The Commission

The Multistate Tax Commission is an intergovernmental state tax agency working on behalf of states and taxpayers to facilitate the equitable and efficient administration of state tax laws that apply to multistate and multinational enterprises. Created by the Multistate Tax Compact, the Commission is charged by this law with:

  • Facilitating the proper determination of State and local tax liability of multistate taxpayers, including the equitable apportionment of tax bases and settlement of apportionment disputes;
  • Promoting uniformity or compatibility in significant components of tax systems;
  • Facilitating taxpayer convenience and compliance in the filing of tax returns and in other phases of tax administration;
  • Avoiding duplicative taxation.

The commission was created in 1967 as an effort by states to protect their tax authority in the face of previous proposals to transfer the writing of key features of state tax laws from the state legislature.  For that reason, the Commission has been a voice for preserving the authority of states to determine their own tax policy within the limits of the U.S. Constitution.

The Commission's headquarters office is located at 444 N. Capitol Street NW, Suite 425, Washington, DC 20001.  The Commission also maintain an audit office in Chicago, Illionis.  The Commission's Executive Director is Gregory S. Matson.