerator of the receipts factor under the rule adopted by the24
department as authorized in RCW 82.04.460(2); and25

(c) For persons taxable under RCW 82.04.250(1), 82.04.257(1), or26
82.04.270 ((with respect to wholesale sales)), the gross proceeds of27
sales taxable under those statutory provisions and sourced to this28
state in accordance with RCW 82.32.730.29

(5)(a) Each December, the department must review the cumulative30
percentage change in the consumer price index. The department must31
adjust the thresholds in subsection (1)(c)(i) through (iii) of this32
section if the consumer price index has changed by five percent or33
more since the later of June 1, 2010, or the date that the thresholds34
were last adjusted under this subsection. For purposes of determining35
the cumulative percentage change in the consumer price index, the36
department must compare the consumer price index available as of37
December 1st of the current year with the consumer price index as of38
the later of June 1, 2010, or the date that the thresholds were last39
adjusted under this subsection. The thresholds must be adjusted to40
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reflect that cumulative percentage change in the consumer price1
index. The adjusted thresholds must be rounded to the nearest one2
thousand dollars. Any adjustment will apply to tax periods that begin3
after the adjustment is made.4

(b) As used in this subsection, "consumer price index" means the5
consumer price index for all urban consumers (CPI-U) available from6
the bureau of labor statistics of the United States department of7
labor.8

(6)(a)(i) Except as provided in (a)(iii) of this subsection (6),9
subsections (1) through (5) of this section only apply with respect10
to the taxes on persons engaged in apportionable activities as11
defined in RCW 82.04.460 or making wholesale sales taxable under RCW12
82.04.257(1) or 82.04.270.13

(ii) Subject to the limitation in RCW 82.32.531, for purposes of14
the taxes imposed under this chapter on ((any)) the business of15
making sales at retail or any other activity not included in the16
definition of apportionable activities in RCW 82.04.460, other than17
the business of making wholesale sales taxed under RCW 82.04.257(1)18
or 82.04.270, ((except as provided in RCW 82.32.531,)) a person is19
deemed to have a substantial nexus with this state if the person has20
a physical presence in this state during the tax year, which need21
only be demonstrably more than a slightest presence.22

(iii) For purposes of the taxes imposed under this chapter on the23
business of making sales at retail taxable under RCW 82.04.250(1) or24
82.04.257(1), a person is also deemed to have a substantial nexus25
with this state if the person's receipts from this state, pursuant to26
subsection (4)(c) of this section, meet either criterion in27
subsection (1)(c)(iii) or (iv) of this section, as adjusted under28
subsection (5) of this section.29

(b) For purposes of this subsection, a person is physically30
present in this state if the person has property or employees in this31
state.32

(c)(i) A person is also physically present in this state for the33
purposes of this subsection if the person, either directly or through34
an agent or other representative, engages in activities in this state35
that are significantly associated with the person's ability to36
establish or maintain a market for its products in this state.37

(ii) A remote seller as defined in RCW 82.08.052 is presumed to38
be engaged in activities in this state that are significantly39
associated with the remote seller's ability to establish or maintain40
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a market for its products in this state if the remote seller is1
presumed to have a substantial nexus with this state under RCW2
82.08.052. The presumption in this subsection (6)(c)(ii) may be3
rebutted as provided in RCW 82.08.052. To the extent that the4
presumption in RCW 82.08.052 is no longer operative pursuant to RCW5
82.32.762, the presumption in this subsection (6)(c)(ii) is no longer6
operative. ((Nothing in this section may be construed to affect in7
any way RCW 82.04.424, 82.08.050(11), or 82.12.040(5) or to narrow8
the scope of the terms "agent" or "other representative" in this9
subsection (6)(c).))10

Sec. 203.  RCW 82.04.220 and 2011 1st sp.s. c 20 s 101 are each11
amended to read as follows:12

(1) There is levied and collected from every person that has a13
substantial nexus with this state a tax for the act or privilege of14
engaging in business activities. The tax is measured by the15
application of rates against value of products, gross proceeds of16
sales, or gross income of the business, as the case may be.17

(2)(a) A person who has a substantial nexus with this state in18
((any tax year under the provisions of RCW 82.04.067 will be deemed19
to have a substantial nexus with this state for the following tax20
year)) the current calendar year under the provisions of RCW21
82.04.067, based solely on the person's property, payroll, or22
receipts in this state during the current calendar year, is subject23
to the tax imposed under this chapter for the current calendar year24
only on business activity occurring on and after the date that the25
person established a substantial nexus with this state in the current26
calendar year.27

(b) This subsection (2) does not apply to any person who also had28
a substantial nexus with this state (i) during the immediately29
preceding calendar year under RCW 82.04.067, or (ii) during the30
current calendar year under RCW 82.04.067 (1) (a) or (b) or (6)31
(a)(ii) or (c).32

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 204.  RCW 82.04.424 (Exemptions—Certain in-33
state activities) and 2015 3rd sp.s. c 5 s 206 & 2003 c 76 s 2 are34
each repealed.35
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NEW SECTION.  Sec. 205.  A new section is added to chapter 82.081
RCW to be codified between RCW 82.08.050 and 82.08.052 to read as2
follows:3

A seller with a substantial nexus with this state must comply4
with the provisions of this chapter.5

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 206.  A new section is added to chapter 82.086
RCW to be codified between RCW 82.08.052 and 82.08.054 to read as7
follows:8

(1) A seller has a substantial nexus with this state during a9
calendar year for the purposes of collecting the taxes imposed under10
this chapter if, during the current or immediately preceding calendar11
year:12

(a) The seller had its property or employees in this state for13
the seller's business purposes; or14

(b) The seller's receipts from retail sales in this state,15
pursuant to RCW 82.04.067(4), meet either criterion in RCW16
82.04.067(1)(c) (iii) or (iv), as adjusted under RCW 82.04.067(5).17

(2) A seller also has a substantial nexus with this state during18
a calendar year for the purposes of collecting the taxes imposed19
under this chapter if the seller's total gross proceeds of sales at20
retail sourced to this state under RCW 82.32.730 exceed ten thousand21
dollars during the current or immediately preceding calendar year and22
at any time during such current or immediately preceding calendar23
year:24

(a)(i) The seller offers its products for sale through one or25
more marketplaces operated by any marketplace facilitator that has a26
substantial nexus with this state; or27

(ii) The seller or another person, as the case may be, including28
an affiliated person, other than a common carrier acting solely as a29
common carrier, engages in or performs any of the following30
activities in this state, but not including the activities described31
in RCW 82.08.052:32

(A) Sells a similar line of products as the seller and does so33
under the same business name as the seller or a similar business name34
as the seller;35

(B) Uses its employees, agents, representatives, or independent36
contractors in this state to promote or facilitate sales by the37
seller to purchasers in this state;38
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(C) Maintains, occupies, or uses an office, distribution1
facility, warehouse, storage place, or similar place of business in2
this state to facilitate the delivery or sale of tangible personal3
property sold by the seller to the seller's purchasers in this state;4

(D) Uses, with the seller's consent or knowledge, trademarks,5
service marks, or trade names in this state that are the same or6
substantially similar to those used by the seller;7

(E) Delivers, installs, assembles, or performs maintenance or8
repair services for the seller's purchasers in this state;9

(F) Facilitates the sale of tangible personal property to10
purchasers in this state by allowing the seller's purchasers in this11
state to pick up or return tangible personal property sold by the12
seller at an office, distribution facility, warehouse, storage place,13
or any other place of business maintained by that person in this14
state;15

(G) Shares management, business systems, business practices, or16
employees with the seller or, in the case of an affiliated person,17
engages in intercompany transactions related to the activities18
occurring with the seller to establish or maintain the seller's19
market in this state; or20

(H) Conducts any other activities in this state that are21
significantly associated with the seller's ability to establish and22
maintain a market in this state for the seller's sales of products to23
purchasers in this state; or24

(b)(i) The seller is under contract with a payment processor or25
merchant bank, or accepts credit cards issued either by a financial26
institution under a license from a credit card association or by an27
entity that also authorizes purchases and settles with consumers and28
merchants, if the payment processor, merchant bank, credit card29
association, or credit card issuer has a substantial nexus with this30
state for purposes of collecting the taxes imposed under this31
chapter.32

(ii) Pursuant to RCW 82.32.330(3)(u), the department may disclose33
the identity of payment processors, credit card associations, credit34
card issuers described in (b)(i) of this subsection (2), and merchant35
banks that have a substantial nexus with this state for purposes of36
collecting the taxes imposed under this chapter.37

(3)(a) For purposes of subsection (2)(a)(i) of this section, a38
marketplace facilitator is deemed to have a substantial nexus with39
this state during a calendar year if:40
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(i) The marketplace facilitator or any affiliated person1
maintained a physical presence in this state during any portion of2
the current or immediately preceding calendar year to engage in any3
of the activities described in subsection (5)(a)(i) or (ii) of this4
section; or5

(ii) The marketplace facilitator generated more than ten thousand6
dollars of gross proceeds of sales in the current or immediately7
preceding calendar year from retail sales made through its physical8
or electronic marketplace by sellers that are physically located in9
this state. For purposes of this subsection (3)(a)(ii), a seller is10
presumed to be physically located in this state if the address for11
the seller maintained in the business records of the marketplace12
facilitator is in this state.13

(b) Pursuant to RCW 82.32.330(3)(u), the department may disclose14
the identity of marketplace facilitators that have a substantial15
nexus with this state for purposes of collecting the taxes imposed16
under this chapter.17

(4) For purposes of this section, persons are "affiliated18
persons" with respect to each other where one of the persons has an19
ownership interest of more than five percent, whether direct or20
indirect, in the other, or where an ownership interest of more than21
five percent, whether direct or indirect, is held in each of the22
persons by another person or by a group of other persons who are23
affiliated with respect to each other.24

(5) The definitions in this subsection apply throughout this25
section unless the context clearly requires otherwise.26

(a) "Marketplace facilitator" means a person that contracts with27
sellers to facilitate, for consideration, the sale of the seller's28
products through a physical or electronic marketplace operated by the29
person, and engages, either directly or indirectly, through one or30
more affiliated persons, in:31

(i) Any of the following:32
(A) Transmitting or otherwise communicating the offer or33

acceptance between the buyer and seller;34
(B) Owning or operating the infrastructure, electronic or35

physical, or technology that brings buyers and sellers together;36
(C) Providing a virtual currency that buyers are allowed or37

required to use to purchase products from the seller; or38
(D) Software development or research and development activities39

related to any of the activities described in (a)(i)(A) through (C)40
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or (ii)(A) through (H) of this subsection (5), if such activities are1
directly related to a physical or electronic marketplace operated by2
the person or an affiliated person; and3

(ii) Any of the following activities with respect to the seller's4
products:5

(A) Payment processing services;6
(B) Fulfillment or storage services;7
(C) Listing products for sale;8
(D) Setting prices;9
(E) Branding sales as those of the marketplace facilitator;10
(F) Order taking;11
(G) Advertising or promotion; or12
(H) Providing customer service or accepting or assisting with13

returns or exchanges.14
(b) "Merchant bank" means a financial institution or any other15

member of a credit card network that allows the seller to accept16
credit card payments and is responsible for depositing transaction17
proceeds into the seller's designated account.18

(c) "Payment processor" means a person that contracts directly19
with a seller to provide settlement for the seller's credit card,20
debit card, or other payment transactions.21

(d) "Product" means any property or service that is sold in a22
sale at retail as defined in RCW 82.04.050.23

(6) This section is subject to RCW 82.32.762.24

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 207.  A new section is added to chapter 82.0825
RCW to be codified between section 206 of this act and RCW 82.08.05426
to read as follows:27

(1) For purposes of this chapter, a marketplace facilitator is28
deemed to be an agent of any marketplace seller making retail sales29
through the marketplace facilitator's physical or electronic30
marketplace. A marketplace facilitator with a substantial nexus with31
this state must collect and remit to the department the taxes imposed32
under this chapter on all taxable retail sales made through the33
marketplace facilitator's marketplace and sourced to this state under34
RCW 82.32.730, whether as principal or as the agent of a marketplace35
seller.36

