Skip to Content
About MTC
Nexus Program
Audit Program

Wade Anderson Memorial Medal

The annual award honors Wade Anderson, who spent 30 years in a variety of positions with the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts and also served several more years as a tax attorney in the private sector. He was a founding member of the Border States Caucus of tax agencies in states along the U.S.-Mexico border and served as member of the boards of the Federation of Tax Administrators and the Multistate Tax Commission. In 1992 he was the winner of the FTA Award for Outstanding Service and Leadership. The Wade Anderson Memorial Medal was established after his death in 2003 to commemorate his tireless and creative efforts to promote interstate cooperation among tax agencies and between tax administrators and taxpayers. The award is given annually to an individual who best exemplifies his commitment to interstate cooperation to promote fairness, simplicity and consistency in state tax administration.

Medal winners are chosen by representatives of the FTA Board of Trustees and the MTC Executive Committee, and selected from nominations submitted by state tax agency employees. The award presentation alternates between the MTC annual meeting (even years) and the FTA annual meeting (odd years).

Wade Anderson Memorial Award Recipients

Pictured below from left to right: Bruce Johnson, Dan Bucks, Elizabeth Harchenko, and Ben Miller

Wade Anderson Recipients

Award Recipients

2004: Elizabeth Harchenko
         Oregon Dept. of Revenue

2005: Ben Miller
         California Franchise Tax Board

2006: Bruce Johnson
         Utah Tax Commission

2007: Dan Bucks
         Montana Dept. of Revenue