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Economic nexus statutes 2020

Threshold >$100,000 sales/yr.

Tennessee SB 2932 reduced economic nexus 
threshold from $500,000 sales/prior 12 mos. (eff. 
10/1/2019) to >$100,000 sales/prior 12 mos. (eff. 
10/1/2020)

Streamlined 
Sales Tax

Although no additional states have joined 
the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax 
Agreement since Wayfair, Connecticut, 
Illinois, New Mexico and Pennsylvania have 
recently authorized use of Certified Service 
Providers. Pennsylvania has implemented.

The SST Governing Board has amended the 
SSUTA to adopt policies to encourage non-
SST states to use its centralized registration 
and simplified electronic return system.

Website: www.streamlinedsalestax.org
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Local Sales Tax Simplification
Alabama Simplified Sellers Use Tax—flat 8% combined rate for remote 
sellers

Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission adopted its Uniform Code, 
centrally administering “home rule” local taxes of joining municipalities

Texas Comptroller—remote seller can elect to collect single local use 
tax rate (1.75% in 2020)

Colorado 2020 HB 1023 (awaiting Governor’s signature): creates 
geographic information data system to enable remote sellers to 
determine the proper local jurisdiction to which sales tax is owed; 
provides hold-harmless protection for sellers using the database in 
filing returns.

Louisiana eff. 7/1/20, remote sellers meeting economic nexus threshold 
required to collect applicable state and local sales/use tax (instead of 
flat 8.45% rate previously allowed) and file return with Louisiana Sales 
and Use Tax Commission for Remote Sellers

Proposed legislation

Alaska
Hawaii
District of Columbia

Marketplace collection requirement

Marketplace Collection Requirements… So far

Collect-or-report

No Sales Tax

Sales >$10,000/yr

As of July 10, 2020
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Marketplace Facilitator Collection Laws 
Enacted in 2020

•Georgia HB 276 eff. 4/1/2020

•Tennessee SB 2182 eff. 10/1/2020

• Louisiana SB 138 eff. 7/1/2020

•Mississippi HB 379 eff. 7/1/2020

Laws enacted in 2020 extending marketplace 
facilitator collection to other taxes

Georgia HB 105 requires marketplace facilitator to collect excise tax on 
for-hire and shared ground transportation trips 

North Carolina HB 1080 requires food delivery services to collect local 
meals taxes

Utah SB 114 exempts food delivery services from the marketplace 
facilitator collection and remittance requirements, effective 7/1/2020

Vermont H 954 requires marketplace facilitator to collect universal 
service charge on wireless telecommunications and prepaid wireless 
card sales

Virginia SB 735 requires car-sharing platforms to collect excise tax on 
peer-to-peer car sharing transactions

West Virginia SB 163 extends marketplace facilitator collection 
requirement to include local occupancy taxes
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MTC “White Paper”on Marketplace Facilitator 
Laws

Updated version dated July 6, 2020 to include 
most recent marketplace facilitator tax collection 
legislation enacted by Louisiana and Mississippi, 
replacing prior version dated April 10, 2020.

NCSL Model Marketplace Facilitator 
Collection Legislation

•Approved by NCSL Executive Committee in January 
2020

•Provisions included as appendix to MTC White 
Paper

• Influential on marketplace facilitator collection 
legislation enacted in 2020 (GA TN LA MS)
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