(2) A marketplace facilitator is relieved of liability under this37
chapter for failure to collect the correct amount of tax to the38
extent that the marketplace facilitator can show to the department's39

p. 14 SB 5856



satisfaction that the error was due to incorrect information given to1
the marketplace facilitator by the marketplace seller, unless the2
marketplace facilitator and marketplace seller are affiliated3
persons. Where the marketplace facilitator is relieved of liability4
under this subsection (2), the marketplace seller is solely liable5
for the amount of uncollected tax due.6

(3)(a) A marketplace facilitator is relieved of liability under7
this chapter for the failure to collect tax on taxable retail sales8
to the extent that the marketplace facilitator can show to the9
department's satisfaction that:10

(i) The taxable retail sale was made through the marketplace11
facilitator's marketplace;12

(ii) The taxable retail sale was made solely as the agent of a13
marketplace seller, and the marketplace facilitator and marketplace14
seller are not affiliated persons; and15

(iii) The failure to collect sales tax was not due to an error in16
sourcing the sale under RCW 82.32.730.17

(b) Where the marketplace facilitator is relieved of liability18
under this subsection (3), the marketplace seller is also relieved of19
liability for the amount of uncollected tax due, subject to the20
limitations in subsection (4) of this section.21

(4) A marketplace seller with a substantial nexus with this state22
is relieved of its obligation to collect the taxes imposed under this23
chapter on all taxable retail sales through a marketplace operated by24
a marketplace facilitator if the marketplace seller has obtained25
documentation from the marketplace facilitator indicating that the26
marketplace facilitator is registered with the department and will27
collect all applicable taxes due under this chapter on all taxable28
retail sales made on behalf of the marketplace seller through the29
marketplace operated by the marketplace facilitator. The30
documentation required by this subsection (4) must be provided in a31
form and manner prescribed by or acceptable to the department. This32
subsection (4) does not relieve a marketplace seller from liability33
for uncollected taxes due under this chapter resulting from a34
marketplace facilitator's failure to collect the proper amount of tax35
due when the error was due to incorrect information given to the36
marketplace facilitator by the marketplace seller.37

(5) Nothing in this section affects the obligation of any38
purchaser to remit sales or use tax as to any applicable taxable39
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transaction in which the seller or the seller's agent does not1
collect and remit sales tax.2

(6) For purposes of this section, the following definitions3
apply:4

(a) "Affiliated person" has the same meaning as in section 206 of5
this act.6

(b) "Marketplace facilitator" has the same meaning as in section7
206 of this act.8

(c) "Marketplace seller" means a seller that makes retail sales9
through any physical or electronic marketplace operated by a10
marketplace facilitator, regardless of whether the seller is required11
to be registered with the department as provided in RCW 82.32.030.12

(7) This section is subject to RCW 82.32.762.13

Sec. 208.  RCW 82.08.050 and 2010 c 112 s 8 are each amended to14
read as follows:15

(1)(a) The tax imposed in this chapter must be paid by the buyer16
to the seller. Each seller must collect from the buyer the full17
amount of the tax payable in respect to each taxable sale in18
accordance with the schedule of collections adopted by the department19
under the provisions of RCW 82.08.060.20

(b) Sellers, including marketplace facilitators as defined in21
section 206 of this act, establishing a substantial nexus with this22
state during the current calendar year based solely on the provisions23
of section 206 (1)(b), (2), or (3)(a)(ii) of this act, and who did24
not have a substantial nexus with this state during the immediately25
preceding calendar year for purposes of collecting the taxes imposed26
under this chapter, must begin collecting state and local sales taxes27
on taxable retail sales sourced to this state beginning on the first28
day of the calendar month that is at least thirty days from the date29
that the person established a substantial nexus with this state.30

(2) The tax required by this chapter, to be collected by the31
seller, is deemed to be held in trust by the seller until paid to the32
department. Any seller who appropriates or converts the tax collected33
to the seller's own use or to any use other than the payment of the34
tax to the extent that the money required to be collected is not35
available for payment on the due date as prescribed in this chapter36
is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.37

(3) Except as otherwise provided in this section, if any seller38
fails to collect the tax imposed in this chapter or, having collected39
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the tax, fails to pay it to the department in the manner prescribed1
by this chapter, whether such failure is the result of the seller's2
own acts or the result of acts or conditions beyond the seller's3
control, the seller is, nevertheless, personally liable to the state4
for the amount of the tax.5

(4) Sellers are not relieved from personal liability for the6
amount of the tax unless they maintain proper records of exempt or7
nontaxable transactions and provide them to the department when8
requested.9

(5) Sellers are not relieved from personal liability for the10
amount of tax if they fraudulently fail to collect the tax or if they11
solicit purchasers to participate in an unlawful claim of exemption.12

(6) Sellers are not relieved from personal liability for the13
amount of tax if they accept an exemption certificate from a14
purchaser claiming an entity-based exemption if:15

(a) The subject of the transaction sought to be covered by the16
exemption certificate is actually received by the purchaser at a17
location operated by the seller in Washington; and18

(b) Washington provides an exemption certificate that clearly and19
affirmatively indicates that the claimed exemption is not available20
in Washington. Graying out exemption reason types on a uniform form21
and posting it on the department's web site is a clear and22
affirmative indication that the grayed out exemptions are not23
available.24

(7)(a) Sellers are relieved from personal liability for the25
amount of tax if they obtain a fully completed exemption certificate26
or capture the relevant data elements required under the streamlined27
sales and use tax agreement within ninety days, or a longer period as28
may be provided by rule by the department, subsequent to the date of29
sale.30

(b) If the seller has not obtained an exemption certificate or31
all relevant data elements required under the streamlined sales and32
use tax agreement within the period allowed subsequent to the date of33
sale, the seller may, within one hundred twenty days, or a longer34
period as may be provided by rule by the department, subsequent to a35
request for substantiation by the department, either prove that the36
transaction was not subject to tax by other means or obtain a fully37
completed exemption certificate from the purchaser, taken in good38
faith.39
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(c) Sellers are relieved from personal liability for the amount1
of tax if they obtain a blanket exemption certificate for a purchaser2
with which the seller has a recurring business relationship. The3
department may not request from a seller renewal of blanket exemption4
certificates or updates of exemption certificate information or data5
elements if there is a recurring business relationship between the6
buyer and seller. For purposes of this subsection (7)(c), a7
"recurring business relationship" means at least one sale transaction8
within a period of twelve consecutive months.9

(d) Sellers are relieved from personal liability for the amount10
of tax if they obtain a copy of a direct pay permit issued under RCW11
82.32.087.12

(8) The amount of tax, until paid by the buyer to the seller or13
to the department, constitutes a debt from the buyer to the seller.14
Any seller who fails or refuses to collect the tax as required with15
intent to violate the provisions of this chapter or to gain some16
advantage or benefit, either direct or indirect, and any buyer who17
refuses to pay any tax due under this chapter is guilty of a18
misdemeanor.19

(9) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the tax20
required by this chapter to be collected by the seller must be stated21
separately from the selling price in any sales invoice or other22
instrument of sale. On all retail sales through vending machines, the23
tax need not be stated separately from the selling price or collected24
separately from the buyer. Except as otherwise provided in this25
subsection, for purposes of determining the tax due from the buyer to26
the seller and from the seller to the department it must be27
conclusively presumed that the selling price quoted in any price28
list, sales document, contract or other agreement between the parties29
does not include the tax imposed by this chapter. But if the seller30
advertises the price as including the tax or that the seller is31
paying the tax, the advertised price may not be considered the32
selling price.33

(10) Where a buyer has failed to pay to the seller the tax34
imposed by this chapter and the seller has not paid the amount of the35
tax to the department, the department may, in its discretion, proceed36
directly against the buyer for collection of the tax. If the37
department proceeds directly against the buyer for collection of the38
tax as authorized in this subsection, the department may add a39
penalty of ten percent of the unpaid tax to the amount of the tax due40
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for failure of the buyer to pay the tax to the seller, regardless of1
when the tax may be collected by the department. In addition to the2
penalty authorized in this subsection, all of the provisions of3
chapter 82.32 RCW, including those relative to interest and4
penalties, apply. For the sole purpose of applying the various5
provisions of chapter 82.32 RCW, the twenty-fifth day of the month6
following the tax period in which the purchase was made will be7
considered as the due date of the tax.8

(11) ((Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (10) of this9
section, any person making sales is not obligated to collect the tax10
imposed by this chapter if:11

(a) The person's activities in this state, whether conducted12
directly or through another person, are limited to:13

(i) The storage, dissemination, or display of advertising;14
(ii) The taking of orders; or15
(iii) The processing of payments; and16
(b) The activities are conducted electronically via a web site on17

a server or other computer equipment located in Washington that is18
not owned or operated by the person making sales into this state nor19
owned or operated by an affiliated person. "Affiliated persons" has20
the same meaning as provided in RCW 82.04.424.21

(12) Subsection (11) of this section expires when: (a) The United22
States congress grants individual states the authority to impose23
sales and use tax collection duties on remote sellers; or (b) it is24
determined by a court of competent jurisdiction, in a judgment not25
subject to review, that a state can impose sales and use tax26
collection duties on remote sellers.27

(13) For purposes of this section:)) The definitions in this28
subsection apply throughout this section unless the context clearly29
requires otherwise.30

(a) "Exemption certificate" means documentation furnished by a31
buyer to a seller to claim an exemption from sales tax. An exemption32
certificate includes a reseller permit or other documentation33
authorized in RCW 82.04.470 furnished by a buyer to a seller to34
substantiate a wholesale sale; and35

(b) "Seller" includes a certified service provider, as defined in36
RCW 82.32.020, acting as agent for the seller.37

Sec. 209.  RCW 82.08.052 and 2015 3rd sp.s. c 5 s 202 are each38
amended to read as follows:39
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(1) For purposes of this chapter, a remote seller is presumed to1
have a substantial nexus with this state and is obligated to collect2
retail sales tax during the current calendar year if the remote3
seller enters into an agreement with a resident of this state under4
which the resident, for a commission or other consideration, directly5
or indirectly refers potential customers, whether by a link on an6
internet web site or otherwise, to the remote seller, if the7
cumulative gross receipts from sales by the remote seller to8
Washington customers ((in this state)) who are referred to the remote9
seller by all residents with this type of an agreement with the10
remote seller exceed ten thousand dollars during the current or11
immediately preceding calendar year. This presumption may be rebutted12
by proof that the resident with whom the remote seller has an13
agreement did not engage in any solicitation in this state on behalf14
of the remote seller that would satisfy the nexus requirement of the15
United States Constitution during the calendar year in question.16
Proof may be shown by (a) establishing, in a manner acceptable to the17
department, that (i) each in-state person with whom the remote seller18
has an agreement is prohibited from engaging in any solicitation19
activities in this state that refer potential customers to the remote20
seller, and (ii) such in-state person or persons have complied with21
that prohibition; or (b) any other means as may be approved by the22
department.23

(2) The definitions in this subsection apply throughout this24
section unless the context clearly requires otherwise.25

(a) "Remote seller" means a seller that makes retail sales in26
this state through one or more agreements described in subsection (1)27
of this section, and the seller's other physical presence in this28
state, if any, is not sufficient to establish a retail sales or use29
tax collection obligation under the commerce clause of the United30
States Constitution.31

(b) "Washington customer" means a purchaser of goods or services32
that are received in this state by the purchaser or the purchaser's33
donee. "Washington customer" also means a purchaser that provides a34
seller with an address in this state during the consummation of the35
sale, if the location where the goods or services are received by the36
purchaser or the purchaser's donee is not known.37

(3) ((Nothing in this section may be construed to affect in any38
way RCW 82.04.424, 82.08.050(11), or 82.12.040(5).39

(4))) This section is subject to RCW 82.32.762.40
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Sec. 210.  RCW 82.12.040 and 2015 c 169 s 9 are each amended to1
read as follows:2

(1) Every person who ((maintains in this state a place of3
business or a stock of goods, or engages in business activities4
within this state,)) has a substantial nexus with this state based on5
RCW 82.08.052 or section 206 of this act must obtain from the6
department a certificate of registration, and must, at the time of7
making sales of tangible personal property, digital goods, digital8
codes, digital automated services, extended warranties, or sales of9
any service defined as a retail sale in RCW 82.04.050 (2) (a) or (g)10
or (6)(((b))) (c), or making transfers of either possession or title,11
or both, of tangible personal property for use in this state, collect12
from the purchasers or transferees the tax imposed under this13
chapter. The tax to be collected under this section must be in an14
amount equal to the purchase price multiplied by the rate in effect15
for the retail sales tax under RCW 82.08.020. ((For the purposes of16
this chapter, the phrase "maintains in this state a place of17
business" includes the solicitation of sales and/or taking of orders18
by sales agents or traveling representatives. For the purposes of19
this chapter, "engages in business activity within this state"20
includes every activity which is sufficient under the Constitution of21
the United States for this state to require collection of tax under22
this chapter. The department must in rules specify activities which23
constitute engaging in business activity within this state, and must24
keep the rules current with future court interpretations of the25
Constitution of the United States.))26

(2) Every person who engages in this state in the business of27
acting as an independent selling agent for persons who do not hold a28
valid certificate of registration, and who receives compensation by29
reason of sales of tangible personal property, digital goods, digital30
codes, digital automated services, extended warranties, or sales of31
any service defined as a retail sale in RCW 82.04.050 (2) (a) or (g)32
or (6)(((b))) (c), of his or her principals for use in this state,33
must, at the time such sales are made, collect from the purchasers34
the tax imposed on the purchase price under this chapter, and for35
that purpose is deemed a retailer as defined in this chapter.36

(3) The tax required to be collected by this chapter is deemed to37
be held in trust by the retailer until paid to the department, and38
any retailer who appropriates or converts the tax collected to the39
retailer's own use or to any use other than the payment of the tax40
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provided herein to the extent that the money required to be collected1
is not available for payment on the due date as prescribed is guilty2
of a misdemeanor. In case any seller fails to collect the tax herein3
imposed or having collected the tax, fails to pay the same to the4
department in the manner prescribed, whether such failure is the5
result of the seller's own acts or the result of acts or conditions6
beyond the seller's control, the seller is nevertheless personally7
liable to the state for the amount of such tax, unless the seller has8
taken from the buyer a copy of a direct pay permit issued under RCW9
82.32.087.10

(4) Any retailer who refunds, remits, or rebates to a purchaser,11
or transferee, either directly or indirectly, and by whatever means,12
all or any part of the tax levied by this chapter is guilty of a13
misdemeanor.14

(5) ((Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (4) of this15
section, any person making sales is not obligated to collect the tax16
imposed by this chapter if:17

(a) The person's activities in this state, whether conducted18
directly or through another person, are limited to:19

(i) The storage, dissemination, or display of advertising;20
(ii) The taking of orders; or21
(iii) The processing of payments; and22
(b) The activities are conducted electronically via a web site on23

a server or other computer equipment located in Washington that is24
not owned or operated by the person making sales into this state nor25
owned or operated by an affiliated person. "Affiliated persons" has26
the same meaning as provided in RCW 82.04.424.27

(6) Subsection (5) of this section expires when: (a) The United28
States congress grants individual states the authority to impose29
sales and use tax collection duties on remote sellers; or (b) it is30
determined by a court of competent jurisdiction, in a judgment not31
subject to review, that a state can impose sales and use tax32
collection duties on remote sellers.33

(7))) Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (4) of this34
section, any person making sales is not obligated to collect the tax35
imposed by this chapter if the person would have been obligated to36
collect retail sales tax on the sale absent a specific exemption37
provided in chapter 82.08 RCW, and there is no corresponding use tax38
exemption in this chapter. Nothing in this subsection (((7))) (5) may39
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be construed as relieving purchasers from liability for reporting and1
remitting the tax due under this chapter directly to the department.2

(((8))) (6) Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (4) of this3
section, any person making sales is not obligated to collect the tax4
imposed by this chapter if the state is prohibited under the5
Constitution or laws of the United States from requiring the person6
to collect the tax imposed by this chapter.7

(((9))) (7) Notwithstanding subsections (1) through (4) of this8
section, any licensed dealer facilitating a firearm sale or transfer9
between two unlicensed persons by conducting background checks under10
chapter 9.41 RCW is not obligated to collect the tax imposed by this11
chapter.12

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 211.  A new section is added to chapter 82.3213
RCW to read as follows:14

(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, and whether or15
not the department initiates an audit or other tax collection16
procedure, the department may bring a declaratory judgment action17
under chapter 7.24 RCW, regardless of any other remedy available to18
the department, against any person the department believes has a19
substantial nexus with this state under section 206(1)(b) of this act20
to establish that the obligation to remit sales tax is applicable and21
valid under state and federal law.22

(2) The filing of the declaratory judgment action by the23
department as authorized in this section prohibits the department,24
during the pendency of the action and any subsequent appeal, from25
enforcing the tax collection obligations of chapter 82.08 RCW against26
any remote seller who does not affirmatively consent or otherwise27
remit sales tax to the department on a voluntary basis. The28
prohibition in this subsection does not apply if there is a previous29
judgment from a court establishing the validity of the tax collection30
obligations of chapter 82.08 RCW with respect to the particular31
taxpayer.32

(3) Notwithstanding any other provisions of state law, attorneys'33
fees may not be awarded to any party in any action brought pursuant34
to this section or any appeal from any action brought pursuant to35
this section.36

(4) For purposes of this section, "remote seller" means any37
seller that makes retail sales in this state but does not have a38
physical presence in this state.39
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NEW SECTION.  Sec. 212.  A new section is added to chapter 82.321
RCW to read as follows:2

(1) A taxpayer that, for the purposes of the tax collection3
obligations in chapter 82.08 RCW, has a substantial nexus with this4
state solely under the provisions of section 206(1)(b) of this act5
and is complying with the requirements of chapter 82.08 RCW,6
voluntarily or otherwise, may only seek a recovery of sales taxes,7
penalties, or interest from the department by following the recovery8
procedures established under RCW 82.32.060. However, no claim may be9
granted on the basis that the taxpayer lacked a physical presence in10
the state and complied with the tax collection provisions of chapter11
82.08 RCW voluntarily while covered by the prohibition on enforcement12
provided in section 211 of this act.13

(2) Neither the state nor any seller who remits sales tax14
voluntarily or otherwise under this act is liable to a purchaser who15
claims that the sales tax has been over collected because a provision16
of this act is later deemed unlawful.17

(3) Nothing in this act affects the obligation of any purchaser18
from this state to remit sales or use tax as to any applicable19
taxable transaction in which the seller does not collect and remit20
sales tax.21

Sec. 213.  RCW 82.32.762 and 2015 3rd sp.s. c 5 s 205 are each22
amended to read as follows:23

(1) If the department determines that a change, taking effect24
after ((September 1, 2015)) the effective date of this section, in25
the streamlined sales and use tax agreement or federal law creates a26
conflict with any provision of RCW 82.08.052, section 206 of this27
act, or section 207 of this act, such conflicting provision or28
provisions of RCW 82.08.052, section 206 of this act, or section 20729
of this act, including any related provisions that would not function30
as originally intended, have no further force and effect as of the31
date the change in the streamlined sales and use tax agreement or32
federal law becomes effective.33

(2) For purposes of this section:34
(a) A change in federal law conflicts with RCW 82.08.052, section35

206 of this act, or section 207 of this act if the change clearly36
allows states to impose greater sales and use tax collection37
obligations on remote sellers than provided for, or clearly prevents38
states from imposing sales and use tax collection obligations on39
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remote sellers to the extent provided for, under RCW 82.08.052,1
section 206 of this act, or section 207 of this act.2

(b) A change in the streamlined sales and use tax agreement3
conflicts with RCW 82.08.052, section 206 of this act, or section 2074
of this act if one or more provisions of RCW 82.08.052, section 2065
of this act, or section 207 of this act causes this state to be found6
out of compliance with the streamlined sales and use tax agreement by7
its governing board.8

(3) If the department makes a determination under this section9
that a change in federal law or the streamlined sales and use tax10
agreement conflicts with one or more provisions of RCW 82.08.052,11
section 206 of this act, or section 207 of this act, the department:12

(a) May adopt rules in accordance with chapter 34.05 RCW that are13
consistent with the streamlined sales and use tax agreement and that14
impose sales and use tax collection obligations on remote sellers to15
the fullest extent allowed under state and federal law; and16

(b) Must include information on its web site informing taxpayers17
and the public (i) of the provision or provisions of RCW 82.08.052,18
section 206 of this act, or section 207 of this act that will have no19
further force and effect, (ii) when such change will become20
effective, and (iii) about how to participate in any rule making21
conducted by the department in accordance with (a) of this subsection22
(3).23

(4) For purposes of this section, "remote seller" has the same24
meaning as in RCW 82.08.052.25

Part III26
Sales and Use Tax Notice and Reporting Requirements27

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 301.  The definitions in this section apply28
throughout this chapter unless the context clearly requires29
otherwise.30

(1) "Consumer" has the same meaning as in chapters 82.04, 82.08,31
and 82.12 RCW.32

(2) "Department" has the same meaning as in RCW 82.02.010.33
(3) "Product" has the same meaning as in RCW 82.32.023.34
(4) "Purchaser" means any consumer who purchases or leases a35

product sourced to this state under RCW 82.32.730.36
(5) "Retail sale" has the same meaning as in RCW 82.04.050.37
(6) "Sale" has the same meaning as in RCW 82.04.040.38
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(7) "Seller" has the same meaning as in RCW 82.08.010, and1
includes a marketplace facilitator as defined in section 206 of this2
act.3

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 302.  (1) Except as otherwise provided in4
subsection (5) of this section, a seller who does not collect the tax5
imposed under chapter 82.08 or 82.12 RCW on a taxable retail sale6
must comply with the notice and reporting requirements of this7
section. For taxable retail sales made through a marketplace8
facilitator or other agent, the marketplace facilitator or other9
agent must comply with the notice and reporting requirements of this10
section, and the principal is not subject to the notice and reporting11
requirements of this section with respect to those sales.12

(2) A seller subject to the notice and reporting requirements of13
this section must provide a notice to each consumer at the time of14
each taxable retail sale.15

(a) The notice under this subsection (2) must include the16
following information:17

(i) A statement that neither sales nor use tax is being collected18
or remitted upon the sale;19

(ii) A statement that the consumer may be required to remit sales20
or use tax directly to the department; and21

(iii) Instructions for obtaining additional information from the22
department regarding whether and how to remit the sales or use tax to23
the department.24

(b) The notice under this subsection (2) must be prominently25
displayed on all invoices and order forms, including, where26
applicable, electronic and catalogue invoices and order forms, and27
upon each sales receipt or similar document provided to the28
purchaser, whether in paper or electronic form. No indication may be29
made that sales or use tax is not imposed upon the transaction,30
unless:31

(i) Such indication is followed immediately with the notice32
required by this subsection (2); or33

(ii) The transaction with respect to which the indication is34
given is exempt from sales and use tax pursuant to law.35

(3) A seller subject to the notice and reporting requirements of36
this section must, no later than January 31st of each year, provide a37
report to each consumer for whom the seller was required to provide a38
notice under subsection (2) of this section.39
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(a) The report under this subsection (3) must include:1
(i) A statement that the seller did not collect sales or use tax2

on the consumer's transactions with the seller and that the consumer3
may be required to remit such tax directly to the department;4

(ii) A list, by date, generally indicating the type of product5
purchased or leased during the immediately preceding calendar year by6
the consumer from the seller sourced to this state under RCW7
82.32.730 and the price of each product;8

(iii) Instructions for obtaining additional information from the9
department regarding whether and how to remit the sales or use tax to10
the department;11

(iv) A statement that the seller is required to submit a report12
to the department pursuant to subsection (4) of this section stating13
the total dollar amount of the consumer's purchases from the seller;14
and15

(v) Any information as the department may reasonably require.16
(b) The report required under this subsection (3) must be sent to17

the consumer's billing address, or if unknown, the consumer's18
shipping address, in an envelope marked prominently with words19
indicating important tax information is enclosed. If no billing or20
shipping address is known, the report must be sent electronically to21
the consumer's last known email address with a subject heading22
indicating important tax information is enclosed.23

(4) A seller subject to the notice and reporting requirements of24
this section must, no later than January 31st of each year, file a25
report with the department.26

(a) The report under this subsection (4) must include, with27
respect to each consumer to whom the seller is required to provide a28
report under subsection (3) of this section by January 31st of the29
current calendar year:30

(i) The consumer's name;31
(ii) The billing address and, if different, the last known32

mailing address;33
(iii) The shipping address for each product sold or leased to34

such consumer for delivery to a location in this state during the35
immediately preceding calendar year; and36

(iv) The total dollar amount of all such purchases by such37
consumer.38

(b) The report under this subsection (4) must be filed39
electronically in a form and manner required by the department.40
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(5) The following exemptions to the notice and reporting1
requirements of this section apply:2

(a) A seller who made less than two hundred thousand dollars in3
total worldwide gross retail sales during the immediately preceding4
calendar year is not required to file reports under subsections (3)5
and (4) of this section in the current calendar year.6

(b) A seller who made less than one hundred thousand dollars in7
total worldwide gross retail sales during the immediately preceding8
calendar year is not required to provide notice under subsection (2)9
of this section with respect to retail sales made in the current10
calendar year.11

(c) A seller who made less than one hundred thousand dollars in12
total gross retail sales sourced to this state under RCW 82.32.73013
during the immediately preceding calendar year is not required to14
file reports under subsections (3) and (4) of this section in the15
current calendar year.16

(d) A seller who made less than fifty thousand dollars in total17
gross retail sales sourced to this state under RCW 82.32.730 during18
the immediately preceding calendar year is not required to provide19
notice under subsection (2) of this section with respect to retail20
sales made in the current calendar year.21

(e) A seller who is registered with the department to collect and22
remit sales and use tax, and who makes a reasonable effort to comply23
with the requirements of RCW 82.08.050 and 82.12.040, is not required24
to provide notice or file reports under this section.25

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 303.  (1) The following penalties apply to any26
seller who fails to provide notices and reports as required by27
section 302 of this act:28

(a) The department must assess a penalty against any seller who29
fails to provide notice as required by section 302(2) of this act, in30
addition to any other applicable penalties, in the amount of five31
dollars for each such failure.32

(b) The department must assess a penalty against any seller who33
fails to provide a report as required by section 302(3) of this act,34
in addition to any other applicable penalty, in the amount of ten35
dollars for each such failure.36

(c) The department must assess a penalty against any seller who37
fails to file a report as required by section 302(4) of this act, in38
addition to any other applicable penalty, equal to ten dollars times39

p. 28 SB 5856



the number of such consumers that should have been included on such1
report.2

(2) When assessing a penalty under this section, the department3
may use any reasonable sampling or estimation technique where4
necessary or appropriate to determine the number of failures in any5
calendar year.6

(3) Interest accrues on the amount of the total penalty that has7
been assessed under this section until the total penalty amount is8
paid in full. Interest imposed under this section must be computed9
and assessed as provided in RCW 82.32.050 as if the penalty imposed10
under this subsection were a tax liability.11

(4) The department must notify a seller by mail, or12
electronically as provided in RCW 82.32.135, of the amount of any13
penalty and interest due under this section. Amounts due under this14
section must be paid in full within thirty days from the date of the15
notice, or within such further time as the department may provide in16
its sole discretion.17

(5)(a)(i) A seller is entitled to a conditional waiver of18
penalties and interest imposed under this section if the seller19
enters into a written agreement with the department committing to20
fully comply with all notice and reporting requirements of this21
chapter beginning by a date acceptable to the department.22

(ii) The department may grant a waiver of penalties and interest23
under this subsection (5)(a) for penalties and interest assessed for24
a seller's failure to comply with the notice and reporting25
requirements for one or more violations.26

(iii) The department may not grant more than one request by a27
seller for a waiver of penalties and interest under this subsection28
(5)(a).29

(iv) The department must reassess penalties and interest30
conditionally waived under this subsection (5)(a) if the department31
finds that, after the date that the seller agreed to fully comply32
with the notice and reporting requirements of this chapter, the33
seller failed to:34

(A) Provide notice under section 302(2) of this act to at least35
ninety-five percent of the consumers entitled to such notice in any36
given calendar year or portion of the initial calendar year in which37
the agreement required under this subsection was in effect if the38
agreement was in effect for less than the entire calendar year;39
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(B) Timely provide the reports required under section 302(3) of1
this act to all consumers who received notice from the seller under2
section 302(2) of this act during any calendar year, unless the3
department finds that any such failure was due to circumstances4
beyond the seller's control; or5

(C) Timely provide the reports required under section 302(4) of6
this act during any calendar year, unless the department finds that7
any such failure was due to circumstances beyond the seller's8
control.9

(v) The department may not reassess penalties and interest10
conditionally waived under this subsection (5)(a) more than four11
calendar years following the calendar year in which the department12
granted the conditional waiver under this subsection (5)(a).13

(vi) The provisions of subsection (4) of this section apply to14
penalties and interest reassessed under this subsection (5)(a). The15
department may add additional interest on penalties reassessed under16
this subsection (5)(a) only if the total amount of penalties17
reassessed under this subsection (5)(a) is not paid in full by the18
date due. Additional interest authorized under this subsection19
(5)(a)(vi) applies beginning on the day immediately following the day20
that the reassessed penalties were due and accrues until the total21
amount of reassessed penalties are paid in full.22

(b) The department must waive penalties and interest imposed23
under this section if the department determines that the failure of24
the seller to fully comply with the notice or reporting requirements25
was due to circumstances beyond the seller's control.26

(c) A request for a waiver of penalties and interest under this27
subsection must be received by the department in writing and before28
the penalties and interest for which a waiver is requested are due29
pursuant to subsection (4) of this section. The department must deny30
any request for a waiver of penalties and interest that does not31
fully comply with the provisions of this subsection (5)(c).32

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 304.  Chapter 82.32 RCW applies to the33
administration of this chapter.34

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 305.  (1) Except as otherwise provided in this35
section, taxes imposed under chapter 82.08 or 82.12 RCW on a taxable36
retail sale and payable by a consumer directly to the department are37
due, on returns prescribed by the department, by March 1st of the38
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calendar year immediately following the calendar year in which the1
taxable retail sale occurred.2

(2) This section does not apply to the reporting and payment of3
taxes imposed under chapters 82.08 and 82.12 RCW:4

(a) On the retail sale or use of motor vehicles, vessels, or5
aircraft; or6

(b) By consumers who are engaged in business, unless the7
department has relieved the consumer of the requirement to file8
returns pursuant to RCW 82.32.045(4).9

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 306.  Nothing in this chapter relieves sellers10
or consumers who are subject to chapter 82.08 or 82.12 RCW from any11
responsibilities imposed under those chapters. Nor does anything in12
this chapter prevent the department from administering and enforcing13
the taxes imposed under chapter 82.08 or 82.12 RCW with respect to14
any seller or consumer who is subject to such taxes.15

Sec. 307.  RCW 82.32.045 and 2010 1st sp.s. c 23 s 1103 are each16
amended to read as follows:17

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter or chapter18
82.--- RCW (the new chapter created in section 504 of this act),19
payments of the taxes imposed under chapters 82.04, 82.08, 82.12,20
82.14, and 82.16 RCW, along with reports and returns on forms21
prescribed by the department, are due monthly within twenty-five days22
after the end of the month in which the taxable activities occur.23

(2) The department of revenue may relieve any taxpayer or class24
of taxpayers from the obligation of remitting monthly and may require25
the return to cover other longer reporting periods, but in no event26
may returns be filed for a period greater than one year. For these27
taxpayers, tax payments are due on or before the last day of the28
month next succeeding the end of the period covered by the return.29

(3) The department of revenue may also require verified annual30
returns from any taxpayer, setting forth such additional information31
as it may deem necessary to correctly determine tax liability.32

(4) Notwithstanding subsections (1) and (2) of this section, the33
department may relieve any person of the requirement to file returns34
if the following conditions are met:35

(a) The person's value of products, gross proceeds of sales, or36
gross income of the business, from all business activities taxable37
under chapter 82.04 RCW, is less than:38
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(i) Twenty-eight thousand dollars per year; or1
(ii) Forty-six thousand six hundred sixty-seven dollars per year2

for persons generating at least fifty percent of their taxable amount3
from activities taxable under RCW 82.04.255, 82.04.290(2)(a), and4
82.04.285;5

(b) The person's gross income of the business from all activities6
taxable under chapter 82.16 RCW is less than twenty-four thousand7
dollars per year; and8

(c) The person is not required to collect or pay to the9
department of revenue any other tax or fee which the department is10
authorized to collect.11

Part IV12
Revenues to Fund Housing and Public Assistance Programs13

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 401.  A new section is added to chapter 82.3214
RCW to read as follows:15

(1) By December 15th and June 15th of each year, the department16
must estimate the increase in state general fund revenue from the17
taxes collected as a result of parts II and III of this act and18
notify the treasurer of the increase.19

(2) By the last workday of the second and fourth calendar20
quarters, the state treasurer must transfer the amount specified in21
subsection (1) of this section as follows:22

(a) Twelve percent must be deposited into the home security fund23
account and used solely for housing assistance programs pursuant to24
chapter 43.185C RCW;25

(b) Thirty-eight percent must be deposited into the Washington26
housing trust fund account and used solely for construction of low-27
income housing pursuant to chapter 43.185 RCW; and28

(c) Fifty percent must be deposited into the human services29
safety net account created in section 402 of this act.30

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 402.  A new section is added to chapter 74.0431
RCW to read as follows:32

The human services safety net account is created in the state33
treasury. All receipts from section 401(2)(c) of this act must be34
deposited into the account. Moneys in the account may be spent only35
after appropriation. Expenditures from the account may only be used36
for the Washington WorkFirst temporary assistance for needy families37
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program established under chapter 74.08A RCW; the aged, blind, or1
disabled assistance program established under chapter 74.62 RCW; and2
the pregnant women assistance program established under chapter 74.623
RCW.4

Part V5
Miscellaneous6

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 501.  If any provision of this act or its7
application to any person or circumstance is held invalid:8

(1) The remainder of the act or the application of the provision9
to other persons or circumstances is not affected; and10

(2) If the department of revenue is prevented from enforcing11
chapters 82.04, 82.08, and 82.12 RCW against persons without a12
physical presence in this state, the department of revenue must13
impose such provisions to the fullest extent allowed under the14
Constitution and laws of the United States.15

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 502.  The tax collection, reporting, and16
payment obligations imposed by this act apply prospectively only.17

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 503.  For purposes of determining whether a18
person engaged in the business of making sales at retail has a19
substantial nexus with this state under the provisions of RCW20
82.04.067(6)(a)(iii) or section 206 (1)(b), (2), or (3)(a)(ii) of21
this act for taxable periods beginning on the effective date of this22
section through December 31, 2017, the person's gross proceeds of23
sales are based on the entire 2017 calendar year.24

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 504.  Sections 301 through 306 of this act25
constitute a new chapter in Title 82 RCW.26

NEW SECTION.  Sec. 505.  This act is necessary for the immediate27
preservation of the public peace, health, or safety, or support of28
the state government and its existing public institutions, and takes29
effect July 1, 2017.30

--- END ---
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Working Together Since 1967 to Preserve Federalism and Tax Fairness 

 

Report of the Hearing Officer  

Model Sales & Use Tax Notice and Reporting Statute 

 

May 31, 2011 

 

 

 

I. Introduction and Summary 

 
On April 11, 2011, the Executive Committee approved the proposed model Sales 

& Use Tax Notice and Reporting statute for public hearing. Under the proposal, sellers of 

a product that is delivered into a state who do not collect and remit sales or use tax for 

that state are required to: (1) notify purchasers at the time of transaction that tax is not 

being collected and may be due directly to the department, (2) provide purchasers an 

annual report showing their purchases, and (3) provide the department of revenue an 

annual report showing total dollar amount of each purchaser’s purchases.   

 

The hearing was held on May 18, 2011, after 30 days’ notice.  Written and oral 

comments were received from the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and 

Washington State Department of Revenue. (Exhibits A and B). Although neither 

recommends specific changes to the language of the proposed model, both discuss 

important policy, legal, and administrative issues, such as constitutionality and 

compatible with the Streamlined effort.  This report summarizes the proposal and its 

procedure history, reviews the public comment received, and recommends that the model 

be approved, without further amendment.  (Exhibit C, Proposed Model Statute.)  The 

hearing officer also recommends that the resolution adopting the model explicitly 

confirm the Commission’s continued support for efforts, such as the Streamlined effort, 

to achieve collection and remittance by sellers as opposed to buyers. 

 

The report and its recommendations are now before the Executive Committee for 

action.  Executive Committee may either direct further study and consideration of the 

proposal or submit the report to the Commission along with the Executive Committee’s 

own recommendation for action, which may include additional amendments.  (See 

Commission bylaw 7(e)).  If the Executive Committee recommends Commission action, 

then the proposal will be submitted to a bylaw 7 survey of affected Compact member 

states. (See Commission bylaw 7(g)). The bylaw 7 survey asks whether the state would 

consider adopting the proposal.  If a majority of affected Compact member states respond 

affirmatively, the Chairman will submit the proposal for consideration at the 

Commission’s annual business meeting in July, 2011.   

 



 
 

2 

II. The Proposal  

 

A. Background and Procedural History 

 

On March 3, 2010, the Uniformity Committee voted to begin developing a model 

statute, along the lines of a bill that had been introduced in the Colorado legislature just 

days earlier.  A drafting group
1
 was formed to develop a policy question list, which 

served as the basis for the Subcommittee’s teleconference discussions on April 22, 2010; 

May 13, 2010; and June 22, 2010.  On June 22, 2010, the Subcommittee completed its 

preliminary answers to the policy checklist and a draft model reflecting that policy 

direction was provided for Subcommittee discussion at its July, 2010 meeting.  The draft 

was discussed and further developed at a subcommittee teleconference on September 30, 

2010; an in-person meeting on December 7, 2010, and a teleconference on February 8, 

2011.  The Subcommittee then finalized the draft at its in-person meeting on March 1, 

2011, and on March 2, 2011, the Uniformity Committee recommended the model 

favorably to the Executive Committee for submission to public hearing.   

 

On April 11, 2011, the Executive Committee approved the model, without further 

amendment, for public hearing.  The public hearing was held after 30 days’ notice on 

May 18, 2011 in Washington, D.C.  Two sets of written comments were received prior to 

the close of the public comment period on May 20, 2011: 

 

Exhibit A American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)  –  Patricia 

A. Thompson, CPA, Chair of Tax Executive Committee 

 

Exhibit B Washington State Department of Revenue (WA DOR)  – Tim Jennrich, 

Tax Policy Specialist 

 

In addition, oral comments were received during the hearing from Tim Jennrich, WA 

DOR Tax Policy Specialist; Marc Hyman, AICPA Technical Manager; and Jamie 

Yesnowitz, Grant Thornton LLP Senior Manager, on behalf of AICPA. 

 

B. Key Features 

   

Stand-Alone Act: The model is designed so that it can be introduced as a stand-alone Act, 

rather than as part of the tax statute, because it does not impose a tax or require collection 

of a tax. 

 

Notice and Reporting Required: Sellers that do not collect and remit state sales or use 

taxes on items delivered into the state must provide:   

1. Notice to customers at the time of the transaction, as a public service to assist 

customers in understanding that tax is not being collected and that the customer 

may owe the tax directly to the department;  

                                                      
1
 The Drafting Group included Richard Cram (KS), Phil Horwitz (CO), Michael Fatale (MA) and MTC 

staff – Roxanne Bland and Shirley Sicilian. 
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2. Annual report to customers, as a public service to assist customers in remitting 

tax directly to the department; and  

3.  Annual report to the tax department, to assist it in identifying non-filers. 

 

Exceptions: There are exceptions to these requirements for: (1) small sellers, (2) sellers 

with only de minimis in-state sales, and (3) sellers that are registered to collect the tax. 

 

Penalties and Interest: Penalties apply for failure to provide notice or reports, and interest 

accrues on the penalty once it becomes final.   

 

Confidentiality: All customer information received by the tax agency shall be treated as 

confidential taxpayer information. 

 

Since the Commission began development of this proposal, three states have enacted or 

introduced similar legislation.
2
   

 

III. Public Comment and Hearing Officer Recommendations 

 

 At the outset, the Hearing Officer wishes to thank the AICPA and the Washington 

State DOR for their insightful and helpful comments.  Although neither recommends 

specific changes to the language of the proposed model, both discuss important policy, 

legal, and administrative issues.  The AICPA concludes that the proposal should not be 

adopted.  The Washington State DOR cautions that additional sales and use tax related 

issues should be addressed, or should continue to be addressed, if this proposal moves 

forward. 

 

A. Policy Issues - Compatibility with the Streamlined Effort 

 

The AICPA is concerned that adopting the model statute could undermine 

progress toward uniformity made through the collaborative work of the Streamlined 

project because it would unilaterally “force businesses in other states to collect simply to 

avoid burdensome notice and reporting requirements.” (AICPA, point 1, p.1)  The 

hearing officer suggests, to the contrary, the proposal is compatible with, and even 

                                                      
2
 Enacted:  

Colorado – §39-21-112(3.5), C.R.S. (2010) (notice and annual reports to purchaser and 

Department) http://www.michie.com/colorado/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp= ;  

Oklahoma –. Stat. §710:65-21-8 (Notice requirement only) http://www.tax.ok.gov/rules/710-65-

21-8%20ADOPTED.pdf.   

South Dakota – SB 146 (2011) session (requires notice) 

http://legis.state.sd.us/sessions/2011/Bills/SB146ENR.pdf  

   Introduced:  

California – AB 155 (notice and annual reports to purchaser and BOE) 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/11-12/bill/asm/ab_0151-

0200/ab_155_bill_20110118_introduced.html ;  

Hawaii – HB 1183 - (presumes entities with “click-through” affiliates have nexus, requires them 

to file annual report with the Department) 

http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2011/bills/HB1183_.HTM  

 

 

http://www.michie.com/colorado/lpext.dll?f=templates&fn=main-h.htm&cp
http://www.tax.ok.gov/rules/710-65-21-8%20ADOPTED.pdf
http://www.tax.ok.gov/rules/710-65-21-8%20ADOPTED.pdf
http://legis.state.sd.us/sessions/2011/Bills/SB146ENR.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/11-12/bill/asm/ab_0151-0200/ab_155_bill_20110118_introduced.html
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/11-12/bill/asm/ab_0151-0200/ab_155_bill_20110118_introduced.html
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2011/bills/HB1183_.HTM
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complimentary to, the Streamlined effort.  Although the proposal and the Streamlined 

effort both address the same basic problem – low consumers’ use tax compliance – each 

does so in a distinct and complimentary manner.  The Streamlined effort is focused on 

encouraging remote sellers to collect and remit the tax, either purely voluntarily or as 

required by possible federal legislation. The proposal is focused on educating and 

assisting in-state buyers with their use tax responsibilities in situations where the seller 

does not collect and remit for them.     

 

It is generally agreed that collection by sellers is a more efficient mechanism for 

administering sales and use taxes. As the streamlined project makes progress in that 

direction, it is a preferred approach.  The Commission proposal would not change or 

interfere with that effort.  It does not “force” sellers to collect sales tax, either directly by 

its terms or indirectly by imposing an unreasonable administrative burden (see discussion 

below).  Rather, the proposal helps to educate buyers about their own use tax remittance 

responsibilities.  The Washington State DOR points out that the proposal “does not 

address the substantial costs and barriers that will continue to exist with respect to 

collecting sales and use taxes from consumers directly.”  And, for this reason, it is 

important to “support, or continue to support, a comprehensive solution that would give 

states remote seller collection authority over sellers through federal action, including 

federal legislation.”  (WA DOR, bullet point 1) 

 

In fact, the Commission expressed support for both seller collection and buyer 

notification when it adopted resolutions in support of each approach at the same July, 

2000, Commission annual business meeting:   

 

Commission Resolution in Support of Streamlined Sales Tax Project (No. 00-02):
 3 

 

 

…RESOLVED, that the Multistate Tax Commission recognizes the value 

of the Streamlined Sales Tax Project to the tax systems of States that 

impose sales taxes, and to the state tax structure as a whole; and be it 

further 

RESOLVED, that the Multistate Tax Commission commend those who 

are working on the project for their efforts; and be it further 

RESOLVED, that States be encouraged to consider active participation in 

the project….. 

 

And, Commission Resolution in Support of States Achieving Disclosure to Consumers of 

Their Potential Liability for Use Taxes (No. 00-05):
 4

 

 

                                                      
3
 MTC Resolution in Support of Streamlined Sales Tax Project (Resolution No. 00-2) 

http://www.mtc.gov/uploadedFiles/Multistate_Tax_Commission/About_MTC/Policy_S_and_R/2000/00-

2.pdf  

 
4
 MTC Resolution in Support of States Achieving Disclosure to Consumers of Their Potential Liability for 

Use Taxes (Resolution No. 00-5) 

http://www.mtc.gov/uploadedFiles/Multistate_Tax_Commission/About_MTC/Policy_S_and_R/2000/00-

5.pdf  

 

http://www.mtc.gov/uploadedFiles/Multistate_Tax_Commission/About_MTC/Policy_S_and_R/2000/00-2.pdf
http://www.mtc.gov/uploadedFiles/Multistate_Tax_Commission/About_MTC/Policy_S_and_R/2000/00-2.pdf
http://www.mtc.gov/uploadedFiles/Multistate_Tax_Commission/About_MTC/Policy_S_and_R/2000/00-5.pdf
http://www.mtc.gov/uploadedFiles/Multistate_Tax_Commission/About_MTC/Policy_S_and_R/2000/00-5.pdf
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…WHEREAS, all merchants have an obligation to inform their customers 

of the true, total cost of their purchases and any after-sale conditions 

attached to the ownership or use of the product being purchased; and 

WHEREAS, the failure of certain sellers to inform their customers in an 

adequate manner of the true cost of their purchases has justifiably led to 

government regulatory actions mandating disclosure, for example, of the 

true, effective rate of interest on consumer installment loans and of real 

estate settlement costs; and 

WHEREAS, the legal obligation to pay use taxes is an additional element 

of the cost of making remote purchases and direct marketers are, of 

course, well aware of this; and….now, therefore, be it 

RESOLVED, that the Multistate Tax Commission urge all direct 

marketers to include in all of their sales solicitations, written and oral, a 

disclosure that their customers may owe use taxes on their purchases and 

should contact their tax agencies for information on how they may fulfill 

this obligation… 

   

 The Hearing Officer believes these two approaches complement each other by 

addressing seller collection on the one hand; and buyer education and compliance on the 

other. Therefore, the Hearing Officer disagrees with AICPA’s contention that the 

proposed model “undermines the work of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Project.”  

Rather, the Hearing Officer agrees with the Washington State DOR, and finds that, 

because reasonable approaches for achieving state collection authority over remote sellers 

continue to be appropriate, our continued support for these approaches should be 

emphasized to ensure momentum in that direction is not jeopardized.  To accomplish this, 

the Hearing Officer recommends that any resolution adopting all, or any part, of this 

proposed model should explicitly confirm the Commission’s continued support for the 

Streamlined effort and seller collection approaches generally, consistent with Resolution 

00-05.   

 

B. Legal Issues - Constitutionality 

 

As mentioned above, the Commission proposal is based on a sales & use tax 

notice and reporting statute recently enacted in Colorado.  Soon after Colorado enacted 

its statute, the Direct Marketing Association filed suit in the U.S. District Court for the 

District of Colorado arguing that the new law violates several state and federal 

constitutional provisions, including the dormant commerce clause, right to privacy, and 

right to free speech.
5
  In January, 2011, the District Court granted DMA’s motion to 

preliminarily enjoin Colorado from administering its statute while the lawsuit is pending.  

The Court granted DMA’s motion because it found DMA is likely to succeed on its 

dormant commerce clause argument.
6
   

                                                      
5
  Direct Marketing Association v. Roxy Huber, in her capacity as Executive Director, Colorado 

Department of Revenue, United States District Court for the District of Colorado, Civil Action No. 10-cv-

01546-REB-CBS. 

 
6
 The parties have now filed cross motions for summary judgment on that issue; and the Court has agreed to 

certify its decision on those cross motions for appeal. The other constitutional arguments will be stayed, 
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In light of this early-stage loss, AICPA comments that “a proposed model statute 

based on a law that is currently being challenged on constitutional grounds, and which is 

likely to be struck down in that challenge, simply should not be used as a template for 

other states’ use.” (AICPA, point 5, p.4)  The Hearing Officer suggests a broader view is 

called for.  First, the Hearing Officer disagrees that either the Colorado statute or 

Commission proposal violates the Constitution.  Second, there would be costs, as well as 

benefits, associated with waiting for this issue to be conclusively resolved. The hearing 

officer believes that when the magnitude and likelihood of both costs and benefits are 

considered, the analysis weighs in favor of proceeding with the proposal. 

 

1. Does the Commission Proposal Discriminate or Impose an 

Undue Burden in Violation of the Constitution? 

 
 Neither AICPA nor Washington State DOR argue that the proposal violates the 

United States Constitution in any way.  However, the AICPA suggests that the proposal 

would saddle out-of-state sellers with an unnecessary burden so significant that it would 

exceed the benefit to the state and cause these sellers to submit to State collection and 

remittance requirements, like in-state sellers, instead.  (AICPA points 2, 3, 4; pp. 1-3).   

 

If this proposal truly burdened interstate commerce relative to in-state commerce 

– as AICPA suggests – the proposal could arguably be discriminatory in violation of the 

dormant commerce clause.   (AICPA, point 3, p. 4) Indeed, the Federal District Court in 

Colorado preliminarily found that although the Act does not explicitly target out-of-state 

sellers, it is likely to ultimately be determined discriminatory because “in practical effect, 

[it] impose[s] a burden on interstate commerce that is not imposed on in-state 

commerce.”
7
  But this comparison is incomplete.

8
  It only takes into consideration the 

requirements imposed on interstate sellers.  To compare the treatment of interstate sellers 

with in-state sellers, one must consider the requirements imposed on in-state sellers as 

well.
9
  And in making this comparison, it is not enough to show that the requirements are 

                                                                                                                                                              
pending the ultimate resolution of the dormant commerce clause issue.  The decision granting preliminary 

injunction is available at: 

 http://www.thedma.org/segment/segmentfiles/catalogers/20110126OrderGrantingPI.pdf.  

 
7
 Direct Marketing Association v. Roxy Huber, in her capacity as Executive Director, Colorado 

Department of Revenue, USDC Dist. of Co., Civil Action No. 10-cv-01546-REB-CBS, Order Granting 

Motion for Preliminary Injunction  (January 26, 2011) 

 
8
 It should also be mentioned that the proposal does not literally distinguish between in-state and interstate 

commerce.  It distinguishes between sellers that are required to collect and remit the tax and those that are 

not required to collect and remit the tax.  Under current U.S. Supreme Court precedent, this distinction is 

in-state and interstate sellers with a physical presence vs. interstate sellers without a physical presence.  

Interstate sellers that have no physical presence in a state would be subject to the requirements of the 

proposal.   

 
9
 See, West Lynn Creamery, Inc. v. Healy, 512 U.S. 186 (1994) (other related laws should be taken into 

account in determining whether an Act discriminates in violation of the dormant commerce clause.) 

 

http://www.thedma.org/segment/segmentfiles/catalogers/20110126OrderGrantingPI.pdf
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simply different – rather, the dormant commerce clause is violated only if the difference 

creates an advantage for in-state commerce at the expense of interstate commerce.
10

   

 

When a proper comparison is made, it appears unlikely that the proposal would 

burden interstate remote sellers to such an extent they would be placed at a disadvantage 

relative to in-state sellers.  At the time of each transaction, an in-state seller is must know 

the state and local tax rates and communicate these rates to the buyer; calculate the 

amount of tax due on the transaction and communicate that amount to the buyer; evaluate 

tax exemption certificates supplied by the buyer; and, if no exemption applies, collect the 

tax due. Then, at regular intervals throughout the year, the in-state seller must complete 

and file a tax return with the department and remit the tax collected during that interval to 

the department.  The in-state seller may also be required to process buyers’ refund 

requests.  In order to perform these obligations, the in-state seller must seek and obtain a 

license from the State.  The in-state seller has on-going responsibility to create and 

maintain records, and may be subject to audit.  In contrast, the proposal simply requires 

remote sellers to notify buyers that a state tax may be due, to submit a report to the 

department once a year, and to submit a report to each in-state buyer once a year (See 

Commission Proposal, Exhibit A, §§(c)(1)-(3)).  Thus, the Hearing Officer believes that 

the reasonable requirements imposed on remote sellers under the proposal are not more 

burdensome than the reasonable requirements currently imposed on in-state sellers under 

state sales and use tax laws.      

 
Even if a state law is found to be discriminatory, it may still be upheld as 

constitutional if it serves a legitimate state purpose and there is no reasonable, 

nondiscriminatory alternative.
11

  AICPA suggests interstate remote sellers need not be 

subject to the requirements of the Commission proposal because “there are other ways to 

address the problem of low use tax compliance rates,” including: remittance lines on 

individual and business entity income tax returns; clearer tax form instructions; targeted 

amnesty programs; a safe harbor allowing taxpayer’s to report a percentage of gross 

income instead of the actual amount due; and educating citizens through mass mailings, 

radio, and television advertisements. (AICPA, point 2, pp.3-4)  These are good 

suggestions that could be adopted in addition to the proposal – indeed some are already in 

place in some states – but none is truly a substitute for the requirements of the proposal.  

Income tax return lines and clear tax forms enable taxpayers to remit the use tax once 

they know it is due, but these are remittance processes.  They do not focus on helping 

taxpayers understand that the tax is due, as the notice requirements of the proposal would. 

Nor do they help taxpayers calculate the amount of the tax due, as the year-end report to 

consumers would.  And they do not assist the department in carrying out its charge to 

enforce the tax, as the year-end report to the department would.  Amnesty programs and 

safe harbor payment options are helpful on an occasional basis, but they are not aimed at 

promoting proper long-term enforcement or administration of the tax, as the reports to 

customers and the department are.  Likewise, mass mail, radio, and television 

                                                      
10

 See, Reeves, Inc. v. Stake, 447 U.S. 429, 437 (1980) (prohibiting a differential treatment that 

discriminates against interstate commerce). 

 
11

 Or. Waste Systems, Inc. v. Dep’t of Environmental Quality of the State of Or., et al., 511 U.S. 93 (1994). 
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advertisements may help educate taxpayers, and there is no reason these cannot be 

provided by the state in addition to the notices required to be provided by the seller under 

the proposal.  But mass advertising is a blunt instrument.  It may or may not reach in-

state taxpayers purchasing from sellers that are not collecting and remitting the tax.  In 

contrast, the notice required by the proposed model would reach exactly those 

individuals.  The Hearing Officer agrees that there are additional efforts that could be 

undertaken, but does not agree that these alternatives serve the same administrative and 

enforcement purposes of the proposed model statute. 
 

A law that does not discriminate against interstate sellers may none-the-less 

violate the dormant commerce clause if it creates – as AICPA believes the proposal does 

– burdens on commerce that are excessive in relation to state benefits.
12

   AICPA 

suggests the notice and department reporting required under the proposal may have little 

benefit because buyers may ignore the notice at the time of transaction, and the 

department may not have the resources necessary to make use of the data reported. 

(AICPA, point 4, pp. 4-5)  Certainly some buyers may ignore the notice.  But many 

simply do not understand they are obligated to pay the tax to the department if it is not 

collected by the seller. The notice required under the proposed model, if implemented as 

intended, is critical to eliminating the impression that tax is not due.  Reporting to the 

state is also critical, so that buyers can realize that the state has the ability to enforce the 

tax.  (If the reports are filed electronically, they should be adequately accessible for 

enforcement purposes.)  In this environment of poor understanding and low compliance, 

the notice and reporting required under the proposal will produce significant benefits 

because they are essential to states’ strong interest in effectively administering and 

enforcing their sales and use taxes.   

 

In sum, the Hearing Officer believes that the proposal’s notice and reporting 

requirements are an administratively efficient means of administering and enforcing sales 

and use tax without discriminating against, or imposing an undue burden upon, interstate 

commerce.  As such, the proposed model helps to eliminate the perception and practical 

reality that in-state sales are subject to tax while interstate remote sales are not.  Thus, the 

proposal effectively promotes the fundamental objective of the commerce clause, which 

is to preserve level competition in national markets.
13

  

 

2. Should the Commission Proposal be Stayed Pending 

Conclusion of Litigation? 

 

As noted above, the AICPA recommends against adopting a model based on a law 

which is currently being challenged.  Similarly, the Washington State DOR notes that it is 

unclear what the ultimate outcome will be if the concept is further litigated and suggests 

considering “whether it makes sense to adopt a model approach now before the idea has 

had time to be more fully developed through experimentation in the laboratory of the 
                                                      
12

 Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137 (1970). 

 
13

 See H.P. Hood & Sons, Inc. v. Du Mond, 336 U.S. 525 (1949).  See also, General Motors v. Roger W. 

Tracy, Tax Commissioner of Ohio, 519 U.S. 278 (1997) (the dormant commerce clause’s fundamental 

objective is preserving national markets for competition undisturbed by preferential advantages conferred 

by a State upon its residents or resident competitors) 
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many states.”  (WA DOR, 4
th

 bullet point).   The benefit of waiting to propose a model 

until its legal issues are conclusively resolved is, of course, certainty.  But it could be a 

long time before such certainty is achieved in this matter.  The Colorado litigation is in its 

early stage, with only one federal district court determination and only on preliminary 

injunction.  And as the concept is tested in other state or federal Courts, those Courts may 

view the issues differently than the Colorado court. 

 

Meanwhile, state commentators have recommended states consider adopting this 

or similar approaches, beginning as early as 2000 when the Commission issued its 

Resolution in Support of States Achieving Disclosure to Consumers of Their Potential 

Liability for Use Taxes (Res. No. 00-05).  More recently, a published article by experts at 

the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance reviews the constitutional 

issues and recommends, consistent with the proposed model, that states require sellers to 

make reports to the department and provide notice to buyers:   

 

 [S]tates should seek to assert due process nexus when the facts do not 

support commerce clause nexus. For example, a state could not, under 

current law, impose sales tax collection duties on a pure e-tailer … despite 

millions of dollars of sales by the e-tailer to in-state customers. The state 

could, however, successfully assert due process nexus under Quill and on 

that basis require the e-tailer to submit information returns providing data 

on sales by the e-tailer delivered to customers in the state.  The e-tailer 

would not be required to make any determination as to the tax status of a 

transaction or the correct amount of tax. It would not be asked to invoice, 

collect, or pay over the tax, which was the burden cited in National Bellas 

Hess and Quill. Rather, it would simply be required to transmit data from 

its own records in a form that would allow the state to pursue use tax from 

its own residents. A state could also assert due process nexus to require e-

tailers to disclose to customers making purchases for delivery into the 

state, at the time of the transaction, some or all of the following 

information: 

 that their purchases, if taxable when purchased at a store in the state, 

are also taxable when purchased from a remote vendor even when the 

vendor doesn’t collect the tax; 

 how to pay the tax directly to the state; 

 that the state may require the remote vendor to provide it with 

transaction information regarding purchases delivered into the state; 

and 

 that taxpayers failing to timely pay the required tax are subject to interest and 

penalties. 
 

A New Way Forward for Remote Vendor Sales Tax Collection; Robert Plattner, Daniel 

Smirlock, and Mary Ellen Ladouceur; Tax Analysts Special Report; January 18, 2010; p. 

187, 194.  
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Colorado and two other states have now enacted laws along these lines, and 

legislation has been introduced in others.
14

  Having a model available now – one that has 

benefited from the input of tax experts in multiple states through the Commission 

uniformity process – would assist states in adopting legally sound legislation in the first 

place.  A model available now would also assist states in adopting more uniform 

legislation, which is important to minimizing the potential for administrative burden on 

interstate remote sellers.  Several states have enacted New York style associate nexus 

legislation, despite the fact that litigation on that concept is not final in even one state, 

and the Commission’s uniformity committee is only now beginning to consider a similar 

model.  The longer the Commission waits to adopt a notice and reporting model, the less 

need there will be for one as states unilaterally consider and enact their own versions of 

the legislation. The Hearing Officer believes that this proposed notice and reporting 

model is sufficiently well grounded in constitutional principle, and will be of sufficient 

benefit to the states, to justify Commission adoption at this time. 

 

 C. Administrative Issues –Seller and Buyer Perspectives 

 

Because the proposal imposes notice and reporting responsibilities, it creates 

administrative obligations, and both AICPA and Washington State DOR address some of 

these in their comments. AICPA raises administrative concerns for sellers.  Most of these 

are discussed above in the context of states’ constitutional limitations in imposing 

burdens on interstate commerce.  In addition, AICPA lists the multiple activities sellers 

will be required to perform under the proposed model and points out that “this 

compliance burden will substantially increase as the number of states adopting the model 

statute grows.” (AICPA, point 4, pp. 4-5)  The Hearing Officer suggests that this point 

may weigh in favor of adopting a model in order to promote uniformity and minimize the 

potential burden of multiple different state notice and reporting requirements.   

 

The Washington State DOR points out that the model does not offer solutions for 

administrative issues that will be faced by the ultimate taxpayer, the buyer.  (WA DOR, 

bullet point 2).  By way of example, Washington State notes that some, but not all, states 

provide a remittance line on the state’s income tax return.  To the extent the proposal 

could successfully result in more use tax compliance by consumers, it could exacerbate 

administrative shortcomings that currently exist in the states.  It is true that this model 

does not address those sorts of issues.  The Hearing Officer suggests states that adopt this 

model will want to make sure their consumer use tax remittance processes are adequate to 

handle increased compliance.  The Washington State DOR also points out that not all 

sales and use tax sourcing issues have been resolved in all states (for example, digital 

goods sourcing) and suggests this could lead to confusion on where notices must be sent 

with the possible result that  sellers may send notice to multiple states.  (WA DOR, bullet 

points 2 and 3)  In recognition that sourcing rules will continue to be developed by states 

acting upon their own or through co-operative efforts, the model does not require the 

seller to know where the transaction is sourced under any particular state law.  The model 

only requires the seller to send notice to the “purchaser,” and “purchaser” is defined as 

“any person who purchases or leases a product for delivery to a location in this state.” 

 

                                                      
14

 See footnote 2. 
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V. Conclusion 

 

 The Hearing Officer recommends the proposal be adopted, without further 

amendment, and that the resolution evidencing this adoption explicitly confirm the 

Commission’s continued support for efforts to achieve collection and remittance by 

sellers as opposed to buyers. 

 

Respectfully Submitted,  

 

 

 

 

_____________________ 

Shirley K. Sicilian 

Hearing Officer 



 
 

 

 

  

 

 

May 18, 2011 

 

Mr. Joe Huddleston      Ms. Shirley Sicilian  

Executive Director      General Counsel 

Multistate Tax Commission     Multistate Tax Commission 

444 N. Capitol St. NW, Suite 425    444 N. Capitol St. NW, Suite 425 

Washington, DC 20001     Washington, DC 20001   

 

Re:  MTC Draft Model Sales & Use Tax Notice and Reporting Statute (Dated April 18, 

2011) 

 

Dear Mr. Huddleston and Ms. Sicilian: 

 

In May 2010, Ms. Sicilian asked the AICPA’s State & Local Taxation Technical Resource Panel 

(SALT TRP) for input on the MTC Model Sales & Use Tax Notice and Reporting Statute (Model 

Statute), which at that time was still in the Policy Checklist phase.  Our comments below, 

prepared by our SALT TRP and approved by our Tax Executive Committee, relate to the 

published MTC draft dated April 18, 2011.  We appreciate the offer to provide our specific input. 

 

The proposed uniform statute incorporates concepts contained in legislation recently adopted by 

the state of Colorado.
1
  The Colorado Department of Revenue has been enjoined and restrained by 

the U.S. District Court of Colorado from enforcing that legislation and the accompanying 

regulations based on, among other reasons, likelihood that the alleged constitutional challenges of 

discrimination and undue burden brought in a complaint filed by the Direct Marketing 

Association will be upheld.   

 

The MTC Model Statute is designed to impose uniform sales and use tax notice and reporting 

requirements on out-of state retailers towards both consumers and Departments of Revenue.  For 

the reasons specified in the following pages, the AICPA believes that the MTC draft should not 

be adopted.    

 

The AICPA is the national professional organization of certified public accountants comprised of 

nearly 370,000 members.  Our members advise clients on federal, state and international tax 

matters, and prepare income and other tax returns for millions of Americans.  Our members 

provide services to individuals, not-for-profit organizations, small and medium-sized business, as 

well as America’s largest businesses.  

 

If you have any questions, please contact me at (401) 831-0200 or patt@pgco.com; Harlan J. 

Kwiatek, Chair of the State and Local Taxation Technical Resource Panel at (314) 290-3271 or 

                                                           
1
 CO H.B. 10-1193; §39-21-112(3.5) 

Exhibit A 

http://www.mtc.gov/uploadedFiles/Multistate_Tax_Commission/Uniformity/Sales_Use_Tax/Notice%20of%20Public%20Hearing%20UTR(2).pdf
mailto:patt@pgco.com
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Harlan.kwiatek@rubinbrown.com; or Marc A. Hyman, AICPA Technical Manager at (202) 434-

9231 or mhyman@aicpa.org.  

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Patricia A. Thompson, CPA 

Chair, Tax Executive Committee  

 

cc:  Greg Matson, MTC Deputy Director 

Elliott Dubin, MTC Director of Policy Research 
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AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS 

 

Comments to the Multistate Tax Commission 

Draft Model Sales & Use Tax Notice and Reporting Statute (Dated April 18, 2011) 

 

May 18, 2011  

 

The AICPA believes that the MTC draft Model Sales & Use Tax Notice and Reporting Statute 

(Model Statute) should not be adopted for the following reasons: 

 

1. The MTC Model Statute undermines the work of the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax 

Project.  

 

For over ten years, the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Project has made efforts to 

modernize state sales and use tax laws and create uniformity among the numerous sales 

tax jurisdictions in this country.  With input from state taxing agencies, businesses and 

lawmakers, a model sales tax act—the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement—has 

been drafted and over twenty states have conformed their laws to the definitions and 

provisions contained in the Agreement.  One impetus behind the effort to simplify state 

sales and use tax laws is the potential that Congress will adopt legislation partially 

overturning Quill’s physical presence requirement, thus requiring non-collecting retailers 

making sales into “Streamlined” states to collect and remit sales tax.  Should this occur, it 

is expected that sales tax revenue loss associated with e-commerce will be reduced.  

 

Although federal legislation has not yet been enacted, those involved in the Streamlined 

effort have attempted to confront the issue of revenue loss associated with e-commerce by 

making state sales tax regimes simpler and more uniform. These efforts do not involve 

coercion or side-stepping constitutional barriers.  The years of collaboration and the give 

and take involved in the Streamlined effort would be significantly undermined if states 

could essentially force businesses in other states to collect simply to avoid burdensome 

notice and reporting requirements.   

 

The MTC, as an organization that promotes uniformity among states, including many 

states that are actively involved in the Streamlined process, should not adopt a model 

statute that ignores the uniformity and collaborative achievements made within the 

Streamlined project. 

 

2. Out-of-state businesses that are not required to collect and remit sales tax should not 

be required to police individual use tax noncompliance.  

 

The Model Statute essentially puts the burden of policing purchaser use tax compliance on 

out-of-state businesses. While we recognize, as noted earlier, that states are dealing with 

serious budget issues, there are other ways to address the problem of low use tax 

compliance rates.  One way is through better educating citizens of their use tax obligations 

such as through mass mailings, radio and television advertisements, clearer tax form 

instructions and targeted amnesty programs.  Another option that has been adopted by 



 

several states is to insert a line item on individual and business entity income tax returns 

where taxpayers are required to report use tax owed on remote purchases.  Yet another 

option is for a state to provide an optional safe harbor allowing the taxpayer to report an 

amount equal to a percentage of the taxpayer’s adjusted gross income in that state instead 

of the actual amount of their use tax. 

 

While use tax noncompliance is a serious concern, out-of-state retailers should not be 

burdened with enforcement of the use tax laws in states in which they do not have a 

physical presence. 

 

3. The Model Statute would likely compel businesses that are not required to do so 

under Quill to collect sales and use tax; forcing this result through the imposition of a 

burdensome reporting regime is bad tax policy.   

 

One of the major criticisms of Colorado’s information reporting requirements is that the 

state essentially coerces out-of-state businesses into collecting Colorado sales and use tax 

as a way for such businesses to opt out of complying with the state’s information reporting 

requirements and the potential penalties associated with noncompliance or error.  The 

Model Statute, as written, would have the same effect. 

 

We recognize that revenue loss associated with use tax noncompliance is a serious 

concern for the states, particularly in light of widespread deficits that many states are still 

experiencing.  However, as a matter of tax policy, states should not be able to require out-

of-state businesses to report vast amounts of information to in-state consumers and state 

taxing authorities.  These requirements, particularly the reporting requirements, clearly 

obligate these out-of-state businesses to perform tasks and expend effort that is more 

appropriately undertaken by the relevant state tax authorities themselves thus blurring the 

line between the responsibilities appropriate to businesses that collect and remit sales and 

use taxes to a particular state, and business that do not have such responsibilities.  

 

Businesses should have some level of certainty as to whether they have to fulfill sales and 

use tax compliance obligations.  If they do not have actual physical presence in a state, 

they should not be subjected to a process, such as the one advocated by the Model Statute, 

of collecting and remitting information to both in-state customers and the Department of 

Revenue that is equally or more burdensome than had they been subject, under Quill
2
, to 

sales and use tax collection requirements for that state.  Clearly, this violates the “undue 

burden” analysis of Quill and related cases. 

 

4. The costs of compliance with the Model Statute are likely to far outweigh the benefits 

received by the states receiving the reported information.   

 

Businesses will incur new or increased costs of compliance under the model statue, while 

governments may not have the resources to utilize or take advantage of additional 

information provided by expanded reporting.  The benefits of this additional information 

most likely will not justify the additional costs to businesses. 
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Costs  

 

For out-of-state and other retailers who do not collect and remit sales taxes to a state, the 

costs of complying with a law based on the Model Statute will be significant.  Businesses 

will have to dedicate human and material capital to: 

 

o reprint their paper invoices, purchase orders and sales/lease receipts to display 

statutorily required boilerplate language that may likely be ignored by most 

purchasers; 

o reprogram their website pages that replicate invoices, purchase orders and sales 

receipts to display the same information; 

o produce an annual report to each of its in-state purchasers, under threat of penalty for 

omissions, detailing the type of product purchased or leased, how to remit the tax to 

the state authority and other information; 

o keep track of each state’s required method for use tax remittance by taxpayers so that 

the business is able to properly inform the taxpayers in the annual report; 

o complete and submit an accurate, annual report to the applicable state tax authority, 

under threat of substantial penalties, listing all of the business’ in-state purchasers, 

multiple addresses for each purchaser, dollar amounts and other information.  

 

This compliance burden will substantially increase as the number of states adopting the 

Model Statute grows.   

 

Benefits 

 

It is not clear how receipt of information on thousands of internet purchases will translate 

into revenue for the states.  Given the lack of resources most state taxing agencies are 

facing in light of recent state budget cuts, it is unlikely that states are equipped to handle 

collecting, compiling and analyzing the voluminous amount of information that will be 

required to be reported.  Thus, the information—reported at great cost to non-collecting 

retailers—will not readily enable a state to collect unpaid use taxes.  

 

Again, it would certainly appear to be the hope of states that enacting such a notice and 

reporting statute would compel out-of-state and other non-collecting retailers to start 

collecting the sales tax as a means to avoid compliance with the information reporting 

statute.  This would seem to be the only way a significant amount of revenue could be 

generated with minimal administrative cost to the states.   

 

The information reporting and notice rules impose significant financial burdens on non-

collecting retailers and promise little discernable benefit for states outside of compelling 

collection and remittance of the sales tax. 

 

 

 

 



 

5. The principles addressed in the draft Model Statute, if adopted by the states, will 

continue to be challenged on constitutional grounds.  
 

The Direct Marketing Association (DMA), in its lawsuit alleging that Colorado’s 

reporting requirements violate the U. S. and Colorado Constitutions, have already been 

successful in obtaining an injunction in the Federal District Court of Colorado.  The 

lawsuit alleges that the enactment: 

 

 discriminates against out-of-state retailers lacking physical presence in the state 

relative to in-state retailers;  

 imposes an improper and burdensome regulation of interstate commerce; 

 tramples the right to privacy of Colorado residents and certain nonresidents; 

 chills the exercise of free speech by certain purchasers and vendors of products that 

have expressive content; 

 exposes confidential information regarding consumers and their purchases to the risk 

of data security breaches; and 

 deprives retailers, without due process or fair compensation, of both the value of their 

proprietary customer lists and the substantial investment made to protect such lists 

from disclosure. 

 

On January 26, 2011, the court issued a preliminary injunction that blocks the Colorado 

Department of Revenue’s enforcement of the notice and reporting requirements on out-of-

state retailers while the DMA case is pending.  The court ruled that DMA has shown a 

substantial likelihood of success on its constitutional claims. 

 

A proposed model statute based on a law that is currently being challenged on 

constitutional grounds, and which is likely to be struck down in that challenge, simply 

should not be used as a template for other states’ use. 

 



Loretta King 

From: 
Sent: 
To: 
Cc: 
Subject: 

Dear Ms. King: 

Jennrich, Timothy (DOR) <TimJe@DOR.WA.GOV > 
Thursday, May 12, 2011 5:20 PM 
Loretta King 
Gil Brewer; Chris Coffman; Potegal, Greg; Russ Brubaker 
Proposed Model Sales and Use Tax Notice and Reporting Statute 

The State of Washington thanks the Multistate Tax Commission (MTC) fori~ efforts in this area and for giving 
us the opportunity to provide comments related to the "Proposed Model Sales and Use Tax Notice and 
Reporting Statute." Washington state relies heavily on sales and use taxe~ to fund state services and we are 
acutely aware of the problems posed by the issue of remote seller collection authority, which this model 
proposal is designed, in part, to address. With this background in mind we;h:ave the following comments : 

• Incomplete solution: The proposed model act does much to help notify consumers of their tax 
obligations and may result in some increased tax collections from voluntarfcompliance and targeted 
enforcement. However, the solution is incomplete and does not address t~e substantial costs and barriers 
that will continue to exist with respect to collecting sales and use taxes from consumers directly. Therefore, 
we think it is important that the states recognize the limited util ity of this approach and strongly support or 
continue to support a comprehensive solution that would give states remo~e seller collection authority over 
sellers through federal action, including federal legislation . · 

• Taxpayer convenience and compliance: A purpose of the MTCTax Compact is to promote 
uniformity in significant components of tax systems and to facilitate taxpay~r convenience and compliance in 

administration . This proposal focuses on the sellers of goods, but does no_f:offer solutions for the ultimate 
taxpayer relating to administration. Admittedly, some states provide a method for use tax compliance that 
may compliment the proposed model act, but for taxpayers in states like Washington that does not have an 
income tax return for use tax reporting the options are less clear. If this pr?posal moves forward, this issue 
should be addressed. · ·.· 

· ' 

• Sourcing of sales and digital products: A purpose of the MTC T~x Compact is to promote 
compatibility in significant components of tax systems. This proposal reqJ{res notice for sales or leases 
subject to tax in a state. However, the proposal does not adopt or recomffi.end any consistent method of 
sourcing. Therefore, it is possible that two states adopting this proposed model act may subject a single 
transaction to the seller notice requirements and related penalties. This is especially likely in the area of 

digital products . This situation creates great potential that sellers will have to send notices to multiple states 
for the same taxpayer or face penalties. It is unclear how this result would. promote compatibility in significant 

components of tax systems. If this proposal moves forward, this issue should be addressed. 

• Issue development: This approach has been the subject of recent litigation and it is unclear what 

the ultimate outcome will be if further litigated. However, the MTC membership should consider whether it 

makes sense to adopt a model approach now before the idea has had time to be more fully developed 
through experimentation in the laboratory of the many states. 

Thank you again for allowing Washington this opportunity to these provide comments . 

..... 



Very truly yours, 

/sf 

Tim Jennrich 

WA Department of Revenue 

...• ·. , . . . . . ... 

' . 
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Exhibit C 

 
Working Together Since 1967 to Preserve Federalism and Tax Fairness 

 

Draft Model Sales & Use Tax Notice and Reporting Act  

As Approved by Executive Committee for Public Hearing –  April 11, 2011 

 

(a) Administration.  The [State Department of Revenue] shall perform all functions 

necessary and proper for the administration and enforcement of this Act, including 

promulgating regulations and reviewing protests in accordance with the [State 

Administrative Procedures Act].   

 

(b) Definitions.  For purposes of this Act: 

 

(1) “Department” means the [State Department of Revenue].  

(2) “Director” means the Director of the [State Department of Revenue]. 

(3)  “Purchaser” means any person who purchases or leases a product for delivery to 

a location in this state. 

 

(c) Notice and Reports, Required.  A person who sells or leases a product; the storage, use, 

or consumption of which is subject to [State Use Tax Act], or the sale or lease of which is 

subject to [State Sales Tax Act]; but who does not collect and remit either such tax, shall 

provide the following notice and reports.  

 

(1) Notice to Purchaser at Time of Transaction.  A notice shall be provided to each 

purchaser at the time of each such sale or lease.   

 

(A) The notice shall indicate that neither sales nor use tax is being collected or 

remitted upon the transaction, and that the purchaser may be required to 

remit such tax directly to the Department.   

 

(B) The notice shall be prominently displayed on all invoices and order forms, 

including, where applicable, electronic and catalogue invoices and order 

forms, and upon each sale or lease receipt provided to the purchaser.  No 

indication shall be made that sales or use tax is not imposed upon the 

transaction, unless: (i) such indication is followed immediately with the 

notice required by this section (c)(1); or (ii) the transaction with respect to 

which the indication is given is exempt from [State] sales and use tax 

pursuant to [State] law. 

 

 (2) Annual Report to Purchaser.  A report shall be provided to each purchaser 

before January 31
st
 of each year. 

 

(A) The report shall include:  
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(i) a statement indicating that the person did not collect sales or use 

tax on the purchaser’s transactions and that the purchaser may be 

required to remit such tax directly to the Department; 

(ii) a list, by date, generally indicating the type of product purchased 

or leased during the prior calendar year by the purchaser from such 

person for delivery to a location in this state and the price of each 

product; 

(iii) instruction for obtaining additional information regarding whether 

and how to remit the sales or use tax to the Department; 

(iv) a statement that such person is required to submit a report to the 

Department pursuant to section (c)(3) of this Act stating the total 

dollar amount of the purchaser’s purchases; and 

(v) any information as the Director shall reasonably require. 

 

(B) The report shall be sent to the purchaser’s billing address, or if unknown, 

the purchaser’s shipping address, in an envelope marked prominently with 

words indicating important tax information is enclosed.  If no billing or 

shipping address is known, the report shall be sent electronically to the 

purchaser’s last-known e-mail address with a subject heading indicating 

important tax information is enclosed. 

 

(3) Annual Report to [State Department of Revenue].  A report shall be provided 

before January 31
st
 of each year to the Department.    

 

(A)  The report shall include, with respect to each purchaser: 

(i) the name of the purchaser;  

(ii) the billing address and, if different, the last known mailing address; 

(iii) the shipping address for each product sold or leased to such 

purchaser for delivery to a location in this state; and 

(iv) the total dollar amount of all such purchases by such purchaser 

which were made during the prior calendar year for delivery to 

each such address. 

 

(B) The report shall be filed electronically in the form and manner required by 

the Director.    

 

(d) Exceptions. 

 

(1) Small Seller.   A person who made less than $A [original SST threshold for small 

seller was $100,000]  in total gross sales during the prior calendar year shall not 

be required to provide notice or file reports pursuant to section (c) of this Act. 

 

(2) De minimis In-State Sales.  A person who made less than $B [CO: $100,000]  in 

total gross sales for delivery to a location in this state during the prior calendar 

year shall not be required to provide notice or file reports pursuant to section (c) 

of this Act. 

 

[(3) Sales by Registered Vendors.  A person who is registered to collect and remit 

sales and use tax, and who complies in good faith with the [State Sales and Use 
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Tax Acts], shall not be required to provide notice or file reports pursuant to 

section (c) of this Act. 

 

(e) Penalties.  

 

(1) Amount. The Director shall assess a penalty upon any person who fails to provide 

notices and reports as required by this Act as follows: 

 

(A) Penalty for Failure to Provide Notice to Purchaser at Time of 

Transaction. A person who fails to provide notice as required by section 

(c)(1) shall be assessed a penalty, in addition to any other applicable 

penalties, in the amount of $X for each such failure, not to exceed: 

(i)  a total of $Y in one calendar year, if such person remedied each 

failure by providing such notices within X days of the date such 

notice was required to be provided, and  

(ii) a total of $Z in one calendar year where section (e)(1)(A)(i) of this 

Act does not apply  

 

(B) Penalty for Failure to Provide Annual Report to Purchaser. A person 

who fails to provide a report as required by section (c)(2) shall be assessed 

a penalty, in addition to any other applicable penalty, of $X for  each such 

failure, not to exceed:  

(i) a total of $Y in one calendar year if such person remedied each 

failure by providing such notices within X days of the date such 

report was required to be provided, and 

(ii)  a total of $Z in one calendar year where section (e)(1)(B)(i) of this 

Act does not apply. 

 

(C) Penalty for Failure to Provide Annual Report to Department.  A 

person who fails to provide a report as required by section (c)(3) shall be 

assessed a penalty, in addition to any other applicable penalty, equal to $X 

times the number of such purchasers that should have been included on 

such report, not to exceed: 

(i)  a total of $Y in one calendar year if such person remedied the 

failure by providing the report within X days of the date such 

report was required to be provided, and 

(ii) a total of $Z in one calendar year where section (e)(1)(C)(i) of this 

Act does not apply. 

 

(2) Estimates Authorized.  When assessing a penalty pursuant to section (e) of this 

Act, the Director may use any reasonable sampling or estimation technique where 

necessary or appropriate to determine the number of failures in any calendar year.  

 

(3) Protest.  A person may protest the assessment of any such penalty or interest by 

filing a written objection with the Director within [number of days equal to the 

number of days allowed for protest of a use tax assessment or refund denial] days 

of the date of assessment.  Disposition of a timely filed protest shall be in 

accordance with [State Administrative Procedures Act].  If no such protest is filed 

within the time allowed, the assessment shall become final and subject to 

[judgment, warrant, collection procedures].    
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(4)  Interest.  Interest shall accrue on the amount of the total penalty that has been 

assessed and become final for each calendar year pursuant to section (e) of this 

Act at the rate established pursuant to [state code section setting interest rate for 

tax underpayment].  

 

(5) Waiver.  Upon written request received within the time established for protest 

pursuant to section (e)(4) above, the Director, in his or her sole discretion, may 

waive any portion or all of the penalty or interest applicable under this section for 

good cause shown. 

 

(f) Confidentiality of Purchaser Information.  Information received by the [State 

Department of Revenue] pursuant to this Act shall be exempt from any disclosure 

required pursuant to [State Open Records Act].  Such information shall be treated as 

confidential taxpayer information pursuant to [cite to open records exception for 

confidential taxpayer information, including exceptions statutes] and all exceptions, 

penalties, punishments, and remedies applicable to disclosure of confidential taxpayer 

information pursuant to [cite to statutes regarding confidential taxpayer information 

disclosure exceptions and penalties] shall apply to disclosure of information received by 

the Department pursuant to this Act. 

 

(g)   Limitations. Nothing in this Act shall relieve a person who is subject to [the state’s sales 

tax act or the use tax act] from any responsibilities imposed thereunder. Nor shall 

anything in this Act prevent the Director from administering and enforcing [the state’s 

sales tax act or the use tax act] with respect any person who is subject thereto. 

 

(h) Severance.  The provisions of this Act are severable and if any section, sentence, clause 

or phrase of this Act shall for any reason be held to be invalid or unconstitutional, such 

holding shall not affect the validity of the remaining sections, sentences, clauses, and 

phrases of this Act, which shall remain in effect.  
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